We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laguna Surf Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mancora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laguna Surf Camp
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great food by Pepe
30 yards to the beach you can hear the sea
Lots of hammocks and a nice garden
Quiet, 5 minutes from main road BUT sound music does not carry
Nice little bungalows and also rooms underneath restaurant
Pilar does surf lessons
No pool - there is what looks like an abandoned building work for the pool
Would really recommend this place, especially if not fancying a loki experience

Room Tip: Bungalows are quieter than rooms underneath restaurant Get a plug in mozzie adaptor wherever you st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badgers7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    31
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
38
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed with 3 friends in a room here. It had its own hammock and chairs outside, can't see the sea but can hear the waves at night (about 20 metres from the beach!). Cost was good, 25 Nuevo soles per person per nit. It was far enough away from the terrible music at the bars in the centre to sleep but only 5 mins walk if you did want to go out. The room was simple but clean and looked out onto palm trees and hammocks.

Thing is, we never wanted to leave. Pepe, the chef is professionally trained and makes the most delicious food which also happens to be very affordable. We ate every meal there and looked forward to every one - was like having a private chef as the place was really quiet!

We also looked into Loki as we are a group of backpackers in our twenties but were SO glad we chose Laguna instead. No morons, peace, sea, great food, functioning wifi. If you are a backpacker or surfer (anyone actually) who wants to chill and eat great food, stay here. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Máncora, Piura, Peru
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

rooms are basic but ok,

the place is super chilled and pilar is giving great surf lessons.

really nice atmosphere, palm trees and sand bottom.

the best thing is the food from PEPE, makin delicious pancakes, burgers and shakes!

i highly recommend this place!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jakob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at laguna with a couple of friends for about two weeks. It was an awesome retreat from the touristy and buzzy parts of Mancora while being just a short walk from all the action and about 50 steps from the beach. It's one of the best values I've come across in Peru. If you want to have the option to get away from the endless party of Mancora, this place is perfect. Bungalows, sand, palm trees, and hammocks combined with really laid back and pleasant service from the staff make it an ideal hide out.
Surf lessons from the owner, Pilar, were awesome. She is super friendly, speaks English, and is a good teacher. It was my first time surfing and I always felt safe and confident with her in the water looking after us. I highly recommend her for lessons even if you stay elsewhere.
My only complaint would be that because things are so laid back, if you need something it can take a while to find the help you need.. Definitely email beforehand to let them know when you'll be arriving. The reception desk is not always covered, calling can be hit or miss.
All in all, this was probably my favorite place I've stayed in Peru after a coupe months. We checked out some some of the other low cost options in Mancora. They are fun to hang out at, but Laguna just felt like home. I will definitely stay there again! I can't wait.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corvas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We just stayed 3 nights here and loved it. Pilar the owner was so helpful, we arrived early and left late and she was happy to let us stay at the hostel late until our bus left, then went to get us a moto taxi. There is a gorgeous dog named Duka that is very friendly, hammocks and palm trees everywhere, and the hostel is a short walk from the main bar and restaurant area of Mancora. The property is metres away from the beach and the rooms are cleaned everyday. We loved staying there and would definitely recommend it. There is a kitchen which is a bit dark but otherwise fine, and we did have some problems with noise at night, but that was from other guests and not from any nearby bars etc.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uk85mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

The hotel is not located right along the beach strip or in town--it's very very close to the beach and is accessible from the main road in town along two dirt roads. Both of the roads seem a little unsafe at night (not well lit), but as long as you are alert I think it's fine.

Our room was really nice. Another reviewer said their room was dirty, we encountered no such problems. Private rooms have their own bathroom and little porch area with a hammock, and there's hammocks EVERYWHERE which makes the place have a really relaxed feel. After staying in hostels, it felt very luxurious (for not too bad of a price)!

There were two things we really didn't like. First, they advertise as having a kitchen, but when we were there their kitchen was not functional because there was no gas tank (as if it would be that hard to think ahead an buy an extra gas tank!). Pilar told us we could use their kitchen, so we did. We were very respectful while in there (didn't make a mess, cleaned all the dishes and utensils we used), but another woman living there (maybe Pilar's sister or friend?) seemed very annoyed that we were using the kitchen. We accidentally used a cutting board to cut some veggies that is supposed to only be for fruits and she got kind of annoyed. Those problems wouldn't have happened if the kitchen had been usable! Also, when the kitchen finally was usable, there were no utensils or dishes there to use, only some dusty cups.
They do serve breakfast (the typical breakfast at Peruvian hotels of coffee and white bread buns with butter), which is a nice touch. The price is kind of steep, but since Mancora is such a popular tourist destination I think the price was fair. We compared it to some other places nearby and this one was definitely the nicest for the price. I would stay there again because Pilar was so nice and friendly and the place had a really nice relaxing environment. I would just make sure the kitchen was working before booking a room!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andazc129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is most likely on of the worst places we have ever stayed at. The owner was unfriendly and did not even answer our inquiry email. We still wanted to go there because of the good reviews, and got a room as the place was almost empty at this time.
The bungalow we got was very small, shabby, dirty, and full of mosquitos that came in through the holes in the wall and the rotten mosquito net in front of the window. The room was cheap but even for this price it was a really bad deal. It's close to the beach - but this are most of all the other hotels in Mancora, too....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mimobloggt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mancora hotels
0.5 mi away
Eco Lodge
Eco Lodge
#5 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suites del Mar
Suites del Mar
#2 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akumal Mancora
Akumal Mancora
#31 of 32 in Mancora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Arennas Mancora
Arennas Mancora
#3 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.8 mi away
DCO Suites, Lounge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Psygon Surf Camp
Psygon Surf Camp
#8 of 59 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Surf Camp

Property: Laguna Surf Camp
Address: Mancora, Peru
Location: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Mancora
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing