We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places I have ever stayed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Luquillo
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
1 review
“One of the best places I have ever stayed!”
Reviewed December 4, 2009

We stayed in the green room with our 10 and 14 year old. It was extremely clean. We loved the privacy of this unit. The yard was fantastic and a great place to relax (or chase lizards on the exterior walls). Breakfast was fantastic with a bounty of continental items plus a hot breakfast of the day was included in the room rate. No one will walk away hungry after breakfast. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. we don't have one negative thing to say about Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn.
We also took advantage of the Spread Eagle snorkeling trip. This was awesome and definitely the highlight of our adventures.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ealane135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    204
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
168
423
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Place is right on beach. Surfer beach, so waves were big. Desk has boogie boards/snorkeling gear to rent. Breakfast included. Clean room, internet access. My teenagers loved the waves. Sherry and Demian, very knowledgable and helpful with directions, attractions and setting up tours. Best place in town. Beach is not crowded at all. Surfer shop right down street for board rental. Walgreen and grocery nearby. Not easy to find in dark. You will need a car.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpjMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Our experience here was fantastic, and I would highly recommend the Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn. The location is perfect, across the street from the ocean and just a short walk from a beautiful beach for swimming. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. If I go back to Puerto Rico, this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuzzDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Not much to add from other reviews. Just wanted to chime in and say our experience was awesome. The review from everyone else was right on the money.

The beach that across the street is ok but worth the drive to Balneario Luquillo, it's very close. This beach is the best. The kioskos are nearby and the food is to die for. It's a must. We stayed on both sides of the island and it was great being able to see the sunset at El Combate on the east and sunrise at Luquillo on the west. The service is great...very friendly, room was very clean and the breakfast....made to order.

You owe it to yourself to check it out....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xjfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

The overall feel of this place is friendly and laid back. They are very eco-conscious. The proximity to the beach is nice. The town itself feels a little sad, though. I was a little diappointed that while sitting down on the balcony we couldn't see the beach (the ledge is high, so I'd have had to sat on phonebooks or something, and I'm about 5' 6"). I love balconies, and a large draw for me was the thought of sitting on the balcony, sipping a nice drink with my sweety, and watching the sunset/rise. No such luck. BUT they do have a lovely terrace where they serve breakfast (lots of yummy fruit!). One lady is originally Venezuelan and very friendly. She loves to chat with people, which is nice most of the time (except when there are people waiting in line to talk to her to check in/check out/ask a question...etc.). The room was nice-- clean and pretty, but nothing to set it apart from other good rooms. I'm just mostly bummed about the balcony!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FroggerDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Luquillo Sunrise is a great place to stay. It's across from the ocean, and a short drive to El Yunque and the Bioluminescent bay. Breakfast was quite good. The surrounding neighborhood is a bit deserted at night, but we definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripsterBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We are so thankful that we found this hotel! It's friendly, helpful staff really helped make our trip wonderful with great suggestions for activities, restaurants, and directions. It's not a "resort style" hotel, but that's not what we were looking for... we wanted quick beach access, clean rooms, and helpful service - and that's exactly what we got and more!

Damian at the front desk helped us out tremendously. In fact, we originally had reservations at another hotel in the area which didn't work out... so at the last minute we called Luquillo (they'd been booked when I originally contacted them). Damian worked it out and was able to get us in, even though the hotel was booked pretty solidly for the entire week.

The rooms are basic, but comfortable and clean. All of the rooms in the "main building" have a balcony looking out at the ocean (and what a great view it is!!) except for the two rooms on the ground floor. Even so, they're close to the ocean too!

There is a building behind the main one which has around 4 - 5 rooms as well... and what they lack in ocean view is made up for by being extremely spacious and in a lovely garden setting. They're even "eco-friendly" rooms using solar power for a portion of their energy, if I'm remembering this correctly. We toured one that had a kitchen and living room, plus patio... it would be great for a family to spread out and really enjoy each other.

The rate includes a nice hot breakfast with accompanying pastries, cereal, coffee / tea / juice ~ all served on the second floor terrace looking over the ocean. This is a great place to mingle with other guests, but you can also find your own quiet table. Much like a B&B experience. They have creative entrees that are brought to you personally, but the rest is self -serve. Otherwise, there is no on-site restaurant... nor is there much that's within walking distance.

However, keep in mind that within a couple minutes' drive, there's the AMAZING collection of "kioskos" along the public beach! They have everything from a sit-down "nice" restaurant which takes credit cards, to sidle-up-to-the-bar pool table restaurants, to wonderful traditional Puerto Rican food stalls. It's a pleasant hour's walk along the beach from the hotel if you want to make an afternoon of it, or just a couple minutes in the car if you just can't wait. There's only one restaurant which takes credit cards (the first one at the far left) so remember to bring cash to those.

The beach is wonderful, too! It's directly across the quiet otherwise residential street, and the hotel will offer chairs, towels and boogie boards. To the right is La Perla / the Wall where you will see surfers enjoying some nice surf. Beyond that by around a quarter mile is a long stretch of undeveloped, pristine beach which is a Turtle nesting ground at certain times of the year. To the left is a fantastic walk as well along 2 - 3 large coves with some hotels but still pretty unspoiled in places. Coral lines the shore, and after a nice walk you will come up to the kiosks on the main public beach. There you can rent equipment for various sporting events.

While the hotel is in a quiet, pleasant neighborhood and you'll need a car to get around, it's centrally located along the northeast coast with quick access to the main roads east, west and south to all the main activities like the rain forest, snorkeling/scuba, and kayaking. In the town which surrounds the neighborhood you can find larger stores like Walgreens, etc for necessities you might have forgotten... but you're not at all stuck in a commercial zone once you're at the hotel.

The hotel overall is an excellent value! We absolutely plan to return.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josunae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luquillo
6.0 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
992 reviews
7.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
24.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
6.0 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
6.0 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn

Property: Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
Address: A3 Ocean Blvd, Luquillo 00773-2264, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Luquillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn offers an exceptional value for budget minded travelers. This Bed & Breakfast is located on a stretch of Puerto Rico's famous Luquillo Beach where surfers can often be seen riding the waves. Luquillo Sunrise Beach inn is also only 45 minutes from San Juan International Airport, and just minutes away from Fajardo, where guests can find a multitude of water sports available. All of our rooms feature balconies facing the ocean where our guests can enjoy the fresh tradewind breeze and sound of the surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Hotel Luquillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing