We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family hotel with exceptional service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Luquillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We are so thankful that we found this hotel! It's friendly, helpful staff really helped make our trip wonderful with great suggestions for activities, restaurants, and directions. It's not a "resort style" hotel, but that's not what we were looking for... we wanted quick beach access, clean rooms, and helpful service - and that's exactly what we got and more!

Damian at the front desk helped us out tremendously. In fact, we originally had reservations at another hotel in the area which didn't work out... so at the last minute we called Luquillo (they'd been booked when I originally contacted them). Damian worked it out and was able to get us in, even though the hotel was booked pretty solidly for the entire week.

The rooms are basic, but comfortable and clean. All of the rooms in the "main building" have a balcony looking out at the ocean (and what a great view it is!!) except for the two rooms on the ground floor. Even so, they're close to the ocean too!

There is a building behind the main one which has around 4 - 5 rooms as well... and what they lack in ocean view is made up for by being extremely spacious and in a lovely garden setting. They're even "eco-friendly" rooms using solar power for a portion of their energy, if I'm remembering this correctly. We toured one that had a kitchen and living room, plus patio... it would be great for a family to spread out and really enjoy each other.

The rate includes a nice hot breakfast with accompanying pastries, cereal, coffee / tea / juice ~ all served on the second floor terrace looking over the ocean. This is a great place to mingle with other guests, but you can also find your own quiet table. Much like a B&B experience. They have creative entrees that are brought to you personally, but the rest is self -serve. Otherwise, there is no on-site restaurant... nor is there much that's within walking distance.

However, keep in mind that within a couple minutes' drive, there's the AMAZING collection of "kioskos" along the public beach! They have everything from a sit-down "nice" restaurant which takes credit cards, to sidle-up-to-the-bar pool table restaurants, to wonderful traditional Puerto Rican food stalls. It's a pleasant hour's walk along the beach from the hotel if you want to make an afternoon of it, or just a couple minutes in the car if you just can't wait. There's only one restaurant which takes credit cards (the first one at the far left) so remember to bring cash to those.

The beach is wonderful, too! It's directly across the quiet otherwise residential street, and the hotel will offer chairs, towels and boogie boards. To the right is La Perla / the Wall where you will see surfers enjoying some nice surf. Beyond that by around a quarter mile is a long stretch of undeveloped, pristine beach which is a Turtle nesting ground at certain times of the year. To the left is a fantastic walk as well along 2 - 3 large coves with some hotels but still pretty unspoiled in places. Coral lines the shore, and after a nice walk you will come up to the kiosks on the main public beach. There you can rent equipment for various sporting events.

While the hotel is in a quiet, pleasant neighborhood and you'll need a car to get around, it's centrally located along the northeast coast with quick access to the main roads east, west and south to all the main activities like the rain forest, snorkeling/scuba, and kayaking. In the town which surrounds the neighborhood you can find larger stores like Walgreens, etc for necessities you might have forgotten... but you're not at all stuck in a commercial zone once you're at the hotel.

The hotel overall is an excellent value! We absolutely plan to return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josunae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 754 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

My Husband and I stayed 9/25-9/27 before our cruise, We rented a car at the airport as we wanted to see the rain forest during our stay which was only 15 minutes away.
When we arrived at the inn we were greeted by Maria who made sure we had everything we needed!
The breakfasts were delicious and the service was top notch!
I had the pleasure of meeting the owners Gary & Marsha, they are from PA also where I live!
The beach across the street is glorious to just sit and watch the surfers, swimmers and even a dog playing fetch with a coconut (too funny)
Our room was spotless and the balcony was heaven to sit and watch the world go by..
The entire staff made our stay extra special!
Just a note about dining, we ate at the kioskos the first night and choose #2 La Parilla - very slow service and too expensive for that location.
On the second night we walked to the right and around the corner of the inn and there was a little place called Pasta y Pueblo, Freddy is the chef and owner. He greets every customer and makes a delicious Mahi dish with coconut rice for very little money!
I had the skirt steak with penne & pesto, WOW!

I highly reccommend this little slice of heaven to everyone!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gammieiscruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

If you're looking for posh accommodations in a luxurious setting, this is not the hotel for you. If you're a simple traveler looking for a clean, hospitable place to stay on the beach in a path-less-traveled part of town, then this is the place! The hotel is located in a neighborhood. Directly across the street is a beautiful beach used by the locals. The nightlife in the area is lacking, so you'll need to drive to find things to do and places to eat. The room was clean. The breakfasts were wonderful. We loved staying at the Luquillo Sunrise. It fit our personality perfectly.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daranaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

The service was the best I have experienced in a hotel. View was perfect! Breakfast was fantastic. No complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motofreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We booked 10 days at this inn as well as 4 nites in a resort in San Juan. Our entire family misses and reminisces about our experience- which was merely a week ago! The staff was so warm and helpful, the rooms perfectly suited and affordable for a family with 3 children, and the price was right. Could not recommend this place enough!
The glitz of the resort in San Juan paled to our experience in Luquillo- if the inn had a pool it would have been complete paradise. But, who can complain when the beach is right across the street!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thekvetches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We had a great time staying at the Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. They set up each of our excursions (snorkeling, Vieques bio-bay) and gave us directions to El Yunque and helpful hints about where to dine. Rooms were a little spartan but very clean. Make sure to check out their website for deals/specials.

People are correct in that beach out front is not for lounging. It's a surfer's beach. The Luquillo blue flag beach is a short car ride away and it's gorgeous! The surrounding neighborhood is a little run-down but safe. Overall, we had a very nice relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wein2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Sunrise Beach Inn - the staff was very friendly, and they assisted us with setting up activities in the area. We had a beautiful view of the beach/ocean from our room, which is right across the street. After a morning breakfast on the patio, we enjoyed a number of activities in the nearby area. These included hiking in El Yunque rainforest, sailing/snorkeling out of Fajardo, horsebacking riding at Hacienda Carabali, and just walking the beach. We highly recommend a stay at the Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn when you are in Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNJim_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luquillo
6 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,003 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Yunque Mar
Hotel Yunque Mar
#2 of 3 in Luquillo
221 reviews
102.1 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
100.8 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
7.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
0.6 mi away
Ocean Pearl
Ocean Pearl
#3 of 3 in Luquillo
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn

Address: A3 Ocean Blvd, Luquillo 00773-2264, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Luquillo
Price Range: $85 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn offers an exceptional value for budget minded travelers. This Bed & Breakfast is located on a stretch of Puerto Rico's famous Luquillo Beach where surfers can often be seen riding the waves. Luquillo Sunrise Beach inn is also only 45 minutes from San Juan International Airport, and just minutes away from Fajardo, where guests can find a multitude of water sports available. All of our rooms feature balconies facing the ocean where our guests can enjoy the fresh tradewind breeze and sound of the surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Hotel Luquillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing