We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Puesto Viejo Estancia
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went to Puesto Viejo for a polo day and opted to spend the night. Probably the best decision we made on our whole trip. The room was beautiful and comfortable, and everyone was incredibly friendly. We had our polo lessons and mini match with Gaston, who is a great teacher and just a fun person in general. Puesto Viejo has been the highlight of our five weeks in Argentina. I want to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puestoviejo, Public Relations Manager at Puesto Viejo Estancia, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

We are excited to hear that staying at Puesto Viejo was the highlight of your trip! Thank you for such a spectacular review! We hope that we will see you again when you return to Argentina!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 222 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

This beautiful establishment serves the needs of the serious polo player in need of teaching, training and playing. The consistently high TA scores are fully justified but it's a far greater bonus for those polo players seeking the ideal polo estancia is that Puesto Viejo is first and foremost, a thriving polo club and second, a warm and inviting estancia. I had the great fortune to practice daily with a 6 goal player and then participate in club chukkers each afternoon.
The estancia is warm and inviting and run by the wonderful Jeremy and Liliana with humour, charm and kindness.
Beware the rooster!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NickBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puestoviejo, Public Relations Manager at Puesto Viejo Estancia, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for such a charming review! It's exciting to hear your opinion. Please feel welcome to come back to Puesto Viejo for more polo practice! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have travelled to Argentina many times before and my husband was looking to improve his polo, while I was looking to relax and improve my Spanish and riding. The staff and coaches at Puesto Viejo couldn't have been more helpful or more professional. The coach offers practical tips which will improve your swing and hitting ability rapidly.
The estancia is well laid out, with lovingly tended pitches, an infinity pool overlooking the polo pitches, a relaxed hotel and all close to Buenos Aires. The owners are really passionate about what they have created and it shows. This is an excellent place to stay if you're looking for a polo experience or a country break from city life in BA.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puestoviejo, Public Relations Manager at Puesto Viejo Estancia, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at Puesto Viejo and that you think so highly of us! Thank you again for choosing Puesto Viejo Estancia & Polo Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

An experienced polo playing Argentinian friend invited me to join for a visit to his favorite estancia for polo and relaxation. My expectations were high and they were exceeded.

Within an hour of our overnight flight's arrival into BA, we were warmly welcomed by Daniela and Irene, served flaky media lunas and hot coffee and on horses, having lessons, with the exceptionally talented Santiago de Estrada.

Lunch was served al fresco, under the trees and overlooking the well-manicured polo grounds. At a rustic farmer's table, we enjoyed a casual lunch and meeting the other guests. After the afternoon's polo match and some time for rest, we were treated to a delicious Argentinian supper, accompanied by a rich local Malbec, and became fast friends with the others. The estancia is chic yet warm and relaxed and draws a crowd of interesting, sophisticated travelers who enjoy lively conversation, guitar-playing and singing - original songs included - in a setting of understated luxury.

Jeremy, Liliana and their adorable girls along with the lovely Irene, Daniela, Holly, Santi, Luis, Juanchi, Matt and Gaston are gracious hosts and the guests are sweeties (a nod to you, APF)...all friends who I hope to visit with again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelleNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puestoviejo, Public Relations Manager at Puesto Viejo Estancia, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Thank you for your great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your time here! I'm sorry for our delayed response! We were a bit tied up with polo season! Thank you again for choosing Puesto Viejo Estancia & Polo Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Puesto Viejo is an unique option in Argentina for those who want to experience life in an estancia , ride horses , learn to play polo , play high level polo or just relax .
Less than one hour away from downtown Buenos Aires and just 30 minutes from the International Airport , Puesto Viejo is also a perfect place from where to visit Buenos Aires or fly to other destinations in Argentina after resting from your international flight.
The service is amazing , great food and truly the sentiment that you are home away from home. Owners Jeremy and Liliana make sure that your stay is unforgetable. Beautiful grounds , nice horses and excellent pros. Looking forward to my next stay there !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielrachmanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puestoviejo, Public Relations Manager at Puesto Viejo Estancia, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Thank you for your incredible review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here! I'm truly sorry for our slow response- we were a bit blow away by polo season! Thank you again for choosing Puesto Viejo Estancia & Polo Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at this Estancia over the Easter weekend and we had a wonderfully relaxing time. It is very much a 'house party' atmosphere and we shared our time with some lovely people. As non riders this did not stop us having a great time and If one was a rider or interested in learning to play polo this is the ideal Estancia. Equally the experienced polo player would enjoy the expertise of the local players and the chance to enjoy a good game. The property is owned by an English guy who's married to an Argentine woman, they are delightful people as are their children. This is an ideal holiday stay for families and couples alike. I would love to take my Grandchildren, the freedom young people can experience plus the horse skills they can learn are second to none. All the staff go out of their way to make everyone's stay perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomsGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puestoviejo, Public Relations Manager at Puesto Viejo Estancia, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

What a nice review! Thank you for taking the time to write thoughtful feedback! We appreciate it. I'm truly sorry for our delayed response! We were too preoccupied with polo season. Thank you again, and thank you for choosing Puesto Viejo Estancia & Polo Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My partner having been to Argentina three times previously, always to improve his polo, wanted both of us to enjoy a lovely holiday together as well as the opportunity to have 1st class polo lessons, not just for a beginner, as I did, for for him as a zero goaler with his own ponies and years of experience.

Whilst I was happy to go trail riding each day and had time by the beautiful infinity pool, my partner wanted to take full advantage of the exceptionally talented Santiago De Estrada (6 goals) in his private lessons every morning and the opportunity to play in fast paced club chukkas every night with professionals and local polo club members was amazing. Often 12 goals a side plus! They have a vast number of incredible horses from starter, our friends stayed the weekend and had never ridden before, to super fast ponies capable of staying with a 6 goaler at flat out gallop. I had a polo lesson to with the wonderful Gaston, he had me hitting the ball at a canter in no time!

But Puesto Viejo ticks many other boxes.....the whole ambience and friendliness of the place is so lovely. We were made to feel so welcome and relaxed from the minute we arrived. The accommodation is excellent, so much attention to detail and comfort.

The food we had was a fantastic mix of traditional Argentinian and modern cuisine and their great wine cellar took a bit of a bashing while we were there!

Thank you so much to the staff - Irene, Santi, Gaston, Daniela, Luis, Holly, Lee and all the dogs and the horses which made our stay so special. We will return and have been passing the message on to polo friends and others alike since back in the UK.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puestoviejo, Public Relations Manager at Puesto Viejo Estancia, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review!! We greatly appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself during your stay here! We hope to see you again soon! Thank you again, and thank you for choosing Puesto Viejo Estancia & Polo Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canuelas
16.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Finca Maria Cristina
15.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel & Convention Center Ezeiza
13.5 mi away
Como entonces
Como entonces
#1 of 1 in Uribelarrea
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Pampas del Sur
Pampas del Sur
#1 of 4 in Canuelas
170 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Central Canning
21.4 mi away
Posada de las Aguilas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puesto Viejo Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puesto Viejo Estancia

Address: Ruta 6 Km 82, Canuelas 1814, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > Canuelas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Canuelas
Price Range: $150 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puesto Viejo Estancia Argentina is a 240 acre estancia located an hour from Buenos Aires city and 30 minutes from Ezeiza International Airport. The Estancia offers a boutique hotel, polo club, and a club house used for events. It is the perfect place to experience the Argentine countryside at its very best. Whether it be a relaxing estancia holiday surrounded by nature, an active polo holiday under the instruction of professional players, or simply a daytime experience enjoying a traditional asado in a stunning setting, there are a wide range of options available throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Puesto Viejo Estancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing