We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pool, relaxing space”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palosanto Backpackers
Ranked #19 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Mancora
Reviewed April 28, 2013

my wife and I stayed in a private room in january 2013. clean, comfortable, good shower with hot water. it was on the second floor with a partial view of the ocean which is accross the street. the hotel is mostly dorms and has a laid back feel. great pool and bar and bar is popular with people from outside the hotel as well so on weekend nights it is a good place to be. doesn't get too loud for sleeping. only complaint we had was super slow service at the bar one night but we would definately recommend this place and stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djdgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 150 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

had the best time here! they have a simple (included) breakfast, a relaxing pool and clean rooms. staff were amazingly nice & helpful, it's not beachfront but pretty close to the beach, I just loved it here and am definitely coming back when I can!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was a really fun hostel. It's definitely a traveler party spot, but not too crazy. Nice beds, clean, safe. Good bar scene, excellent wifi, right across the street from the beach. Overall the place seemed really well run. We had some confusion about the checkout, so make sure to settle up and double check the night before you leave, especially if you have a bus to catch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aguafijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. There was a party every night and that was a bit too much for us.
The beach is right across the street. The rooms are clean, with a fan and a good bathroom.
We moved on to a cabin on the beach 15 minutes down the road for an amazingly relaxed weekend on the beach.

- yesmads.com

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yesmads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Spent quite alot of time at Kokopellis over the Easter weekend. I arrived by myself not knowing anyone and I left with some great new friends.

The staff and volunteers working here are really cool, helpful, fun, good looking, informative and a little crazy round the edges.

The pool could be a little cleaner, but it was a daily talking point deciding if we were going to brave it by getting in.

I'm also a big dog and cat fan and the animals living in the hostel are all really nice too.

I'l hopefully be back to volunteer and give something back to this place :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TordAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just stayed here for 2 days. It was fun, there were lots of other travelers, the pool was nice during the heat of the day and it was quiet that I could sleep at night. The surfing was right across the street as well. The pool area was always busy but it wasn't a wild party. There are cheaper places to stay in town though. I paid 100 soles (for 2 people in a private room) but found places that were as nice, if not nicer (la posada) right behind the kokopelli. The scene at other places were much quieter, if that's your thing. Kokopelli was an easy place to socialize with other travelers.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank el_cap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

While the party atmosphere is not really my thing, this hostel had cheap dorms and the people there were nice. Location was walkable from the beach, good restaurants, and all of the bus companies. Reception was great in recommending an awesome tour with a guy named Edder, who took us to see sea turtles (got to swim with them), as well as some private beaches in his moto. Great recommendation. Dorms were clean. Our shower was just a small trickle of water but we probably could have snuck into another dorm to shower. Doors to dorms were rarely locked but lockers were big enough to throw your entire backpack in. Staff was nice in letting us hang out for the entire day before our night bus and even telling us we could shower after checking out.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mancora hotels
0.7 mi away
Suites del Mar
Suites del Mar
#1 of 33 in Mancora
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Don Giovanni / Balinese Suites y Gelateria
0.1 mi away
Loki del Mar
Loki del Mar
#1 of 67 in Mancora
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Point Mancora Beach
The Point Mancora Beach
#15 of 67 in Mancora
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kon Tiki Bungalows
Kon Tiki Bungalows
#10 of 67 in Mancora
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimbas Bungalows
Kimbas Bungalows
#2 of 67 in Mancora
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palosanto Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palosanto Backpackers

Address: Av. Piura 209, Mancora 0511, Peru (Formerly Kokopelli Beachpackers)
Location: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Mancora
Price Range: $10 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Palosanto Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palosanto Backpacker features provide good customer service , has comfortable rooms and airy also we provide service American Breakfast we have it from 8:00 a.m to 10:00 a.m. The Hostel has a bar where alcoholic beverages, carbonated and energy are expended ; Snacks, beer and cigarettes . Hours 10:00 a.m - 1:00 a.m The pool has a bar with 6 banks and a circular table with benches around 5 and 7 mats. It has two computers for guest use , a ping pong , beer pong of a dumbbell chest and a bar. It has an area very quiet and comfortable hammocks. The Hostel provides laundry service , towel rental and information about the tourist attractions there is to do in the area and surroundings. Hostel staff is always ready to any customer need and make it a smile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Palosanto Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing