We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most wonderful people and place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Luquillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our family including two teenagers had an incredible stay here! This is the first review I have ever written. We were helped by the most amazing people there, and looked forward to each full breakfast of comfort food. Some of our happiest memories were sitting on the porch, talking with the people that work there. We were made to feel like family on New Years Eve and enjoyed celebrations at the gourmet pasta place next door that we could not stop going back to.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 752 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was probably one of the most welcoming hotels ever. It's cute & clean, and feels like a bed & breakfast should: cozy, hospitable, and relaxing (with a really yummy breakfast!). We had a gorgeous view of the beach, and I loved that we could use their beach chairs & beach towels. The staff treats you like GOLD -- I literally wanted to hug all of them when we left! It was an absolutely fantastic experience, and we would go back again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cosmundson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My friend and I spent several nights here on our trip to Puerto Rico back in February 2011. Although it is not a fancy place and if you can overlook the plastic plants in your room, it was inexpensive, friendly, and popular with an international clientele. We had the suite on the ground level with its own private entrance, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a sitting room, and a kitchenette. Best of all, its had its own huge covered terrace (see photograph) with solid tables and chairs for dining al fresco. It also overlooked the surfing beach.

Breakfasts consisted of the usual cereal, fruit, yogurt, and a hot, cooked-to-order Puerto Rican egg dish, and was more than adequate.

It was a great place to spend some time, relaxing at the beach or hiking at the Junque National Forest just a short drive away. I do not recommend swimming from the beach in front of the inn, unless you are a good swimmer or a surfer--it is also too close to the road for comfort. The nearby Balneario Luquilo (the most famous public beach in Puerto Rico), however, is gorgeous and has beautiful sandy beaches, with life-guards on duty, plus the views from there of the bay are magnificent. An ice-cream man comes round periodically, and, if he does while you are there, I recommend ordering the mango sorbet. Very refreshing and delicious! But don't miss the rain forest and the interpretive center at Junque, while you are at the Sunrise Beach!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bear59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Location was good for our activities. Secure parking was a huge worry off my mind. Nice view of beach. Good breakfast, though not available til 8am or so. Nice people, beach towels and chairs available, good information on surrounding activities and restaurants. Bed was a bit uncomfortable and rough sheets, no bath tub, but all in all a very good experience outside the "resort" type of stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JYCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were in PR for a week and stayed at the Sunrise Inn. This is only my second review I have ever done in my life. This is how great this place was. If you are resort people, this is not the place for you. But if you like an extremely clean place, awesome free breakfast, and a group of the happiest women you will ever meet, the Sunrise Inn is your place. Great location for an off the beaten path adventure trip, or relaxation on the beach across the street. Do the nature walk. It is really pretty. They were even accommodating on our diving days. We had to miss breakfast 3 days of our trip and they provided us with a "diver's breakfast" of an apple and granola bar the night before. There were a lot of people out at night partying (we were there Memorial weekend) and we couldn't hear them from our street side room. We felt safe walking around at night to grab dinner. Close drive to El Yunque and Fajardo. Gated parking was a plus! But the best part was coming back to your room and having staff say hello with genuine smiles, not snarky attitudes and greedy, uncomfortable tip wanting looks from resort employees. Traveling is about embracing the culture you are in and at the Sunrise Inn, you get Puerto Rican culture at its best.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid-July this year. I can only say that we had a wonderful time. Mario, Maria and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms were very clean, everything in the hotel worked great. The owners take great pride in making sure everything stays up to date and is in great working condition.

I heartily recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get away. The beach is directly across the street and there is always a beautiful breeze blowing to keep you cool.

Breakfast was good,not great. Towels and beach chairs are available at no charge. They helped us book a last minute snorkeling trip as it seems everything was booked. They even let us shower and change even though we have checked out that morning. For those that didn't like the neighborhood, well, it's Puerto Rico. I felt safe walking around at night and everyone was very friendly.

It total, this is just the kind of place that I like, small, homey, clean and friendly. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

we truly enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer. the staff was gracious and aiming to please us. the rooms were well cleaned and nicely furnished. Breakfast was always a treat. we especially enjoyed having the beach outside our front door. (the owners) gary and marsha were very pleasant and we thoroughly enjoyed them meeting with the guests at breakfast. We shall be back again. Thank You, Randy and Leslie(Lancaster,Pa.)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luquillo
6 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,001 reviews
20.7 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Yunque Mar
Hotel Yunque Mar
#2 of 3 in Luquillo
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
375 reviews
2.7 mi away
Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar
5.8 mi away
Melia Coco Beach
Melia Coco Beach
#4 of 4 in Rio Grande
6,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn

Address: A3 Ocean Blvd, Luquillo 00773-2264, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Luquillo
Price Range: $85 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn offers an exceptional value for budget minded travelers. This Bed & Breakfast is located on a stretch of Puerto Rico's famous Luquillo Beach where surfers can often be seen riding the waves. Luquillo Sunrise Beach inn is also only 45 minutes from San Juan International Airport, and just minutes away from Fajardo, where guests can find a multitude of water sports available. All of our rooms feature balconies facing the ocean where our guests can enjoy the fresh tradewind breeze and sound of the surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Hotel Luquillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing