We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back family hospitality in stellar location, private escape from hustle and bustle.”
Review of Kon Tiki Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kon Tiki Bungalows
Ranked #10 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Mancora
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed here a week in a private bungalo after dealing with the hostels in the center of the village and enjoyed the escape from the noise, loud music and bustle which seemed be happening 24/7. if you don't mind a short hike to the top of a hill overlooking the entire town, this place is a reward in itself. Breakfast, book swap, wifi, excellent breeze, Private bungalows with bathroom, seating and hammock on a patio with 180 degree ocean views, including full view of the point break! Entance alley is very close to delicious vegetarian restaurant (we ate there everyday). Just be sure to stay on lit and marked paths. Much appreciated getaway!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aguadecocosurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 86 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed in one of the private rooms with a shared bathroom. We enjoyed our stay and we think the owners are really friendly and helpful; however we expected a little bit more after reading the reviews. The private rooms are really basic, the matrasses are thin. The shared bathroom doesn’t have hot water (there was only 1 shower) and the toilets could be cleaned a bit more often. There are no towels included and the room only gets cleaned if you ask for it. There is no restaurant and the main building closes early at night (maybe it would stay open if you’d sit there, but when we came back from the town it was closed). Another good thing to notice is that Kon Tiki is located behind the town, so it’s not located next to the sea. We also had some problems using internet in our room, but it works fine in the main building. The hike gave us some extra exercise every day, we didn’t mind!

The good thing about this place is – like we mentioned before – that the owners are really friendly. We got picked up from town and they gave us some good advice about travelling further from Mancora to Lima. The breakfast is basic but nice and for a few soles extra they make you nice eggs!

Overall: nice place but not amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Sitting on the top of a hill overlooking the Mancora beach, Kon Tiki bungalows were an absolute find. Hammocks on the verandas of the really comfortable cabanas with big beds have the most amazing views, and the hosts Juerg and Patricia were absolutely lovely and incredibly helpful.

The owners picked us up and dropped us off for our buses in their crazy old VW Beetle, and had a wealth of really useful advice on local restaurants, best bits of the beach, future plans and pretty much anything else we could think of to ask - Juerg was giving another guest a mini surfing lesson at one point!

Breakfasts were great, continental is included in the price and the extras were really good and worth the extra soles. The bungalows are also great value, especially compared to the price of everything else in Mancora. If you're looking to stay away from the Ibiza-esque partiers staying at the Loki, this is absolutely the place for you (although you can't escape them at the beach!).

I do have to mention the uphill trek from the beach, probably about 60 steps - but it´s worth it for the outstanding views, and peace and quiet (although you can´t get away from the main strip noise at weekend evenings anywhere in town, it is much quieter here) and the climb does start right in the middle of everything on the malecon, as opposed to hotels on the edge of town. Also there is no hot water, but by the end of the day it was always lukewarm and pleasant enough to shower in for us.

2 great little restaurants were by the beachside entrance to the bungalows, a Vegetarian Angela´s and another place (I can´t recall the name but the hosts will help) that had incredible deserts.

Free internet, a 2for1 book exchange, a refreshing air dry washing service and a lovely team of staff really topped off a great experience for us, we stayed a 4th and extra night. This place is almost always top of our recommendations list when we meet other travellers heading in the opposite direction on our journey through South America - great hosts plus incredible views and bungalows is a winning combo. Thoroughly, thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to stay out the front - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olideacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We were in a bungalow (bungalow ensuite with private bathroom) at Kon Tiki Bungalows in August. We loved the view over the city and the beach. The owners (Jurg, Switzerland and Patricia, Peru) are a very nice couple who are there when you have questions or need help. We were picked up when we arrived in Mancora, when we had a leaking faucet the same day it was fixed. They also helped us with arranging a surf lesson (and we were picked up from Kon Tiki).
There is useful information available in the reception area with leaving buses and things you can do in the neighbourhood. There are books available to borrow and read and you can exchange books. There is WIFI. The showers are not hot, but also not cold. The sun warms the water up, enough to have a fine shower.
Because it is on a hill it is a more quite place, but take your earplugs for the loud music in the nights. You have to hike for a few minutes (5 max) to walk back to your room. This is not a big deal.
The owners are planning in building more bungalows and a swimmingpool before the end of 2011.

We surely can recommend Kon Tiki, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinciendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Super nice place. A trek up a hill but with super views over the town and beach. we stayed in a bungalow at the front. noiae from town drifted up at night but nothing like being in the town. great service and advice from a very nice coyple

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Kon Tiki. The short hike up and down the hill can get a bit tiring, but is worth it for the views and to get out of the small busy town below. The owners were very nice and helpful-- we had a few problems with our first room, which they took care of promptly and also moved us into a nicer room for the same price. Breakfast was simple-- just bread, jam, juice, and tea or coffee-- but was served with a view of all of Máncora and the Pacific Ocean. Also, the owners will pick you up from the bus station and drop you off for free.. which is essential. You don´t want to walk up the hill with all of your stuff! Oh, but be warned-- there isn't any hot water, which was disappointing for the price.

Room Tip: Opt for an ensuite bungalow as these come with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tnwinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We found the owners to be friendly, helpful and kind, they went out out of their way to provide us with what we needed. The view is great, and its very relaxing with chairs and hammocks for each bungalow. We enjoyed our stay here very much, thanks Kon Tiki!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndiaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mancora hotels
2.1 mi away
Los Corales
Los Corales
#14 of 33 in Mancora
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loki del Mar
Loki del Mar
#1 of 67 in Mancora
784 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Point Mancora Beach
The Point Mancora Beach
#14 of 67 in Mancora
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kimbas Bungalows
Kimbas Bungalows
#3 of 67 in Mancora
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palosanto Backpackers
Palosanto Backpackers
#20 of 67 in Mancora
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Naif Rustic & Ecologic Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Bungalows

Address: Av Los Incas nr 200, Mancora, Peru
Location: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Mancora
Price Range: $14 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kon Tiki Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Kon Tiki Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing