We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of El Escudero Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Escudero Lodge
Ranked #9 of 34 Mancora B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Avoid”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I booked to stay at El Escudero on the 30th and 31st of December for New Years and wish I hadn't. First of all, we arrived at around 5:30am as we had to get the only bus available from Cuenca which was the night before at 9pm which I understand is slightly too early to arrive however we were welcomed and given the keys to the room with the only remark from the proprietor being that the price shown on our confirmation (80 US Dollars) for two nights was the low season tariff, which he sort of mumbled under his breath. We slept for around 3 hours, went down to reception for breakfast but instead were greeted by the owners saying that they never received confirmation of our booking (which is not entirely their fault) however there was no mention of this a few hours earlier. We were then told the hotel was actually closed and that if we wanted to stay, they would be charging us $160 US Dollars and we would be charged an entire extra night as we arrived early (which was also not mentioned upon arrival). If this had been explained to us upon arrival then we would have happily waited until they were ready to receive us. So at this point we were to be charged double the amount originally confirmed and there would be absolutely no service as the hotel was "closed". We decided therefore to search for a new hotel, which is not easy during these dates but fortunately we were successful. When we returned to collect our bag, we informed the owners that we didn't have enough money to pay what they were asking and told them we would be leaving. They then suddenly said "well we'll just charge $120 then" meaning that they were obviously trying to take advantage of our situation despite knowing about our lack of money. We said we couldn't afford that either to which our reply was a moody face asking us for $40 for the 3 hours we were in the room. During this time, we saw another couple enter the hotel who were apparently staying there too which makes me wonder whether they had been told the same story and just decided to pay the ridiculous extra costs or whether they were simply trying to take advantage of us. Aside from this problem, the rooms were extremely hot and were full of mosquitos. The hotel is also situated on a horrible little side street which doesn't feel particularly safe, especially at night. To be honest, I thought that even the original price of 80 dollars was way overpriced for what the hotel offers and therefore 160 is simply laughable and quite cheeky really. For those who enjoyed their stay here, I'm glad that was the case but I for one will definitely not be recommending this hotel and find it incomprehensible that such a place has been awarded with the Trip Advisor recommendation sticker. I also advise everyone to call ahead even if you have a reservation.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else. There are plenty of hotels that charge much less for equal or often superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTUK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our stay in Mancora could not have been any better. The rooms in El Escudero Lodge are a good size, very clean, had wifi access, and a TV. Martin, our host, was incredibly helpful, friendly, and always had a smile on his face. He even arranged our onward bus tickets to Quito for us! The swimming pool looked brand new, and the area by it on the roof is a really nice quiet place to relax. The lodge is far enough from the road to be quiet, but is still an easy walk to the main part of town. If you're feeling really lazy it's only 2soles to town or the beach in a tuktuk taxi.

We would definitely stay in Mancora at El Escuedro Lodge again, and our only regret is that we didn't arrange to stay here longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbryce138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Located 2 blocks from the main road, in a local neighbourhood, the hotel is quiet and very clean. The rooms are a good size, plenty of hot water in the shower and air conditioning that works well...needed in the heat you find in Mancora! It's about a 10 to 15 minute walk into the main tourist area and beach along the main road, or there is a route through the nearby streets, which are not at all 'touristy', to the beach (about 5 minutes).

Charming, friendly hosts...I was welcomed with a quick tour of the lodge and a mango juice. Maragarita was also kind enough to escort me all the way across the border (with the help too of her nephew Simon) into Ecuador to get my connection to Guayaquil...very helpful considering how tricky the border is to cross near Tumbes, so ... muchas gracias a Margarita and Simon!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethMuswellHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The owner was the friendliest and nicest guy we met in South America when we did a tour from Lima to Ecuador (Quito). He helped us when we had a big problem and we learned that he is really passionate to host guests from all over the world.
However the rooms were not completely finished at the time when we have been there (fall 2011), we really liked the cosy atmosphere and the very comfortable rooms. The location is pretty good: it is close to the sea side and there are many restaurants nearby.

We can definitely recommend to stay there!! Have fun!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelJany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

If one of your concerns when you travel, is cleanliness, then you will have no worries here. The accommadation is kept extremely clean and tidy with the rooms maintained on a daily basis. The rooms are rustic,simple, beds are comfortable and the small bathroom has a basin,toilet and shower. Despite there being no hot water, you really do not miss it, as after a day at the beach and due to the hot climate, a cool shower is very welcoming.
Margarita and Martin took care of us like we were part of the family. Upon arrival, we were greeted with warm smiles, information about the area, a cold drink and chifles!
Breakfast is simple and included a selection of breads,cheese,jam and eggs if you liked but I have to say, my favorite, was Margarita´s coffee!
My only critism, was even though this is a quiet location,if there is a larger group staying, I found I could hear them from our room but then they were shouting to one another from their rooms and the corridoor carried the sound.
Margarita and Martin could not have been more helpful and what ever you need, they will be most ablidging. We were sad to leave!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Nice, clean a bit pricey. Very helpful though. We stayed only 1 night since we wanted to stay in bungalows on the beach - the owners helped us a lot to find a new place to live and advised on transportation options

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donciavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mancora hotels
0.4 mi away
Suites del Mar
Suites del Mar
#2 of 33 in Mancora
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rio Hotels - Mancora
Rio Hotels - Mancora
#28 of 33 in Mancora
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mancora Bay Hotel
Mancora Bay Hotel
#19 of 33 in Mancora
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Point Mancora Beach
The Point Mancora Beach
#10 of 65 in Mancora
161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Loki del Mar
Loki del Mar
#1 of 65 in Mancora
707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Punta Pacifico Bungalows
Punta Pacifico Bungalows
#44 of 65 in Mancora
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Escudero Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Escudero Lodge

Property: El Escudero Lodge
Address: Calle Buena Vista s/n, Mancora, Peru
Location: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mancora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Escudero Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your El Escudero Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing