We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful retreat, minutes from downtown”
Review of Hostal Las Cupulas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Las Cupulas
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A peaceful retreat, minutes from downtown”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Raintree Las Cupulas is a terrific find for travelers who are looking for a charming and immaculate place to sleep, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The rooms are large, comfortable and tastefully decorated with Oaxacan flair. There is a lovely rooftop deck with pretty views of the mountains. The Zocalo is a short, 7 mile bus ride away. The bus stop is on the corner and for 6 pesos, it's an inexpensive way to get to town. In comparison, a cab ride is 50 pesos. Even though the hotel is far from the city center, we found that after a day of shopping and sightseeing, it was nice to get away from the traffic and noise. There is no café on the property but around the corner, is the upscale hotel, Los Laureles. The setting is gorgeous and the food is amazing. The staff at Raintree Las Cupulas is terrific, helpful and friendly. If you take any tours, make sure to go with Jose Maria who works with the hotel. He is knowledgeable, prompt and personable. As a bonus, his van is spotless and his client's safety and comfort always come first.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We just spent a nice peaceful week at this small hostel thru our timeshare, Raintree. Only one staff member spoke English but were very friendly. A chef came to cook breakfast around 8:00 a.m., you got coffee, a fruit plate and an omelet for 65 pesos. You are allowed to use the pool at a neighbor hostel. We took 3 day tours with Jose and enjoyed the country side and culture, although tours got too large and too long in the day. Our room was comfortable, bed good and room did not smell musty like some in Mexico. I would stay here again. Not many restaurants in neighborhood. The markets in Oaxaca City are great for prices and a variety of items, good buys, our suitcases are stuffed.

Room Tip: we had a room with a cupulas, which was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

A Raintree timeshare resort that rents extra days to non-timeshare folks, this was a very reasonable option in what can be an expensive Oaxaca tourist area. $89 per night for a two double-bed room with separate bathroom with shower. Water pressure in shower good, with plenty of hot water available throughout the day/evening. Very clean rooms and linens, hair dryer, shampoo/conditioner/soap, television, phone, ceiling fans and wall-mounted a/c. Water not potable, but housekeeping provides two bottles of bottled water daily. (There are markets within a block or two where you can buy additional water as needed.) There is a small cafe on site that provides breakfast Sunday through Friday, with items from pancakes to egg dishes, chilaquiles, etc., but there is no meal service available for lunch or dinner any day of the week. There are a couple of restaurants nearby, a small local inexpensive place three blocks away, or a fairly expensive restaurant at the Los Laurelos hotel facility three or four blocks away. There is a nice area on the top floor of the facility where you can sit and visit and catch a good glimpse of the surrounding area. There were noisy dogs in the area, but they usually quieted down by bedtime. You can get a taxi to the airport from this location for 150 pesos, or a more comfortable van for about 360 pesos. The best deal is that you are only one block from the bus line, which for 5.5 pesos you can get from the city of San Felipe Del Agua to anywhere in downtown Oaxaca in about 20 minutes. There is internet access and a PC on site and printing of boarding passes is free. The staff is wonderful, most speak at least passable English, and they have access to local tour guides (try Sr. Juan Barenna) if that is of interest. Overall a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Most rooms are quiet, best on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caljogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Hostal las Cupulas was most of what it was advertised. Beautiful, out of the way and slightly expensive. The staff was kind and welcoming, but not greatly helpful or accurate on their recommendations. Additionally, the information packet that we were given by the hotel contained so many errors that it rendered the information basically useless.

Breakfast at the hotel cafe was tasty, cheap and filling, a gem not advertised well pre-arrival. The photos on the Raintree website for the hotel imply a view not really enjoyed by the hotel, plan to look onto the courtyard or neighborhood buildings - not a breathtaking mountain view. Transportation into the city is easily achieved by a 5.50 peso bus ride or a 50 peso cab ride.

As a Spanish speaker, I found it easier to get around the neighborhood and work with the hotel staff. However some of the English only speaking guests I noticed were having some trouble, and were frustrated by the wrong information given them. The tours that can be arranged with Jose Maria were exceptional for their bilingual accessibility. He's a real gem.

All in all, the stay was uneventful and the rooms great (other than the nightly non-stop chorus of dogs... out of the hotel's element of control). I enjoyed my stay but would recommend that most people stay closer to the action unless seeking a get-away from the city at the end of each day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midlfig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

My friend and I came to Las Cupulas through a timeshare trade. When we arrived on Saturday evening we were taken to our room, and although we had emailed three times stating and confirming that we needed a room with two beds, we were shown a room with one king. We explained that this would not work for us, and the manager, Rafael came to the hotel and took us to another hotel that had two beds for us. The next day we left early and our bags were moved back to Las Cupulas and placed in a room with two beds. Rafael himself drove us to the other hotel and was very apologetic. What could have been an uncomfortable situation, was made right by the manager.

Las Cupulas is spotless. The rooms are spacious. The staff did everything to make our stay comfortable (they were all incredible) and provided us with everything we needed. The staff spoke excellent English. Orlando especially was wonderful and saw to our every need.

We were given a recommendation for tours. Rodolfo Juarez from Jade was tops. He accommodated us by customizing our tours to fit our needs. He speaks perfect English, knows the area to recommend half or full days tours, and is quite handsome too! We would highly recommend his services for tours.

Las Cupulas is off the beaten path. It is located in the residential neighborhood, so it is nice and quiet. There is a city bus (4.50 pesos) that stops a half block away to take you into town, or you can get a taxi (40 pesos) to take you to or from town.

Las Cupulas was a great experience and I highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robinr328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Felipe del Agua
0.4 mi away
Hotel Angel Inn
Hotel Angel Inn
#1 of 1 in San Felipe del Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Oaxaca
Hotel Villa Oaxaca
#14 of 113 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Casa de Adobe
La Casa de Adobe
#42 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Bonita Hotel Boutique and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Los Laureles Spa
3.1 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 113 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Cupulas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Cupulas

Property: Hostal Las Cupulas
Address: Calle Iturbide No 213-A, San Felipe del Agua 68020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > San Felipe del Agua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in San Felipe del Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Las Cupulas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Las Cupulas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Las Cupulas San Felipe Del Agua, Oaxaca, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing