We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Las Pocitas”
Review of Claro de Luna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mancora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claro de Luna
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Mancora
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Paradise on Las Pocitas”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

From the moment I first e-mailed Claro de Luna to enquire about a booking, everything about our 6 night stay here was absolutely wonderful.

We flew into Tumbes airport and arranged airport transfer with the hotel. When I e-mailed Lautaro to confirm our reservation and change of flight time, he advised that by the time we arrived (11pm) the restaurant would be closed but would we like a sandwich making - I explained we were vegetarian so when we were shown to our room, we were greeted with cheese sandwiches and a beer - how's that for exceptional service?!

Staying at Claro de Luna is like staying in someone's beautiful large private house - as there are only 9 rooms, the hotel has a real intimate, personal feel to it, with lots of places to relax, eat, drink and sunbathe.

Our room was on the second floor and because the hotel is directly on the beach, you go to sleep and are woken up to the sound of the Pacific Ocean - bliss! The rooms don't have air conditioning (it's not needed) and because of the natural breeze we didn't even need to put the fan on, despite the daily outside temperature being 30 degrees.

We walked into Mancora a couple of times (mainly to try out a great vegetarian restaurant Angela's Place we'd read about and also to shop - cheap Havaianas!) but apart from that there really is no reason to leave the hotel.

Apart from our visits to Angela's Place, we ate all our other meals at the hotel because the food here is exceptional - some of the best food we've had anywhere on our travels.

The service from Lautaro, Ricardo and the 2 waiters was out of this world, and this hotel deserves every positive review it gets on Tripadvisor.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    16
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
87
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent three nights and four days here and enjoyed every minute. The staff was very helpful and fun, the rooms were comfortable. We walking into Mancora and wished that we had not bothered as the food and amenities were so much nicer at the hotel. It is very quiet in May and the beach was clean-great for walking. I borrowed a paddleboard and went out past the surf. We enjoyed the hotel masseuse every day. Each meal was superb and well presented. We will be back!
It is not easy to get here from Piura.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very welcoming little hotel, very quiet and located on the best spot on the beach. The staff and owners are very friendly it feel like a little peace of heaven on hearth. This is not fanzy at all but service and accomodation are really high level. On top of it the food served is yummy an dthe sunset is amazing! Don't hesitate to stay there you will not regret it...
Thanks a lot

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milou a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights after hiking the Inca Trail and it was amazing. This hotel is a little slice of heaven. Ask for room #10, it’s at the top of the landing, but has an ocean view from bed. I can’t tell you how awesome it is to fall asleep/wake up to the ocean every day. Lautaro and his staff are wonderful and very helpful for anything you need. Mancora is about a 20-25 minute walk or a 5 minute cab ride away. I would say that we ate in town half the time and ate at the hotel the rest. The last night we were there, Lautaro arranged for us to have dinner overlooking the ocean. It was pretty special! We went near the end of April, so the beach was un-crowded (since its offseason). As with most services in Peru, they ask you to pay up front with Western Union. We did this and it was just fine. Thanks again to the staff for making our visit to Peru so memorable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jin758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iquitos, Peru
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I just got back from our trip to Mancora to celebrate both her birthday and our anniversary. We stayed at Claro de Luna for five days and it was definitely one of the best vacations we have ever had. First of all, the hotel is located on one of the best spots on the beach, where there are hardly any rocks, making swimming in the ocean much easier than nearly every other hotel we passed while walking.
The hotel has this warm, comfortable energy to it, like being at home. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, with plenty of space, and nice beds. The view is exquisite, the restaurant is amazing. We ate at the hotel several times because the food was so good and not expensive either. The staff was absolutely fantastic, always willing to do whatever was needed to ensure our happiness, including surprising my wife at lunch on her birthday with a brownie hot fudge sundae, complete with a candle burning in it. It was just a marvelous and memorable time for both of us and we will definitely be going back.
It was my third time visiting Mancora, and each time was great for me, but more because Mancora is such a cool town with a gorgeous beach. This time, the hotel brought our stay to another level, making every moment we spent there fantastic. Whether we were hanging out at the beach on their awesome beach chairs under their big umbrellas, or enjoying the pool, or eating a meal, or watching a movie on their big screen theater area, or spending time in our room, everything was exactly how we would want it. I now see why this place is ranked Number One on Trip Advisor. It is as close to perfect as you can get.

Room Tip: There is really only one room with a balcony that looks out on the ocean. It doesn't really mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosTanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at Claro de Luna for a week last month, and the experience was truly wonderful. The hotel is family-owned and operated (Claudia, Ricardo, and Lautaro) and is a reflection of their dedication to excellence. The entire hotel is spotlessly clean, the hot water is spot-on, and the entire staff performs their duties to perfection. The beach in front of the hotel is wide, clean, and no rocks! You can relax on beach loungers or around one of the pools (there are 2 small ones), and the lovely waiter will bring you Pisco Sours, Mojitos, or whatever your heart desires.

The restaurant is, without doubt, one of the best in Mancora, if not the best. Their chef (sadly, I've forgotten his name) is a native of Piura, and understands how to coax the very best from local, fresh ingredients, and his presentation skills are top-notch. The wait staff is excellent, anticipating your needs but never being intrusive.

This is not a back-packer hotel, but rather one for those of us who want a pleasant, relaxing stay on a quiet, lovely beach.

Kudos to all at the hotel, owners and staff. We consider you to be our new home away from home in Mancora. Muchas gracias!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropmem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Claro de Luna is a great little property (about 10 rooms) on the beach outside of downtown Mancora, which is a good thing. Lautaro and his family run a friendly, clean property with comfortable rooms, a delicious restaurant and great views of sunsets. I recommend trying the pasta dishes (pasta is made on site), ceviche, tequenos, pisco and passion-fruit and Peruvian rum. Lautaro is a great source of knowledge of local information - surf breaks, dive shops and other activities. Prices double during major holidays - we went during Christmas - which seems to be a local industry thing. We would definitely go back when we go back to Mancora.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobfromRedondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mancora hotels
1.0 mi away
DCO Suites, Lounge & Spa
2.1 mi away
Suites del Mar
Suites del Mar
#2 of 33 in Mancora
329 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arennas Mancora
Arennas Mancora
#3 of 33 in Mancora
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Casa Mediterranea
Casa Mediterranea
#6 of 33 in Mancora
123 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eco Lodge
Eco Lodge
#5 of 33 in Mancora
191 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mancora Marina Hotel
Mancora Marina Hotel
#12 of 33 in Mancora
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claro de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claro de Luna

Property: Claro de Luna
Address: Km. 1216 Antigua Panamericana Norte | Playa Las Pocitas, Mancora, Peru
Location: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Mancora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claro de Luna is right on the seashore, beach front row at the exclusive area Las Pocitas, 2km away from downtown Máncora. It’s suitable for up to max. 20 people and very spacious, with lots of spots with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Our concept: Private Villa with our high quality hotel service with more than 10 years of experience. Various alternatives for groups of 6 people or less, and up to a max. of 20 people. Claro de Luna has been re-designed towards a truly relax and comfort experience for our guests, with private lounge areas with stunning ocean views, a large infinity pool at seashore, sun-loungers at the beach, a fully equipped bar, cinema living room, board game´s table, daily cleaning service and a complete cooking service provided by our 2 Chefs with a wide seafood and international menu. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing