We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel, Great Staff, Great friendly environment”
Review of Palosanto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palosanto
Ranked #16 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Mancora
Denver
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Hostel, Great Staff, Great friendly environment”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This is one of the best hostel's i've ever stayed at. The food they cook up every evening was great, the staff were extremely friendly. The hostel itself is very clean, has quick internet, and a swimming pool

Its less than a 5 minute walk to the beach.

Lots of other travelers hanging around here as well, very easy meet other guests.

Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joesmoe00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    40
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
2
32
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed at Kokopelli for 3 days and could have spent longer there. Just 1 minute from the beach near the edge of town it's just out of the way enough to be quiet but close enough to be in the mix. The atmosphere is great and the facilities unquestionably good. It is a relaxed place to chill by the pool but does have a little bit of a party feel later on in the day, and the bar being right next to the pool is perfect.
The staff are generally well informed as to the local goings on and can provide good advice on everything from security to whats happening and where. The rooms are comfy as are the beds and the whole place has a backpackers haven feel.

Room Tip: It's definately a book in advance hostel so don't rock on up expecting room, though you migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Nice hostel to relax with friends in and around the pool,great to meet fellow travellers.Super friendly staff and very clean.Also has a good bar to partyand a nice menu.Located close to other bars in town and beach is only 2 minutes away.I'd highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hodgy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Staff was helpful though not enthused to be of assistance. If you are looking to stay up and party all night then this is the place for you. Youth travelers mostly inconsiderate of roommates. We moved out to quieter location and better service for same price. We were happy when the time came to leave.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aguadecocosurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Great place to meet people and great location - not on beach front but the beach is a 2 minute walk away. Really good pool area with sunbeds, hammocks and a bar. Only fallbacks were that it got a bit cold at night and they didn't provide blankets, the towels to borrow are tiny and the hot water ran out one evening. Overall I would highly recommend it and want to go back!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrinawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at kokopellis for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. We often just stayed in the hostel area during the day and chilled around the pool while enjoying the good food.
You can still party if you want to around the well stocked bar before heading out to the many local bars nearby.
I'd highly recommend kokopellis to anyone looking to get the most out of Mancora, whether it be to relax or to have a good time.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cummingd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lonon
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed for a week in this hostel which was great. It's on the highway so a little noisy but earplugs sort that out no problem. The real positives are the great bar and pool area and super friendly staff and owners. We were made to feel so welcome and met loads of great people there, without having to endure the hectiness of Loki (you can go party at Loki anytime, gaining entrance with the Kokopelli wristbands you're given).

Drink prices are reasonable and food is delicious with Ignacious, the owner, constantly looking for ways to improve things with new additions to the menu, organising poker nights, and various 'shot of the day' and 'cocktail of the day' drink specials. The pool is great when you've had enough of the sea or if you want to just spend a day lounging around.

Double rooms are simple but clean, go for P-1 or P-3 if you can get them, slightly bigger than P-2, plus they have shelving. Otherwise we also spent some time in the dorm rooms which were also very good, with each person getting a personal luggage locker under the bottom bed. Rooms are cleaned every day.

Eggs are provided for breakfast but get there early if you want them hot, otherwise its standard rolls and jam.

All in all, we were sorry to leave after a great week. Apparently Koko's are opening in Cusco, hopefully by the time we get there in a few weeks.

Room Tip: Double rooms: go for P-1 or P-3 if you can get them, slightly bigger than P-2, plus they have shelvi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mancora hotels
0.9 mi away
Rio Hotels - Mancora
Rio Hotels - Mancora
#29 of 32 in Mancora
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eco Lodge
Eco Lodge
#5 of 32 in Mancora
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mancora Bay Hotel
Mancora Bay Hotel
#19 of 32 in Mancora
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Loki del Mar
Loki del Mar
#1 of 64 in Mancora
680 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Point Mancora Beach
The Point Mancora Beach
#10 of 64 in Mancora
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kon Tiki Bungalows
Kon Tiki Bungalows
#11 of 64 in Mancora
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palosanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palosanto

Property: Palosanto
Address: Av. Piura 209, Mancora 0511, Peru (Formerly Kokopelli Beachpackers)
Location: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Mancora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palosanto Backpacker features provide good customer service , has comfortable rooms and airy also we provide service American Breakfast we have it from 8:00 a.m to 10:00 a.m. The Hostel has a bar where alcoholic beverages, carbonated and energy are expended ; Snacks, beer and cigarettes . Hours 10:00 a.m - 1:00 a.m The pool has a bar with 6 banks and a circular table with benches around 5 and 7 mats. It has two computers for guest use , a ping pong , beer pong of a dumbbell chest and a bar. It has an area very quiet and comfortable hammocks. The Hostel provides laundry service , towel rental and information about the tourist attractions there is to do in the area and surroundings. Hostel staff is always ready to any customer need and make it a smile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Palosanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing