We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great morning spent diving”

Escuela de Buceo Spondylus
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Mancora
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Spondylus Scuba Diving School in Mancora. The First PADI Dive Centre in Peru. We provide experiences like Discovery Scuba Diving and courses: Scuba Diver, Open Water diver, Advanced OWD, Rescue Diver, DIVEMASTER and Specialities. If you are certified we can show you our amazing spots and you will see the wonderful and incredible Peruvian Sea. From August to October we can be delighted with the Chorus of Whales Songs beneath the Sea. We are 100% Ecological, we encourage everyone to protect and care about our environment, above and below the water.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great morning spent diving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Wasn't expecting to go diving in Peru so finding Spondylus was a treat. Did 2 boat dives from the oil rig in Los Organos and 1 in Vichayitos. Saw 2 sea lions on the oil rig and plenty of marine life. Current was pretty strong on the oil rig but a new experience. The Vichayitos dive we saw octopus and big nudibranchs and once again plenty of marine life. Visibility was about 5 m but it was a great experience for first time diving outside Australia. They were well organized and booking was pretty easy.

Helpful?
Thank Maggie243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    45
    7
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place, a bit expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is the only diving club in mancora and still they maintain high quality of service and club.

The instructors are really professional and the siving sights arr great. Especially the drilling platform.

Pricea are expensive compared to other places in the continent, and you get the same experience

Overall: you got the time and money, do it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmitBern88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great diving school”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Friendly and great staff, my instructor Juan was really pedagogical and good at explaining.
The equipment was good and I felt I was in good hands during the dives. I stayed in the really nice spondylous house they have in órganos which was the perfect place to relax, study and talk to other divers. Overall very good and price worthy, I did the open water course and is definitely going back for the advanced.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank martin604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Altamente recomendable pero ... (Highly recomended but...)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

(In english below)
-Ya era hora de que en el norte del Perú existiera una escuela de Buceo para enseñar a propios y extraños las maravillas que viven bajo nuestras las aguas. Practico el SCUBA desde hace más de 10 años y siempre he creído que el norte del Perú es el lugar ideal para hacerlo. Ahora más al detalle: La gente de la Escuela es genial, los instructores y el personal son muy buenos, brindan buenos consejos y realizan la actividad de manera segura.

Lo que no me gusto fue la falta de flexibilidad con respecto a las tarifas. Si bien es cierto que el buceo no es una actividad que se practique mucho en Perú si existe un mercado de gente que realiza viajes solo para bucear y por ende llevan consigo sus propios equipos. El hecho que te "obliguen" a pagar una tarifa única con o sin equipo le quita atractivo a la actividad especialmente para un grupo objetivo de Buceadores con experiencia. Espero poco a poco esto cambie, al fin y al cabo para que compraría equipo de buceo propio si al final voy a tener que pagar por el alquiler de un equipo que no usaré.

Además, sería bueno además que las dos inmersiones que incluye el paquete se realicen en lugares distintos. Las inmersiones que yo realicé las hicimos en el mismo lugar, lo cual no es malo porque te permite ver más al detalle algunas cosas, sin embargo si hubiera sido más interesante que la segunda inmersión sea en un lugar diferente.

Muy aparte de esas dos cosas la experiencia es altamente recomendable.

- It was time that a dive center opened in Northern Peru. I am a Marine Biologist and have been diving for more than 10 years and believe that this region of the country is perfect for the activity. Now cutting to the chase: The dive center is great, instructors and personnel are the best, giving good advices and making you feel safe.

What I didn’t like was the lack of flexibility of the fee. Even if you come with your own equipment you will have to pay the same as somebody who is renting everything, meaning you will be paying for something you won’t use. I understand that SCUBA is a not a very popular activity in the country, however there is a big market of dive tourists who just travel to do that and of course they do it with their own equipment. I hope they get more flexible here or specify in the webpage as a warning that the fee is one with or without equipment.

The second thing is that both dives were done in the same place. It would have been nicer that the second dive was done in a different location so people would see different things.

Besides these minor things I highly recommend the experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cesar_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I hardly recommend if you are a scuba diver, to visit Mancora and dive with this guys. Perfect organization, great equipment, and awesome friends!

Congratulations, hope to be back soon to go deeper on the platform!!

Helpful?
Thank Afes87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escuela de Buceo Spondylus also viewed

Mancora, Piura Region
Mancora, Piura Region
 

Been to Escuela de Buceo Spondylus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing