We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Samana Chakra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Samana Chakra
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Mancora
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just beautiful! Beach was empty almost every moment! Far enough away from the town to be quiet. This is a place for solitude and relaxation. No noise or TV's or phones...just a haven. Yoga classes everyday, gourmet food, limited menu each day though. Beautiful gardens, right on the beach, spa like rooms, gorgeous "outdoor" bathroom! One day there was only warm water in the shower. Friendly staff always asking how you are. Pool is beautiful. Resort is gated and walled for privacy. Very clean. They only change the towels every three days to reduce water consumption but make up rooms each day.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are nice but wind off the ocean is COLD each afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 103 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

No hot water - cold shower was dreadful! Inadequate lighting, no desk, no chair, no television. Room too small to unpack suitcase. No place for items from suitcase. Bathroom too dark to shave in morning. Isolated with very limited amenities. Internet did not work in room. Marijuana odor in restaurant was disgusting.
Reserved for 3 nights without deposit. Paid in advance upon arrival for 3 nights. Checked out after 1 night to avoid another cold shower. Clerk refused to refund charges for 2 unused nights. Price for room is way too expensive for quality and services.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gregory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Samana Chakra for 5 days, the final days of our honey moon in Peru.
The location is perfect, on the beach, and the rooms are big and quite clean and there are yoga classes eberyday dor free.
Apart from this, the hotel is missing of any comfort: in the rooms there is no fridge, no TV, no wifi and the toilet is outside; when we asked for an hairdryer they told us they didn't have any so I couldn't dry my hair for the full days.
The water was not always hot and twice I had to have a cold shower, they always forgot to refill the paper toilet and the net for misquitos fell down on us while we were sleeping!
Breakfast consisted only of a bit of bread with jam (no milk, yogurt or fruit). And when I asked for scrumbled eggs they wanted me to pay an extra.
Definetely not worth the price!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ireb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My husband and I just recently stayed at the Samana Chakra resort and we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay there!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carmen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I have stayed here 4 times since 2007. There are many things to love about Samana Chakra. First the location is perfect, right on the beach with stunning views of the ocean & a killer sunset every single night! Even if you don't have an oceanfront room, the rooms still face West overlooking a beautiful garden with flowers, birds, cactus, etc. Kiting & SUP is right out your back door, surfing a 7 min. walk down the beach - or you can even paddle to the point. If you need lessons they will arrange someone to come to you! The beauty of Samana too is that it's a close walk into town if you desire the action of markets, bars, and other restaurants (although the food is so good here you won't want to leave), but you are still far enough away from the town that you feel very peaceful & serene in your stay. It's also very safe w/ 24 hr. security. The rooms are very large & clean, with awesome ensuite outdoor bathrooms & showers! The Yoga studio is the most beautiful I have ever practiced in. Even though the ocean is your back yard, there's a lovely pool for when you just want to chill. You can literally do as much or as little as you would like, which makes it perfect for groups or couples that have mixed action sports enthusiasts (one person wants to read by the pool, while 1 wants to surf). Massage is great and they have a room w/ professional massage table on premise. You just tell them when you want it & the therapists comes. Gary & Johanna a extremely friendly, cool & their kids are adorable!

Room Tip: How can you resist an ocean front room with a front patio?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CUranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Samana Chakra is so much more than a hotel, it is a healing experience. Everyone who works here is intelligent and responsive to your every need. They can help you find anything from an ecological adventure to a mototaxi into town. The daily yoga and pilates further enhance opportunities to heal your body and soul. The actual setting is right on the beach and each bungalow has a porch facing the beautiful ocean. You wake up and go to sleep to the sound of the surf. The bird watching is the best I've ever seen without ever leaving the hotel grounds. While there for only 5 days I spotted a couple of Vermilion Flycatchers. Long tailed Mockingbirds, a Tumbes hummingbird, Tumbes Swallows every morning in the courtyard, huge flocks of Frigatebirds, Gulls, Pelicans and two kinds of Vultures. The food was absolutely amazing !!! It was organic, freshly made to order and delicious. After spending more than 25 years in the San Francisco Bay area, I have become something of a foodies and therefore am a bit picky. When I say the food was amazing I mean the food was fabulous ! My adult daughter and I were both very pleased with our experience and would go back every year !

Room Tip: The bungalows were very private and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djoveges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We traveled down to Mancora with REAL Watersports for a week. The resort is right on the beach. It is about a 1/2 mile from downtown. You can kiteboard right in front of the resort or go surfing at the point break 1/2 mile down the beach.

Our hosts Gary and Johanna were very gracious. Since we traveled in a big group our meals were included. The food was very good overall. We were offered yoga each morning and they had massages available by appointment.

Our rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stewart040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mancora hotels
3.4 mi away
Arennas Mancora
Arennas Mancora
#3 of 33 in Mancora
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suites del Mar
Suites del Mar
#2 of 33 in Mancora
360 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mancora Beach Bungalows
Mancora Beach Bungalows
#7 of 33 in Mancora
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Puerto Palos
Puerto Palos
#14 of 33 in Mancora
180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rio Hotels - Mancora
Rio Hotels - Mancora
#29 of 33 in Mancora
29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Del Wawa
Hotel Del Wawa
#15 of 33 in Mancora
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samana Chakra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samana Chakra

Address: Lagunas de Mancora Lote 5 y 6, Mancora, Peru
Location: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Mancora
Hotel Class:3 star — Samana Chakra 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Samana Chakra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samana Chakra Hotel Mancora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing