We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A sort of Peruvian Fawlty Towers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Giovanni / Balinese Suites y Gelateria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Don Giovanni / Balinese Suites y Gelateria
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Mancora
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A sort of Peruvian Fawlty Towers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

An idyllic setting right on the beach and close to all the bars and restaurants. Everyone was really friendly but the younger members of staff seemed to be overwhelmed when more than two tables sat down for breakfast. One morning it took an hour and a quarter to get a cup of coffee and two slices of toast. The room was bright and airy and the ceiling fan was sufficient even on a hot summer's night. Best bathroom I've come across in quite some time with good quality linen. Only complaints nowhere to put your clothes and a small fridge would be great for keeping water cool. As to the Fawlty Towers reference, the owner is effusive to the point of being overbearing, particularly if you are being interrogated about why you booked. I'm sure he grows on you and I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PashWagMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    56
    30
    15
    6
See reviews for
27
80
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Staying at Don Giovanni was a comfortable and relaxing experience. Felipe and Eva are very accommodating and make you feel as if you are staying with family rather than at an impersonal chain hotel. For instance, I got sick during my stay and Eva made sure I was able to get hot tea with lemon and honey. Felipe takes pride in his accommodations and it shows. Mancora can at times be a rowdy beach scene, but as soon as you walk up the stairs onto the patio of Don Giovanni, you get the feeling of security and comfort. The breakfast is great, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the atmosphere is friendly. If you are a surfer, you couldn't be any closer to the Mancora point break. When you stay, be sure to eat dinner at El Aji next door. It's the best food in town. I will definitely stay at Don Giovanni again if I travel back to Mancora for another surfing vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

we stayed here for a holiday within our holiday before the silly season. Fillipe and Eva were extremely accommodating. I have just been reading some of the other reviews with little complaints that were obviously not addressed with the owners/staff. A few mornings i needed an early breakfast or coffee and always got one when i asked, we had airers to dry our clothes and nothing was too much. It is one of the most relaxed places i have stayed without the pompousness that places think they need to have in a beach location, maybe its a little bright, maybe its a little noisy but you are at the beach and in a party town - enjoy or move on. The food and coffee were insane and again accommodations made for tastes and preferences. I would certainly stay here again. Read the reviews, take them with a grain of salt and be sensible in your choices, you are in Peru not downtown New York, think about it.

Room Tip: talk to Fellipe/Eva about what you want in a room, bring some insect repellent and enjoy the sound o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieb332000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our time at Don giovanni.
The hosts are probably the best attributes of the place; effusive, charming, helpful and genuinely welcoming. Their style may not be to everyone's taste but we liked it.
In terms of the accommodation itself don't expect too much; it may be better than other offerings in Mancora town (we had nothing to compare against) but is very basic in absolute terms; no closed storage, air conditioning, clothes rail, fridge or phone. There is nowhere to dry towels and beachware. The shower is fine.
We had a room with two double beds and the room size is too small for this configuration. It's fine if there's only one bed.
One noteworthy clarification, they are called suites but are not in fact suites but regular rooms with an ensuite bathroom.

Mancora is a party town so if you're looking for a quiet retreat this is not the place; music from nearby bars could wake the dead and the hotel building offers little in the way of sound reduction. Best ask Filippe beforehand if you're concerned. On the plus side if you're a party animal it's close to the action.

Breakfast was good and it's one of the only places in Mancora we could find that served a decent coffee in the mornings. Also a massage from Eva's mum is highly recommended though we understand she is only there part time.

The hotel has one unsung quality; the rooftop terrace which at the time was undeveloped and used for storing construction materials is a wonderful place from which to contemplate the sea, the surf and the stars over a glass of whiskey.

We have no trouble recommending this hotel but you need to know what to expect.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Oisin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The other reviews make it sound like this place is the lap of luxury - it's really not. The beach is fab, but there's room for improvement. The rooms are above average for the area, but well below average by Western standards. Indeed it was 30C outdoors, but hot showers are expected still. We carried our passports around with us because the safety depoit box in our room had never been used and no one was interested enough to help us figure out how it functioned. Our room had a million microscopic ants crawling about and they got into our suitcases and toiletry kits and some even made it home. Why aren't rooms equipped with closets or a chest of drawers. I awake everyday at 6am so I was dying of hunger and a caffeine headache by the time breakfast was available. I would have kept snacks in the room to tide me over had we not had the ant problem. Why aren't rooms equipped with small fridges? The breakfast was good (never tried the lunch). The gelato is a bit of a jab at 14 soles when you can get a proper dessert in town for the same price (la serena Juan has the best apple crumble this side of New York) or a churro on the beach for 1 soles.

The staff are nice enough, but come off as schmoozy when we would have preferred professional. The live-in esthetician didn't get our business on the first day so she was cold towards us for the rest of our stay and couldn't even muster up a smile when we crossed paths. Felipe was often shirtless and laying on a sofa in the lobby watcing TV, and his and Eva's son makes too much noise in the afternoon to take a nap. We mostly felt as though we were intruding in someone else's home. I don't know, given the early reviews we were expecting more from this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mycuppatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luisfelipericci, Owner at Don Giovanni / Balinese Suites y Gelateria, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi there
When we build Don Giovanni Balinese Suites & Gelateria we did not planned to be the number 1st or the number 5th in the hotel seen here.
We build a place in front of the ocean, confortable enough with good coffee, homemade gelato and gourmet food . Also with personality. A place everyone can enjoy, including us.

Don Giovanni was created for the surf and kitesurf community, because here from May, June, July, August, September October, November and December the winds and the conditions here are incredibly good and solid
Kiters from all over the world come to Mancora to enjoy a great time.
Those are the good reviews
There are so many mothers sipping white wine on the terrace with little babys while their husbands are ripping the waves.
This are families with little kids enjoying holidays here, walking around and making trouble sometime. And it is nice to be in a warm space like this.
I also make kids happy hour, means at 6 pm a table full of pizzas for the kids so the parents dont need to rush at early times to a nearby restauran for food.
Parents eat later, enjoying.
Don Giovanni is a family friendly hotel, as you notice.

But then come the sumertime, the end of the year, loud party time, with all he crowds and the hotel gets full.
Sorry if we dont provide you a better time on your stay with us.
Sorry too for not wearing a shirt when the weather is 31 celcius.
And sorry for not give you a little fridge,
I feel some people will start bringing lots of food and fruits to the room and could turn into a potential disaster.
No worries, a few AC here and there with some fridges will save the situation.
We will try harder
Regards
Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed only a night here but was very impressed with the friendliness of the staff, cleanliness of the rooms and the quality of the food. The breakfast was absolutely delicious with great views of the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sija7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

If I had read fjelgar's review before I booked I probably would not have booked at this hotel. Our room was clean so no problem with that but the "ocean view" room we were told would be available for us was not available after all. The first room we were shown was small and very dark and when we said we did not like it, the second room we were shown was the identical one, just one floor up! We were finally given a better room with large windows, but no ocean view. The top floor of the hotel (3rd floor) where there are a couple of rooms that would have a great view of the ocean, is still under construction.There is no air conditioning, which we don't mind but it did mean sleeping with the windows open, which lets in mosquitos who do find their way through the mosquito nets over the bed. Also, the very, very loud music from the nearby bars goes on until 2am or 3am in the morning. Curtains on the windows are very light and do nothing to keep out the noise or the early morning light.

On a plus side, we really enjoyed the breakfast. The restaurant cafe has a lovely little terrace where you can sit and watch the surfers and it really is the best spot for that in Mancora. The wifi worked really well too.

Overall this is a great location if you want to be "in town" and on the beach, just don't expect an ocean view room. For the price, they need to upgrade their attention to details.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrailingTalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luisfelipericci, Owner at Don Giovanni / Balinese Suites y Gelateria, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hi there
Mancora is a place for relax and also for party.
The New Year is loud for sure, everywhere you go specially in Mancora.
People travel, spend money and for sure want some fun.
The bars and pubs are open until 3 am here and the way to do it here is simple as we recomend :
After the beach, please take a nap, take a good shower, dress nice, go to the restaurant of your choice, and after a nice dinner, go and find a party, meet new friends, enjoy like everyone else does around here,
On the other hand party people love us, we are so well located, next to everything and close to town, safe and secure, that is what we offer, plus class and confort.
One more thing, now the ocean view rooms are ready.
Anyone please ?
Regards
Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mancora hotels
0.6 mi away
Suites del Mar
Suites del Mar
#2 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akumal Mancora
Akumal Mancora
#31 of 32 in Mancora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eco Lodge
Eco Lodge
#5 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Arennas Mancora
Arennas Mancora
#3 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Mare & Bungalows
2.5 mi away
DCO Suites, Lounge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Giovanni / Balinese Suites y Gelateria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Giovanni / Balinese Suites y Gelateria

Property: Don Giovanni / Balinese Suites y Gelateria
Address: Pasaje 8 de Noviembre S/N, Mancora 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Mancora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Giovanni / Balinese Suites y Gelateria 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Giovanni Balinese Suites & Gelateria have the good vibe, you can feel it.The staff is kindly and polite, helpful and happy, so from there you go.In the kitchen we make our own bread,and we love to cook.The Gelato the best, by far.And if you like good coffee then this is the place to be.Just come and try. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Don Giovanni / Balinese Suites y Gelateria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing