We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dangerously Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotelier Arte y Cocina
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Mancora
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dangerously Relaxing”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I found El Hotelier on Trip Advisor and booked based on the reviews and was not disappointed. The hotel is small with 8 rooms but it makes the atmosphere at dinner, breakfast, etc. nice as everyone chats and gets to know each other. The rooms are great, king size bed and very clean. The best part about the hotel is the food. You basically arrive and then you can lounge on the beach all day and order these delicious blended drinks and fresh ceviche and you never pay for anything... until you check out. The prices weren't too bad though. The owner Javier also helped us book some on the beach massages and a tour of the mangrove swamp as well (which was both really great and different and a lot of rowing!). I'd highly recommend El Hotelier.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golf_Lover11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    88
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
71
119
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Having not planned on stopping in Mancora, I can't imagine not having stayed and ate and chatted with the people of Hotelier. Away from the "hippie" rif-raf, this hotel felt like South America. Keep playing the Cuban big band, Susanna Baca, and Bossa Nova, Javier! Thank you for all the recommendations to come. (PS. It's so cold in Cusco.)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkidoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel is very in a very quiet spot of Mancora, it is around 1 km from the city centre but you won't mind if you like long walks along the beach and there is also a lot of motor taxis available.The other advantage of the location is that you are far from all the touristic noise:-) The rooms on the top floor are the most beautiful... The restaurant is a bit pricey but of course you don't have to eat there every day. The food is delicious (except the tiny breakfast:)

They have a private beach. The staff is very nice and friendly. Would like to go back if had the chance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGELIKANatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a must-go if you like a nice beach, relaxing atmosphere, listening to the waves while sleeping and additionally when you have a gourmet tounge. It is the opposite of ugly Máncora, where we didn't find any atmosphere. The service provided especially by Caesar was outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

After several trips in Mancora I finally found the place where I felt the best. Great Great GREAT food. Great service, lots of smile. The rooms are perfect. I recommend it to anyone familie, couples etc.. who desire to have a great moment in Mancora.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South America
Level Contributor
114 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I've been meaning to write this follow-up review for a while, but hadn't got round to it. This is the second time I've been to Hotelier and it was just as good as the first. I'm always worried about revisiting a hotel I've really enjoyed in case it doesn't live up to expectations; so often standards drop, or the staff change, or they just don't keep up with maintenance and that spanking new, stylish hotel becomes scruffy and neglected. But El Hotelier is still a well-run, small, quiet, friendly hotel with stylish modern rooms, each with a view of the ocean, a nice clean beach for sunbathing (this part of Mancora, Las Pocitas, is lovely, but it's quite rocky, so you can't do a lot of swimming). Because it's away from the centre of Mancora, it's also very quiet and relaxing. I also left my jacket there by accident and they very kindly sent it to Lima for me. I think we sent you an email to say thanks, but just in case we didn't, let me thank you again and for a great stay. And please keep up the high standards. I hope we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dungenessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you stay in Mancora, this is the spot. We found ourselves hanging out here the first day we landed while staying at a place 2x the rate of the rooms... we cancelled our extra nights and it was the best decision we made. The owner Javier and staff catered to us, as well as were very friendly and you can tell were also happy. Our suite had an awesome ocean view, Jacuzzi, and so spacious. We even went fishing and they cooked our catch for us for free for two meals, in several ways from ceviche to fish soup! We loved this place and hope to return one day. :)

Room Tip: The suite is a great deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling_jenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mancora hotels
1.5 mi away
Suites del Mar
Suites del Mar
#2 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.0 mi away
Arennas Mancora
Arennas Mancora
#3 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.6 mi away
DCO Suites, Lounge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eco Lodge
Eco Lodge
#6 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Mare & Bungalows
1.5 mi away
Mancora Beach Bungalows
Mancora Beach Bungalows
#8 of 32 in Mancora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelier Arte y Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelier Arte y Cocina

Property: Hotelier Arte y Cocina
Address: | Km 1217.4 Antigua Panamericana Norte Antigua, Mancora, Peru
Location: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mancora
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mancora
#10 Family Hotel in Mancora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotelier Arte y Cocina 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel with a difference, Hotellier sits like a landmark on the gorgeous las Politas beach, just two minutes form Mancora. The location was hand selected by Javier, an artist who has lived on this stretch of beach for over 30 years, and features a backdrop of sandstone cliffs and an excellent ocean view of the calm beach protected from the wind. Javier and his team are passionate about ensuring the comfort and enjoyment of their customers, who rave about the friendly, attentive service at Hotelier and the attention to detail in every element of the artistic hotel. All eight suites feature ocean view balconies, split air-conditioners, King-Size beds, pima linens, feather pillows, blackout curtains, hot and cold water, cable TV/DVD and art by Javier himself. The hotel also houses Donde Teresa – a gourmet destination, praised in food magazines – named for Teresa Ocampo. Teresa, frequently called the Julia Child of Peru, is a culinary pioneer who has sold over 300,000 cookbooks and whose legacy is carried on at Donde Teresa. Inspired by tradition, but always contemporary, the meals at Donde Teresa are always a highlight of guests at Hotelier. As a diver, Javier brings the best of the ocean to the table and you can be sure to enjoy the freshest seafood at Donde Teresa. Mancora, and Las Pocitas in particular, is blessed with year round sunny weather, from 70-90F, low humidity and a great sea breeze. Las pocitas is a relaxing beach, great for walks, swimming, snorkeling, horseriding or just lazing around and listening to the waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotelier Arte y Cocina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelier Hotel Mancora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing