We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Point a Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Point Mancora Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Point a Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Point in Mancora is like its own resort. It is a great place to come and relax for a while .. we extended to stay 8 days. With a cheap bar and cheap restaurant right in the hostel, as well as a big pool, volleyball court and lots of sunchairs there is no reason to leave. It is right on the beach, and is a 10 minute walk from town. Highly reccomended!!

Warning/Complaints:
Do not leave the resort at night if you are walking. A few people were robbed who walked along the beach at night (even though they were warned not to).
It is loud at night, outside the hostel that is, especially on weekends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaDawn828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    48
    15
    8
    11
See reviews for
1
26
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I was quite impressed with the Point. It’s further from town than the rest of the hostels, but this is a small price to pay for an almost exclusive bit of beach.
The dorms are all in the main building and sleep 8 people. These can get a little warm at night, so it’s worth trying to get one of the dorms on the end of the building, as these have better airflow. There are small security lockers for each bed, but these are only able to hold small rucksacks. It’s worth buying a mosquito net if you are going to be here for any length of time, as there are a lot of mosquitos in the area.
There are bathrooms on both floors, and these seem to be cleaned almost continuously. Showers are warm all of the time.
The bar and restaurant are both very good and reasonably priced (both much cheaper than the bars in town). The bar also has two happy hours, and various promotions, games etc.
There are quite a few long term backpackers who seem to stay here and work behind the bar. Some of the other reviews of this place seem to count this as a negative, but it really gives the bar a bit of atmosphere. All the staff are really friendly and well placed to give out advice on your next destination.
The pool is very nice and cleaned every few days. There is usually a game of beach volleyball going on in the late afternoon, that anyone is free to join in.
Wifi is reliable and available throughout the complex.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a bit of breeze through the windows. It gets hot at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheIntrepidExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

My wife and I visited Mancora for a week in October. We stayed at Kokopelli for two nights, but moved to the point because it was a lot cheaper, and we're so glad we did. The Point is easily one of our favorite hostels! It's right on the beach, there's a good restaurant (the huge empanadas are a great value), a nice pool, and a volleyball net. There's a great, laid back vibe at the Point, and there were a lot more South American travelers there than we saw at Loki and Kokopelli.

Downsides: it's not that close to the town as other hostels, but in the daytime it's only a 20 minute walk along the beach, and at night they can call you a mototaxi for 2-5 soles anywhere in town. Also, security may be an issue. While we were there, another couple who was staying in the private bungalows (outside the main hostel area) had their stuff stolen (laptop, camera, etc). We stayed in a dorm and used the lockers and had no problem, but if you're staying in the bungalows, I would recommend locking up any valuables somewhere inside.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed at the Point in Mancora in January 2012. We really enjoyed our stay, and was a nice change for us and we have just spent two weeks in the mountains!

Hostel has a really relaxed, chill out vibe and the 'gringo' staff particularly were awesome. So friendly and helpful. Unfortunately i cannot say the same for the local kitchen staff as they were extremely rude to me a number of times as i d not speak fluent spanish and they thought my attempts were hilarious which made me feel highly embarassed and degraded.

But apart from that... really good stay. The other staff made up for them for sure. The Breakfast is small but nice, Unfortunately there is no kitchen but you are able to buy reasonably priced meals there which are huge portions.
Alternatively, you can walk along the beach into town which takes about 10 minutes and there u can find an assortment of lunch almuerzos for 8 soles. We were stoked with these, which include entre, main and usually a drink!

the beach is literally a few metres away from the hostel and if u dont feel like laying by the beach, the pool is a nice alternative!!

Beds were really comfy, however the rooms dont have fans so can get a bit stuffy at night! The place is super clean with the staff working and cleaning all day long to ensure the place is spick and span. Toilets and bathrooms also very clean and hot water available (though not really a necessity as its soo hot!!)

But overall, we had a really nice stay there!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bo100290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and could not wait to get out of there.

1. There was urine on the toilet seat on check-in

2. Most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in 100+ hostels around the world. Springs in mattress were dead.

3. Ants crawling through the bed day and night

4. "fitted" sheet over the mattress was too small. Fairly important considering how filthy the place was.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WebsterSpaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed in a dorm room in October 2011. Very comfortable beds and good atmosphere at the hostel. You can hear the sound of waves breaking when you wake up in the morning. The food is really good and the staff are excellent!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed 3 nights here in a private bungalow with a cold shower, warm shower are available in the communal area. The mattresses were very comfy. It's set a little mototaxi ride from town. The food is really good all fresh ingredients. The atmosphere was great too

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxy1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mancora
0.6 mi away
Rio Hotels - Mancora
Rio Hotels - Mancora
#29 of 32 in Mancora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites del Mar
Suites del Mar
#2 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
10.6 mi away
Royal Decameron Punta Sal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Eco Lodge
Eco Lodge
#6 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Psygon Surf Camp
Psygon Surf Camp
#8 of 61 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kon Tiki Bungalows
Kon Tiki Bungalows
#11 of 61 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Mancora Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Mancora Beach

Property: The Point Mancora Beach
Address: Playa El Amor, Mancora 5000, Peru
Location: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Mancora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The point Mancora Beach Welcome to our paradise on the beach! Our hostel has all you would expect from a Point hostel with the added bonus of having a pool and being right on the beach. Year-round sun by day, life is good here in Mancora. The cozy feel and familiar atmosphere make this hostel the perfect place to meet other travelers. We organize sport activities during the day. At night join us at the bar for drinking games & other activities. And don't miss our legendary monthly Full Moon Parties, the biggest and best all-night beach parties in Peru. Visit us and enjoy the ultimate hostel experience! Please check out our websites for more info about our Hostel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your The Point Mancora Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Mancora Beach Hotel Mancora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing