We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible Service, owner is evil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa de Playa
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Mancora
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible Service, owner is evil”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

This place reminds me of beauty and the beast. Mancora is heaven, the beaches are fresh and the hotel is not bad either but the owner is a beast!

A group of us, 2 Germans, 2 Americans and 2 Peruvians, had requested rooms to suit us but she instead she had to charge us more for the rooms. Completely took advantage to the fact that we were tourists. She was not welcoming at all, and her receptionist was a huge hipocrat that had a relaly bad attitude. Very ignorant i must say.

We had no option to stay there, other hotels were booked, but it put a sour note since we had to see them everyday, urgh.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MELmel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    60
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
57
59
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

Tatiana Del Carpio (Owner) and her staff were super friendly and professional with all my friends and family. Before going to Peru I was a bit stresses, but the day of the wedding, everything just happened the way it was expected to be. The food was great, and all my guess were very, very please.

If you are looking for a place to relax, enjoy the outdoors and good food, Casa de Playa is the right place!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clauditam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

I stayed here with some friends in September 2009 after we had completed the Inca Trail the week before. It was a great place to unwind and relax. Marco Antonio was a great waiter and took care of us from day one! It was a little far from the main town, but a nice 20-30 minute walk along the beach, so not that big of a deal. The restaurant prepared great food as well, so going into town wasn't really a necessity. There is an Italian restaurant down the beach about 5 minutes, so another option as well. Overall, I would definitely go back. The beach by the hotel was very nice - and the pool was great to lay around as well. They also organize a ride from the airport which was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amshiveley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

Wow! If there is one word to describe Hotel Casa de Playa and our whole experience in Mancora, it would be PARADISE!! I just went to this beautiful hotel with 7 friends! I know - it sounds like a lot...but it was perfect! In addition to having plenty of other room options, they had two rooms (facing the pool AND the beach) that had one set of bunk beds (and they were big beds), one single bed, and one queen bed. It's also probably perfect for families, and it was GREAT for us! The rooms were HUGE...and they also awesome balconies with chairs, a table, and a hammock. The food at the hotel was INCREDIBLE and not overly priced. We had a LOT of tuna...and it was MUY MUY DELICIOSA! Drinks were great, too! Milton was our server the whole weekend, and he was so fantastic! The experience started with the wonderful owner, Tati. She couldn't be any nicer! And Neli, who helped me over the phone, was so nice and helpful. I can't say enough about this place...it is just a must-see, must-do, must-stay...TRUST ME! The beach is stunning, the sunsets are unforgettable, and the service at the hotel was incomparable. They even arranged transportation for us to and from the airport (which is VERY helpful). it's only 310 soles (which, split between 8 people...b/c it was a nice van big enough for all of us...was only about $12). Ahhh, I could go on and on...but I'll just say it again...go experience this heaven on earth (and bring lots of sunscreen)!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefiharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Casa de Playa after travelling around Peru and Bolivia for 2 weeks. It was the perfect end to an already perfect vacation. The property and the beach are absoluetly breathtaking and the people who work there are extremely gracious.

When we arrived at Casa de Playa, we were pretty tired from our hectic travel schedule. We arrived into the airport at Tumbes about a hour and a half away from the hotel. We arranged, through the hotel, to have a driver pick us up. This is highly recommended as the hotel is pretty far away and you really want a driver that can navigate the nightime roads and security checkpoints. Our driver, Elvis, was the nicest man and he cheerifully provided us with a lot of background information on the area and people as we made our way to the hotel. Overall, the cost of thr trip from the airport to the hotel will you run you about 50 dollars.

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we were treated wonderfully. A man was waiting for us when we arrived and quickly whisked us and our bags to our room. Our room was simple and clean with high ceilings and a balcony facing the ocean and pool. On the balcony was a wonderful little hammock. You could hear the ocean waves crashing from your room and the sound lulled us to sleep every night. The rooms do not have air conditioning but do come with ceiling fans. Although it appears to get more humid during the nightime, niether of us minded not having the air conditioning and felt we could sleep comfortably in the room. The bathrooms had hot showers and the hotel provided clean bath towels and soap. Note that there are no hair dryers in the room. We also arranged to have a refrigerator brought into the room for an extra 25 soles a day. (approximately 8 US dollars).

We felt that the hotel property was incredibly safe. There is a 24 hour security guard who patrols the property at night. In addition, there is always someone watching over the beach during the days so we always felt comfortable leaving our personal belongings on our beach chairs when wanted to take a dip in the ocean or the pool.

We loved the restaurant at the hotel. The food and service are both excellent. We ate breakfast there every morning and we ate dinner there practically every night. We were always amazed at how quickly the food was prepared and how delicious it always was. We would also order from the restaurant when sitting on the beach. Again the service was excellent and the attentive waiters will bring your drinks and meals directly to you on the beach.

Overall, the energy and vibe of this pace is wonderful. The people who own the hotel seem to be very competent and treat their staff and guests with the utmost respect. We fell in love with the 2 resident dogs of the property who belong to the owner, (Cala and Pele) and literally felt as if we were part of a family while we stayed here.

There are many types of activities that you can do in the area. One day we went horseback riding. On another day we arranged to go snorkeling through the hotel. The woman at the reception helped to arrnage this trip for us. She was extremely pleasant and helpful whenever we had any sort of request.

One day, we also attempted to go sea kayaking. The woman at our hotel called a neighboring hotel, the Hotel Grandmare, because she had their business card. The Grandmare told her that they had 2 person sea kayaks. Unfortunately, when we got there, we found that this was not actually the case. Rather, the man who ran the business tried to squeeze my boyfriend and I into a small one person kayak and tell us that it was roomy enough for 2. When we tried to sail out, our kayak kept tipping because it was way too small. When we came back after only 15 minutes, the man still said he was going to charge us the full 20 soles, which is how much it cost to rent the kayak for an hour. We were pretty shocked at this but did not want to lower ourselves to squabbling with this jerk, so just paid the money (approximately 6 dollars) and left. I would reccomend that you not even bother with this Grandmare place given our experience. The guy running the sea kayak operation is not a very nice person and overall we both got a bad vibe from the hotel and the way they run their business. (Note that this hotel is on the same road/same side as Playa but a little bit closer to the town).

We absolutely loved Casa de Playa and would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation at one of Peru's most beautful beaches. I was so sad when our 5 days at this paradise came to an end!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgeorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2008

Fabulous place! I spent a week here in Dec of 2007 as a solo female traveler. My priorities were clean, relaxing, pool, drinks, modestly priced. Exactly what I wanted! Excellent hot breakfast to order each morning. Especially loved the extra good coffee and the beautiful view. Definitely not a place for nightlife...unless you bring your own! Restaurant served until approximately 9-10 each night, though not a lot of guests the second week of December. Listening to the surf was wonderful, but actually so loud that I had difficulty sleeping! (I am used to noise...I live off of a downtown city street!) My room was small, but adequate. Little hammock outside. Word to the wise: Staff spoke VERY little English. (I can communicate basic-moderate amount in Spanish...and definitely had to use every bit I could come up with!) It would be a challenging place to stay without knowing/having access to at least basic Spanish. Should note: no TV. Usually, wouldn't even think about it, but since traveled alone, it would have been nice to have. Also, no internet access. You can go into town to the internet cafes...however, the town generator and power seems to shut down regularly...3 different days for the entire mornings during my 6 night stay! (Hotel power was fine...they just don't have internet) Hence....a great place to stay to GET AWAY FROM IT ALL!

  • Liked — Intimate little resort
  • Disliked — no TV or Internet connections
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sfcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2008

Casa De Playa and Mancora was Pure Paradise!!!

We wanted to relax after trekking the Inca trail for 4 days and that is exactly what we got. The hotel was beautiful and very well kept. Our room was huge and well worth the 100us (estimate)we paid. It was a panarmic Ocean front room and the patio was amazing. We had drink on in the hammoks and chairs every night watching the sunset!!
It was very quiet while we were there which made it all the more relaxing!!
Great things included:
1. Nice beach with good loungers
2. food was really good at the hotel
3. VERY clean
4. Only a 5 min ride to town (many other resorts along the beach were much further and it can feel like forever on the very bumpy road)
5. MILTON- he was the guy who served us the entire time. Such a sweet man. he spoke no english and we spoke very little spanish he always knew what we wanted. He always had a smile on his face as he did everything from helping us with our bags to waiting on us at our meals!!
6. Going to the Spa, they reccommended the spa Orignese...it was pure bliss!!!

Only things would change:
1. No TV (i didn't mind but my husband likes it...I prefer to fall asleep to the waves)
2. No A/C although during our time there it cooled down at night so didn't need it
3. Hot water in our room took a long time to heat up and pressure was low.

But these are all minor things and the good stuff way overshadows the bad!! GO HERE IT's the BEST!!!

  • Liked — EVERYTHING!!
  • Disliked — Lack of water pressure
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NIre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mancora hotels
1.8 mi away
Suites del Mar
Suites del Mar
#2 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arennas Mancora
Arennas Mancora
#3 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eco Lodge
Eco Lodge
#6 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DCO Suites, Lounge & Spa
1.2 mi away
Mancora Beach Bungalows
Mancora Beach Bungalows
#7 of 32 in Mancora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Mare & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa de Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa de Playa

Property: Hotel Casa de Playa
Address: Antigua Carretera Panamericana Norte Km 1216 Mancora, Piura - Peru | Playa Pocitas o Mancora Chico, Mancora, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mancora
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mancora
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mancora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa de Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Playa Mancora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing