We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Luquillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2010

The Luquillo Sunrise surpassed our expectations, especially when compared to the other places we stayed at around Puerto Rico that were similarly priced. The motel-style hotel was clean, the public computer was brand new and updated, the breakfast included pancakes, bacon, breads and fruits plus drinks. The amazingly friendly and informative front desk help gave us a three-page written summary of where everything was in town, and the conference room had menus and commentary from years of previous guests that helped us choose restaurants and travel excursion companies. Unbelievably, they also lend guests beach chairs and beach towels so you don't have to bring your own!! There was secure parking for the car, which could be key in the area. They let you print boarding passes for free, too. This is not a sterile Sheraton but it was quite clean and nice, with a balcony facing the ocean in our third-floor room. We chatted with other guests at a long shared table during breakfast.

The B7B is located on a surf beach in Luquillo, one of the most beautiful beaches on the north side of PR. There's a surf shop a block away. Walking down the successive beaches you encounter a surf beach out front, then a reef (good to snorkel, they explained, but you must be a strong swimmer), then a semi-calm bay beach, then a very calm public beach with full facilities. On the day we were there it was clean and full of families. You are near enough to Fajardo that you can drive for 30 minutes to the area where all the kayak tours leave in the evening to tour the bioluminescent bay, which I would definitely recommend as an outing. The entry to El Yunque forest is quite close, also. You could easily be based in Luquillo and do El Yunque.

Within Luquillo is a famous strip of beachside kiosk restaurants that open both to a street and to the beach. We ate at a burger kiosk because our son was getting tired of mofungos and other local foods. The menus are semi-gourmet and highly varied among the kiosks. You could walk there from the B&B but you might want to drive. I understand that the whole area is very busy on weekends although it was quite quiet a lunchtime on a weekday.

My one complaint would be that the AC blew on my head while we slept. I suppose I could have turned it down. There's also a ceiling fan.

Highly recommended if you like small, well-located, friendly places.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelswrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 752 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2010

Marsha (sp?), Gary, and Demian (sp?) were absolutely wonderful hosts - the accommodations of the Green Room were great. Relaxing, private, peaceful, comfortable, and clean. All staff were helpful and welcoming, the breakfast hostesses (especially Seli) were incredibly informative when we inquired about area restaurants, transport to scenic areas, rainforest, and beaches. Other guests were friendly but respected our space. Pricing was reasonable and worth every penny. Requests for any extra towels, etc. was immediately attended to. I would recommend the Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn without question to anyone visiting the area and when we return we will be requesting the Green Room again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

If you plan to spend time in Luquillo or the surrounding area, this is a great place to stay! It is a small hotel with a very welcoming, informative staff and each room has a balcony with a splendid view of the surf and sea. We were lucky enough to catch a beautiful rainbow over the water just after a rainfall. The beach in front is really for surfers but the big, calm public beach (with a lovely ring of palm trees) is not too far away. Unfortunately, the recent rainstorms prevented us from taking the nature walk (unavailable) to look for turtle nests or iguanas, so we’ll have to do that on our next visit! A nice hot breakfast is provided on the terrace (the scrambled egg pita pizza was original and delicious) along with pastries, fruit, and juice. We enjoyed chatting with the ever-smiling kitchen staff as well as with Maria who warmly greeted us upon arrival and with Damian who kindly showed us the best route to see the spectacular cliffs and sea views on the southern coastline as we traveled to Ponce. The room and bath were clean and just fine, and there is also free internet use and lots of useful information in the breakfast area. You can fall asleep to the sound of the surf, even with the AC on. The secured parking lot is also a plus but the immediate area appeared very quiet and safe. As others have stated, there is a great restaurant, Pasta y Pueblo, right around the corner (and many kiosco restaurants down the main road). This hotel is the perfect base for visits to El Yunque and Fajardo attractions (make sure there is no full moon if you want to go to the biobay). I am sure that you will enjoy your visit to the Sunrise Inn!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldieSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

First thing we were told was that a Leatherback turtle had laid it's eggs on the beach across from the Inn the night before. The beach that I saw outside my second story window was a surfing beach-La Pared. Winds were heavy at times but this made for a comfortable experience as it was getting warm. The owners, Marsha and Gary, are very layed back and meet you for your breakfast--continental and hot--(included ) upstairs on the half covered patio. They have information on restaurants-- including sample menus, bio tours,and even have Iguana siting tours--Gary walks interested folks down the beach to a grove of tree ferns, tropical trees and an inland river, where you can take pics of Iguanas from 1 ft to 4-5 ft in length hiding amongst the folliage..They even have notebooks that visitors have written their reviews of the local attractions in which we found very helpful. This is a comfortable, well maintained, well constructed --so that not a window shook as the winds pummeled the inn--modern facility with Hispanic flare. You are just about 10 minutes to the entrance of El Junque. These folks know this territory and are very interested in making your experience once in a lifetime!

Stayed: May 2010
Thank rupemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We had about a week to relax near a beach and couldn't think of a better way than what we got. Away from the urban clamour but close enough to purchase usual supplies(Walgreens etc) and just over from the beach. The balcony view made the value great, and then came the cleanliness, breakfast and excellent basic amenities that often go unthought of, such as the ice bucket and ice supply. Excellent information, from local attractions, food services, traffic guide, local environment and policy, was provided in both references in the common area and by word of mouth from the wonderfully welcoming and knowledgable hosts. It was too easy to sink into comfortable privacy and then to emerge into a laid back scene with other guests and the town. And if La Pared is firing at 6-8, the view down the line doesn't need to get any better than from the balcony (Keep an eye out for the neat little peeling left reef to the balcony view's left).

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP2010Mpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

My husband and I returned after a great visit last year to stay again for 3 days this May. We found the same helpful staff to provide useful information about places to go and suggestions galore on where to eat. The third floor balcony room offered a wonderful view of the Atlantic and its pounding surf where the young guys tried out their boards. Our room was spotless, large and furnished in modest style. Our queen bed was comfortable. I appreciated having the lock box to secure valuables (mostly computer stuff).
It took us about 45 mins. to drive from the airport and though it's tricky to find the place the first time, follow their directions and you'll be fine.
We went to El Yunque Rain Forest, San Juan, and the Isle of Viequez during our stay.The inn is near the famous kiosks of Loquillo. While we didn't eat there last year because they looked, well, dukmpy, we asked for staff's recommendations and ate at #9 and went back a second time. We tried the Luqillo Beach Park for an afternoon. It's a blue flag beach (one of the better ones on the island) near the kiosks. Water was wonderful. We also took advantage of a laudromat nearby that Demian knew. (Again, tricky to find tucked in a plaza but his directions were correct.) The inn's location made these visits easy.

We were fortunate to meet the owners, Marsha and Gary, who joined guests for a hot breakfast ( yum) during their visit. Hardworking people dedicated to keeping the hotel in great shape. We stayed in PR 10 days this visit and hope to return next year and make this hotel our home base.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LimekilnLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We spent two nights at Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn, coming in to SJU, first night out to Vieques for the Biobay, then an easy day and off around the island. We didn't require much more than a safe and relatively comfortable place to sleep, with parking. We found a lot more, though: very nice people, very comfortable accommodations, an excellent hot breakfast included in the price of the room, and discounts to activities in the area - including the tour we had already booked to the Biobay, saving us $10 apiece.

Beach towels are provided free, and the office even has cold Medallas for $2 each, which was most welcome when we got back from our trip to Vieques at midnight but still wanted to sit on the balcony, which is within 75 feet of the beach, for a while. There's no refrigerator or microwave in the room, but we iced down the bottle of juice we bought in the ice bucket. And there's juice for breakfast anyway.

We were on the third floor, and had a wonderful sunrise view. It was very nice in the evening as well. As two middle-aged women, we were a little put off by three flights of stairs with no elevator, but Ed the handyman helped us with the big suitcase, and the view was worth it. He and everyone there was very helpful and informative, and they have notebooks full of information about restaurants and activities in the area in the breakfast room - which is itself delightful, basically a covered cabana on the second floor terrace. There is a long table for those feeling companionable, and a couple of smaller ones for those less sociable at breakfast.

The parking is right in front, very near the stairways, and behind a gate, with remote provided. There aren't quite as many spaces as rooms, but the area seems pretty safe to leave a car on the street if the lot is full.

Overall, we had a great time here and definitely recommend it to those who don't need a lot of extras, just a comfortable room with a great view and a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slc624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luquillo
6.0 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
998 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Yunque Mar
Hotel Yunque Mar
#2 of 3 in Luquillo
221 reviews
20.7 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
7.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
2.7 mi away
Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn

Address: A3 Ocean Blvd, Luquillo 00773-2264, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Luquillo
Price Range: $85 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn offers an exceptional value for budget minded travelers. This Bed & Breakfast is located on a stretch of Puerto Rico's famous Luquillo Beach where surfers can often be seen riding the waves. Luquillo Sunrise Beach inn is also only 45 minutes from San Juan International Airport, and just minutes away from Fajardo, where guests can find a multitude of water sports available. All of our rooms feature balconies facing the ocean where our guests can enjoy the fresh tradewind breeze and sound of the surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Hotel Luquillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing