We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palosanto Backpackers
Ranked #18 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Mancora
Lima
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My vacations were amazing, not only because of the beach that was pretty cool, but also because of kokopelli, it has it all, nice bedrooms, amazing common areas, pinpong, giant jenga, great music and lots of fun and the best people that work there, thank you guys for the amazing time!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _E5H1_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    40
    27
    13
    6
See reviews for
2
33
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Simply put the hostel is well thought out. Everything seemed to be created specifically for a backpacker, and the added benefit of a beach is amazing. The bar scene at the hostel is cool too because a lot of the people that work there are transiting backpackers. Bother locations also had a pool, which I wasn't too keen on, but I guess its a really nice option to have for a lot of people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnitnuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Kokopelli is a great hostel where you can meet a lot of nice people. the bar organises good partys every fridas, and make sure that you have a good time during your stay. Barstaff is really friendly and always ready to help. It has a pool and a Pingpong table where staff&guests almost daily play their competitions.(at that point: Sorry for manu that he lost against me all the time)
The only thing that really enoyed me was the restaurant. Even if the food is good in general it takes ages untill it arrives. Most of the time I waited more than one hour and I was not the only one. and I'm pretty sure this food get me sick. Don't eat there!
I would still recommend that hostel. Great times there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in a mixed dorm.

Nicely laid out hostel with couches and computers in the courtyard. Loungers by the pool and bar to chill out all day.

Decent breakfast of eggs, bread rolls and fruit juice included. Wifi was good.

One big factor that took away from our stay was our experience of ordering food from the bar menu. We ordered two meals. The first meal ordered came out after an hour of ordering, the second ten minutes later. That is slow for rice, fried fish and a chicken sandwich.
Also, the kitchen sent out tortilla chips instead of papas frites with one order. If we were told that the kitchen had run out of papas frites we could of changed the order. They weren't the nicest accompanyment to a curry sandwich. Pretty bad communication between kitchen and bar.

Good overall, but a simple bar menu should simply come together.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roamincorkonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I planned on staying at Koko for 5 days, but ended up working there for 3 weeks. Then left for a month and came back to work for another month. The staff is like a family that is welcoming and warm to all guests, and are more than happy to help you out with any problem or question you have.
If you're 18 and want to just party your whole time in Máncora, then stay in Loki, but if you want to have chill bar sessions and be able to go to bed before midnight, Kokopelli is the best place to be!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nharth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very nice hostel, they have a very nice pool bar where you can stay all day if you want to relax and be in a pool!!! Its very near from the beach (the surfing point), the rooms are very nice... if i return for sure a go there again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Nice place to stay, however we paid the same amount for a double room here as we did for a much nicer place right on the beach.

Also hostel staff were not very friendly, would not let us have an extra sheet when we asked because we thought we'd be cold. Seemed put out as we turned up quite late in the evening.

The atmosphere was good and I'm sure if you were a solo traveller you would make friends here.

Breakfast was good fun, with scrambled eggs and rolls.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzy-4ilr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mancora hotels
0.7 mi away
Suites del Mar
Suites del Mar
#2 of 33 in Mancora
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eco Lodge
Eco Lodge
#5 of 33 in Mancora
191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rio Hotels - Mancora
Rio Hotels - Mancora
#28 of 33 in Mancora
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Loki del Mar
Loki del Mar
#1 of 65 in Mancora
707 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Point Mancora Beach
The Point Mancora Beach
#10 of 65 in Mancora
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kon Tiki Bungalows
Kon Tiki Bungalows
#11 of 65 in Mancora
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palosanto Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palosanto Backpackers

Property: Palosanto Backpackers
Address: Av. Piura 209, Mancora 0511, Peru (Formerly Kokopelli Beachpackers)
Location: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Mancora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palosanto Backpacker features provide good customer service , has comfortable rooms and airy also we provide service American Breakfast we have it from 8:00 a.m to 10:00 a.m. The Hostel has a bar where alcoholic beverages, carbonated and energy are expended ; Snacks, beer and cigarettes . Hours 10:00 a.m - 1:00 a.m The pool has a bar with 6 banks and a circular table with benches around 5 and 7 mats. It has two computers for guest use , a ping pong , beer pong of a dumbbell chest and a bar. It has an area very quiet and comfortable hammocks. The Hostel provides laundry service , towel rental and information about the tourist attractions there is to do in the area and surroundings. Hostel staff is always ready to any customer need and make it a smile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Palosanto Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing