We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing vacation”
Review of Samana Chakra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Samana Chakra
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Mancora
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I recently stayed here on an 8 day vacation with my son. The rooms were beautiful, and comfortable. The beach access was nice, close to Mancora for food and fun. The chef was AMAZING, we chose to eat in most days due to the fantastic food and choices presented. Staff were courteous. The yoga studio was a great bonus to a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morcha_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 103 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Samana Chakra is a great choice for those looking for a relaxing, beautiful environment. The hotel faces a quiet stretch of beach and features a pool and ample space for lounging, while also facing the beach. The daily yoga classes were excellent and reason enough to stay at Samana Chakra. The hotel is conveniently located for walking (on the beach) during the day to downtown Mancora. The staff are all very considerate, cheerful and accommodating. Breakfast is fresh and delicious. The meals from the hotel kitchen are a bit expensive but delicious and carefully crafted daily. The cabanas are spacious and cool during the day, with a pleasant open air bathroom attached.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Samana Chakra is a place where you feel like king relaxing on one of Peru's best beaches. Close enough to all the attractions, but far away from the noise. It is a peaceful environent where you can feel like your with family. Very trustworthy, and friendly. It is also a place for couples to feel romantic, or a place for the whole family all in one. We recomend this place very highly for tourist and peruvians. We we are in Mancora, we will always stay at Semana Chakra. thank you to all the staff there! The Tippies!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank craig229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I spend last year a terrible weekend in this [--]. The kitchen is excellent but service and cleaning terrible. At night we had wooddust of termites fallinf through the mosquito-net and with a baby not very healthy. The second day my laptop stolen out of the room by somebody of the staff and the lady in charge Defending her staff. I went to the police and it was the only explanarion they has for the robbery but no action was talen what so ever. Up until now almost 1 year later i hacen't received a solution for my laptop nor sorry. I lived for 3 years in peru and this was one of my worst experiences. I hope the lady who attended us got fired and the owner took things back in hand

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christoph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just beautiful! Beach was empty almost every moment! Far enough away from the town to be quiet. This is a place for solitude and relaxation. No noise or TV's or phones...just a haven. Yoga classes everyday, gourmet food, limited menu each day though. Beautiful gardens, right on the beach, spa like rooms, gorgeous "outdoor" bathroom! One day there was only warm water in the shower. Friendly staff always asking how you are. Pool is beautiful. Resort is gated and walled for privacy. Very clean. They only change the towels every three days to reduce water consumption but make up rooms each day.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are nice but wind off the ocean is COLD each afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

No hot water - cold shower was dreadful! Inadequate lighting, no desk, no chair, no television. Room too small to unpack suitcase. No place for items from suitcase. Bathroom too dark to shave in morning. Isolated with very limited amenities. Internet did not work in room. Marijuana odor in restaurant was disgusting.
Reserved for 3 nights without deposit. Paid in advance upon arrival for 3 nights. Checked out after 1 night to avoid another cold shower. Clerk refused to refund charges for 2 unused nights. Price for room is way too expensive for quality and services.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gregory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Samana Chakra for 5 days, the final days of our honey moon in Peru.
The location is perfect, on the beach, and the rooms are big and quite clean and there are yoga classes eberyday dor free.
Apart from this, the hotel is missing of any comfort: in the rooms there is no fridge, no TV, no wifi and the toilet is outside; when we asked for an hairdryer they told us they didn't have any so I couldn't dry my hair for the full days.
The water was not always hot and twice I had to have a cold shower, they always forgot to refill the paper toilet and the net for misquitos fell down on us while we were sleeping!
Breakfast consisted only of a bit of bread with jam (no milk, yogurt or fruit). And when I asked for scrumbled eggs they wanted me to pay an extra.
Definetely not worth the price!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ireb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mancora hotels
3.4 mi away
Arennas Mancora
Arennas Mancora
#3 of 33 in Mancora
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suites del Mar
Suites del Mar
#2 of 33 in Mancora
360 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mancora Beach Bungalows
Mancora Beach Bungalows
#7 of 33 in Mancora
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Puerto Palos
Puerto Palos
#14 of 33 in Mancora
180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rio Hotels - Mancora
Rio Hotels - Mancora
#29 of 33 in Mancora
29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Del Wawa
Hotel Del Wawa
#15 of 33 in Mancora
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samana Chakra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samana Chakra

Address: Lagunas de Mancora Lote 5 y 6, Mancora, Peru
Location: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Mancora
Hotel Class:3 star — Samana Chakra 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Samana Chakra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samana Chakra Hotel Mancora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing