We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best seafood in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Claro de Luna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mancora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claro de Luna
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Mancora
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The best seafood in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Fantastic service, wonderful owners and out of this world seafood. Really pleased we could watch the olympics on the satelite tv in the room. My girlfriend and I had a blissful week! Really beautiful beach to walk along and a warm ocean. Couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luketowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    16
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
87
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is family run, which makes a big difference. Ricardo and Lautaro were always there to make our stay extremely accommodating. Food is delicious, and their recommendations for tours and other restaurants in the city were also right on.

Unfortunately, we couldn't do the Whale Tour, however, knowing this, Lautaro called one of the employees (Rolando) to come get us one afternoon, because you could see whales from the deck of the hotel. This is truly attention to detail.

Gracias Lautaro! Gracias Ricardo! Nos vemos la próxima!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxiav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The owners are incredibly friendly and make you feel at home. Lautaro was very responsive beforehand on email. We were able to check in early due to an early bus arrival. Breakfast was tasty and included the best coffee and bread we've had in South America. Over the course of our stay we had the ceviche, fish and gnocchi from their restaurant. Simply delicious! And were great suggestions of Claudia. The beach is secluded and is very clean compared to other parts of Mancora. It's a very easy walk into town along the beach. Otherwise only a 5 soles moto-taxi ride. The pool was great to cool down in. We watched movies on their projector which provided a great viewing experience. Thanks to all these great amenities  we felt completely rejuvenated after our stay here. Highly recommend. 

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy_London11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We just came back from our 2 night stay at Claro de Luna, the owners and the staff were amazing, the food was excellent! The pool and the lounge areas where always clean. I highly recommend it, especially if you are traveling in couples. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ximenaslm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent the last 3 night of our 2 week trip in Peru in Mancora. We absolutely LOVED Claro de Luna. The room was spacious, clean, with great views. The food in the restaurant was outstanding. The beach is pristine and perfect for running on. Getting to town by mototaxi is simple and cheap. We also felt the owners were just wonderful. Very kind and helpful. Even made a special dessert for our daughter for her 12th BD--above and beyond. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had the suite overlooking the pool and the ocean. King bed and a separate room for the kids with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abj0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Firstly, the staff could not be friendlier. The food is excellent (although the hours are limited). The pools are nice and there is a variety of lounging options. Also it is very secure. It's a little out of the way, but we enjoy that.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondeStrangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellesley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Claro de Luna is a delightful spot along Peru's northern coastline. There is nothing not to love about the owners, the staff, the location and the lovely hotel itself. After the Inca Trail hike, Machu Pichu, Lake Titicaca and traveling all around the Sacred Valley, Claro de Luna was the perfect was to end out stay in Peru. Thanks to Lautaro, Rolando, Ricardo and Claudia for their warmth and thoughtfulness during our visit to Mancora.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pennycWellesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mancora hotels
2.1 mi away
Suites del Mar
Suites del Mar
#2 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arennas Mancora
Arennas Mancora
#3 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.0 mi away
DCO Suites, Lounge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Eco Lodge
Eco Lodge
#6 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casa Mediterranea
Casa Mediterranea
#5 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Mare & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claro de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claro de Luna

Property: Claro de Luna
Address: Km. 1216 Antigua Panamericana Norte | Playa Las Pocitas, Mancora, Peru
Location: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Mancora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claro de Luna is right on the seashore, beach front row at the exclusive area Las Pocitas, 2km away from downtown Máncora. It’s suitable for up to max. 20 people and very spacious, with lots of spots with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Our concept: Private Villa with our high quality hotel service with more than 10 years of experience. Various alternatives for groups of 6 people or less, and up to a max. of 20 people. Claro de Luna has been re-designed towards a truly relax and comfort experience for our guests, with private lounge areas with stunning ocean views, a large infinity pool at seashore, sun-loungers at the beach, a fully equipped bar, cinema living room, board game´s table, daily cleaning service and a complete cooking service provided by our 2 Chefs with a wide seafood and international menu. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing