We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surrealistic stay in surrealistic town”
Review of Posada El Castillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Posada El Castillo
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xilitla
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Surrealistic stay in surrealistic town”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The "Castle" was the home of Sir Edward James, an excentric Britton who made his home in this town which is literally in the middle of nowhere. Yet, the town is set up in a wonderful location amidst incredible vegetation and wakes up to a thick layer of fog in the early morning (so thick that it comes into your room if you leave the window open). Every room in the hotel is different, there are frescoes by Leonora Carrington on the walls and the dining/living area is very cozy. You feel transported to a different world.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frontera60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    23
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
22
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
266 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this guest house for three days in November. The location is central - only a few uphill steps to the town plaza. The rooms are adequate but nothing special. Breakfast is not included but an assortment of hot dishes are available for $100 MXP. Parking is not included but available a few meters away for $60 MXP per day. Christina, the host, was helpful and available. The restaurant attached to the property serves overpriced drinks and acceptable but so-so food. If you dine there be aware a service charge is added to your bill so no additional propina is expected. The main attraction in Xilitla is the Jardin Escultorico de Edward James, not to be missed. Two days in Xilitla is all you need.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elpavorealblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Our stay at El Castillo was very pleasant until the morning we left. We had trouble with our bill. On the website, our 2 rooms were listed at $70 and $90 respectively. When we saw out bill, we had been charged $100 a night for each of the rooms. We asked to speak to the owner, and we were told that she was unavailable. We were dealing with workers who didn't speak English. Even though we speak some Spanish, we had difficulty communicating with them. We had to pay in cash, and we weren't given a copy of the bill. I have emailed the owner, and I haven't received a satisfactory resolution. I am sure that we will never get a refund. I would suggest that you take copies of all of your emails with you if you do decide to stay there. It might be a good idea to verify the rates with the owner upon your arrival.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank zhudeet65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

This was my 5th visit to Hotel Castillo in the delightful town of Xilitla.
The obvious purpose of the trip was to visit once again the amazing garden of Edward James. Las Pozas.
Staying at Posada Castillo is the absolutely right thing to do. Former home of Plutarco Gastelum and his family. Still run by his daughter Gabriel and her daughters. The ambience is surreal extension of Las Pozas.
Do stay in either the Rosa, Don Eduardo or Mariposa room. My favourite is the Don Edaurdo, but all three have the amazing giant gothic arched windows commaning views acroos the town to the to the lush green mountains beyond.Early morning light gently coming through them and the sounds of the birds is truly magical.
Sure earlier night there are some noises from the street below. But it is all part of the charm.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean. With ceiling fans to gently move night air in the warmer months, March through October. While and propane heaters are available in the cooler months, but generally not needed.
The garden is full of tropical plants, and a variety of caged parrots during the day. The swimming pool is private, beuatifully clean and perfect for a cool dip after visiting Las Pozas.
Delicious breakfast is available for a small fee daily. And the restaraunt attached has a really good menu for dinner.
There are few gems like this amazing little hotel with its welcoming and frieindly staff left
in the world. Do go for an experience of a lifetime. I certainly will be returning many more time I hope

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plumbago_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Loved everything about this place. Do not go here if you are expecting 5 star, all inclusive resort. This can only be enjoyed by people who are looking for something different, and off the beaten path. This is a unique destination - you will not find anything like it anywhere else. Enjoy the whimsy and go with the flow.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phineas_fogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2010

I stayed here on a business trip in Dec 2009. We basically had the entire place booked, so there weren't any additional rooms for me to move into, even though my room smelled [very strongly] of moth balls and/or bug killer. The manager apologized for the smell, but apparently there wasn't much she could do about it. The beds were very hard, almost like cardboard. And the water temperature for the shower was very difficult to control. Often the water was SCALDING hot. The food at the attached restaurant was pretty good however, and the people working there were nice. It seemed like the only place to stay in Xilitla if you are going there...so not much of a choice. But the location is great, and at least now you'll know what to expect. I gave it three stars because considering what a tiny place San Luis Potosi is, it's pretty good for a little village of this size buried in the Mexican jungle. It's also quite interesting architecturally and has a great view of the vicinity.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HouseObsession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

It's a building of eccentric historical significance but aside from that, we think it was overpriced compared to other places we have stayed in Mexico. For the same price, we have stayed in magnificent places with enormous gourmet breakfasts and parking included.

The rooms are very large, spotless and nice but with no particular style. Ample hot water and water pressure. Good views from the upper rooms although they also tend to get hot and keep the heat during the night. No air conditioning but two fans finally cooled things off in the middle of the night. No breakfast is included and the cost for a continental was 50 pesos and 100 for full breakfast. One can eat a hearty breakfast in town for well under 50 each so we found most people didn't eat at the hotel. Pool was pretty but around the pool needed a full on power wash. Gabriela and her daughters are absolutely charming and add a LOT to the experience. The restaurant in the adjacent museum is excellent and well priced and we ate there every night. If you have a car, there is parking down the street in a guarded lot for an additional cost. Wouldn't recommend it to friends but don't know what other options there are in such a small town. Going to Las Posas is a must!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonsternm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xilitla
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dolores
Hotel Dolores
#3 of 3 in Xilitla
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Surreal
Camino Surreal
#1 of 14 in Xilitla
29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada James
Posada James
#5 of 9 in Xilitla
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Hotel Paraiso Huasteco
Hotel Paraiso Huasteco
#1 of 5 in Tamazunchale
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puerta del Cielo
Puerta del Cielo
#6 of 14 in Xilitla
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posada Familiar El Dorado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada El Castillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada El Castillo

Property: Posada El Castillo
Address: Calle Melchor Ocampo 105, Xilitla 79900, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > San Luis Potosi > Xilitla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xilitla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada El Castillo 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Posada El Castillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castillo Hotel Xilitla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing