We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facilities and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magenta
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities and friendly staff”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Magenta Shores is about 10 minutes away by car from the Entrance so it feels a bit isolated for some, but it was perfect for us.
The resort is huge and plenty for the whole family to do so we did not see the need to venture out from the resort that often.
Upon arrival, the reception staff were professional (although not very friendly and forthcoming with hotel information without the prompting) . Although our room was not ready yet, they did call to let me know when it was. The reception complex looks modern and fits in with a 5 star hotel rating. The 2 dining options are also located in the complex.

Tuggerah Beach is also accessible via the resort - but not suitable for swimming. It is good for a walk though and the kids can play in the sand in a not too blustery day.

I booked a 3 bedroom villa and was glad that they have decorated the place with some paintings (in response to trip advisor reviews perhaps?) so it was not as sterile as others have experienced.
The villa looked clean on arrival but the balcony and patio areas looked like they needed a sweep or clean. Our villa was set in a beautiful garden setting and allowed the kids to run around outside and use their scooters along the well maintained foot paths.
Kitchen was well equipped and there was a laundry. Each 3 bedroom villa had 2 bathrooms and 3 toilets . So in terms of facilities, the villas were definitely extremely well equipped and ensured a convenient and comfortable stay.

I did not have a good night's sleep mainly because the quilts. The quilts in the main room were not in quilt covers and being allergic to dust mites, I was sneezing constantly until I took the antihistamines.

The resort has 3 pools - we had a fantastic time at the heated lagoon pool and the kids loved the little rock pools at the other end of the resort. The weather was quite warm when we stayed and the pools were definitely the kids' favourite. They also have a playground there for the kids and BBQ areas throughout the resort. A heated indoor pool is also available a the reception complex.

We ordered room service and it was good quality food. Same menu as the cafe restaurant and at reasonable prices. Serving size was also quite decent although the pizzas were quite small for $20 each.
We did not try the main dining restaurant (Barretts) but it seemed pretty quiet the both days we were day. Buffet breakfast is also served there at $30 per head and $15 per child.
If you would like to dine out, The Entrance has some good options for restaurants as well as Toukley. (12 mins away)

There is daily servicing and the cleaning staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We also had a chat to the friendly grounds staff and the kids enjoyed talking to the man scooping golf balls from the pond. Staff also smile and say hi as they walk past which made the stay that extra special.

Overall, the experience at Magenta Shores has been very enjoyable. Apart from the lack of a good night's sleep and oversight in some areas of cleaning, the facilities at the resort are first class and well maintained. (The resort also has a day spa and tennis courts)
The staff were also a stand out during our stay and we would love to come back with extended family.

Room Tip: Go for the garden villas if you want a bit of privacy. If you want to be near the kids rock pool, go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    218
    85
    45
    23
See reviews for
212
203
11
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mordor
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We found the management of this place to be outstanding. They were more than happy to resolve a few issues we had in a convivial and supportive manner. Nick was particularly helpful and understanding, qualities which are unusual in places of this size.
This is an ideal place to get away with a young family. The kids club is excellent, but don't get caught like we did, it is only open Fri to Sun.
We booked a 3 bedroom villa which proved to be a spacious and well featured option. The living area is downstairs which means the kids can go to bed whilst adults can make noise downstairs. The master is very spacious and all rooms are sizeable. Beds are comfy and there is daily housekeeping. the kitchen features good appliances and certainly could be used for preparing a dinner party if thats your thing. We were disappointed to find there is no BBQ for the apartment. It was quite hot during our stay, so the ducted air was useful.
The tv provides in house movies, but is not tuned into ABC for kids which would have been a bonus. The overall entertainment package does not meet the standard of the rest of the apartment. I recommend you splurge on the buffet breakfast - it's awesome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend - booked a surprise anniversary getaway for my boyfriend which included fantastic perks such as buffet breakfast and vouchers which could be redeemed at the spa and Barretts restaurant.
Reception staff were really friendly, the buffet breakfast was delicious and our one hour massages were heaven. The hotel itself, rooms and grounds are beautifully designed and impeccably maintained. It's a nice little walk to the beach as well. Really enjoyed my stay here and it is definitely the perfect weekend getaway if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The hotel's isolated location makes you feel far away from it all.

My only complaint from the stay was the inefficient breakfast service when ordering an omelette. They took our order but didnt take our names or table number down. Then delivered both of our omelettes to the wrong tables.

All in all a great stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cofffs Harbour
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Spent 2 nights here last week with family in 3 seperate rooms. The rooms were big, clean with great amenities. Bathrooms were huge and fresh. No mini bar but this was not missed as these rooms are more set up for longer term breaks and some self catering. Bed was soft and Tv a nice size flat screen. The grounds are beautiful nestled between the ocean and a nice looking golf course. Great facilities include indoor pool, Steam room( brilliant), tennis court etc. we spent a bit of time in the bar and restaurant and really enjoyed the ambience of the fireplace relaxing lounges and very good cocktails and beers on tap. Arriving tired and hungry after a horrendous trip and traffic jam on the M1 with too pretty energetic toddlers the restaurant team could not have been more accommodating. Kids food came quick and ours was great. Same at breakfast. Very understanding and kids friendly. On the second night after a funeral we got take away from a local good Thai restaurant and ate in the really spacious 3 bedroom suite and watched some footy. Perfect mix for our family group...eat and drink in restaurant and bar as well as eat in a great room. We had a Lovely stay. We all agreed to meet more often at Quay West ( it's about equidistant from Coffs and Canberra) and have regular long weekends here.

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom suites are big enough for 2 couple or a couple with kids...if staying for a while you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisWSapphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Informed a male Manager that the steam room was smelly and dirty. I was so shocked that he told me "there are mould and moisture inside causing the bad smell". He continued to explained the hotel's management problem and his staff's difficulty, instead of solving the problem and helping the guest. He further told me that he could not guarantee when the steam room would be cleaned. A typical unprofessional hospitality mentality! Wanting the customers to understand their problem sand exploiting guests' benefits. I was very surprised that the management do not know how to maintain the cleanliness of a steam room. The irresponsibility and inadequate of the manager ruined my staying experience in the resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Loanne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Booked a one bedroom spa apartment, ground floor, overlooking the golf course with a garage. Lovely clean modern room tastefully decorated with modern art and furniture- comfy lounge,large dining setting, large TV, ipod dock, firm comfortable bed and modern outdoor setting with a lovely view. Modern clean kitchen but no plunger- no problem my travel one goes everywhere with me. Bathroom is superb with spa bath and large shower recess. Peaceful grounds. Outside pool, private from poolside rooms and large. Indoor pool and steam room, good size and can be accessed from rear of building so you don't have to walk though the foyer. Two tennis courts-we were able to book one for a morning hit. Bar, friendly staff and busy with other guests, nice atmosphere for a drink and you can get a meal here if you don't won't to go to the restaurant. The reception staff were friendly, helpful and professional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Room 802 1 night
Stayed 1night at magenta shores and played golf at their magnificent course.
Reception staff extremely friendly and informative. Given a map to direct us to our room.
Each villa has a single numbered parking spot. 802 is on the upper floor and overlooks a pond and part of the first hole where drives land.
Walking up the stairs the first thing I noticed is how 'sterile' the place is. Painted white and with grey carpets, no paintings on the walls or anything that makes it feel welcoming. The same applies to the room, balcony and bathroom grey/white no paintings bland as anything.
But the room is a good size plenty of room to move around, you don't feel claustrophobic. It has tea/coffee facilities, a fridge(empty), cutlery and crockery for two and a toaster. If staying for a night I'd bring some toast or the like because i'm guessing it will be expensive to eat in the restaurant for breakfast. We had 2 coffees and bacon/egg on a hamburger bun was $22.50. Free wifi club house.
Bathroom is spacious with a huge walk in shower the length of the wall. Plenty of the complimentary soaps as well as a sewing kit, shoe sponge, shower cap and moisturiser. They also have a hairdryer and worst of all a body scale.
The king bed is hard but comfy. No wifi but there is dial up Internet so don't forget the Ethernet cord. TV has some basic fox stations with plenty of sports stations and local tv. There are a couple of very uncomfortable wicker chairs and a single chair at a desk. The wardrobe is huge which has a fire extinguisher, umbrella, robes, extra blanket and pillow, towels for the pool, clothes airier, iron and board.
On the small balcony there are two plastic chairs and a small wooden table in desperate need of a lacquer.
Overall a comfortable stay. Cannot comment on any of the resort facilities such as the restaurant, pool or spa but the golf course is absolutely magnificent.
Undulating fairways and plenty of trouble so bring plenty of balls. You have to be straight to play this course. The pro shop says most people take carts and it was included with our package but we decided to walk. The walk is reasonably comfortable but long, slight inclines and an electric cart would be ideal. They say you can play and expect you to play it in 4.5 hours, course Marshalls see to this.
We were lucky a day without wind. The course runs along the ocean so the wind can be horrendous. I can guarantee you will love it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussietraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magenta
10.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
1,036 reviews
10.2 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
3.5 mi away
Ibis Styles The Entrance
Ibis Styles The Entrance
#1 of 9 in The Entrance
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Kims Beachside Retreat
Kims Beachside Retreat
#1 of 1 in Toowoon Bay
311 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mercure Kooindah Waters Central Coast
2.5 mi away
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Magenta Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Magenta Shores Resort

Property: Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
Address: 1 Magenta Dr, Magenta, New South Wales 2261, Australia (Formerly Quay West Resort Magenta Shores)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Magenta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magenta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Magenta Shores Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Magenta Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Resort Magenta Shores Hotel Magenta
Quay West Hotel Magenta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing