We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, especially for the price!”
Review of Hotel Yunque Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Yunque Mar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Luquillo
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place, especially for the price!”
Reviewed April 29, 2010

This is a basic and very clean hotel, with a lovely pool. The beach is limited but the ocean is right there. We found a fabulous birding guide through the hotel and everyone was very friendly and helpful. Nothing fancy, but we've never had anyone scramble breakfast eggs for us at a Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SparkyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    80
    31
    22
    16
See reviews for
52
95
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

I booked an ocean-view room for our honeymoon more than a month in advance. When we arrived, the only rooms remaining were a ground-floor pool-view and a second-floor with two full beds. Moral of the story: Call to confirm twice if you have special requests. Bright points were helpful staff, good restaurants a 5-minute drive away, and a cooked-to-order hot breakfast included. But be aware that the beach in front of the hotel is a little rough around the edges.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepid42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

When we booked here we were trying to be a little adventurous. We chose this over the resort just to the northeast because we wanted to be on the beach but not have to pay for a room that we wouldn't be spending much time in. Which is just what we did. This is the perfect location to visit El Yunque, Fajardo (Bioluminescent Bay and Ferry), Luquillo Beach, Seven Seas Beach, Vieques, Culebra and Old San Juan...which is what we did.

The rooms are decently sized with only the basics plus a balcony. Being able to hear the crash of the waves all the time was really nice. The breakfast in the morning was perfect for us (coffee, OJ, pancakes and eggs) and while the neighborhood was a little sketchy, we quickly found out that it was A LOT nicer than some of the other neighborhoods in the surrounding areas. There were NOT a lot of random locals hanging around and we never felt unsafe. We envisioned being able to walk to Luquillo beach or to the resort's beach but never had time to do that since we spent the time driving to different places.

The beach at this time of year was not good for sitting and relaxing becuase it literally came right up to the hotel. It was great for relaxing on the patio overlooking the water but not for jumping in.

The staff was very accomodating and friendly and we had a great time.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank barneyho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Clean, quiet place with friendly staff. They let me use the kitchen to heat up some left overs and gave great advice when asked.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertocollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Easy to find, Sandra was very good at giving directions. Room we stayed in let you hear the crashing waves. Footsteps away from the beach, although the waves were too rough the day we stayed. There is a pool. Conveniently located close to the Yunque and Luquillo Beach, we payed around $100 (without breakfast). Can't really complain. May go back

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latina3383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2009

wonderful hotel clean and nice people working there they make you feel at home we will be back Sandra and her crew are wonderful thank you for a wonderful experience Chamaco and Liz orlando fla

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floidabeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We were very excited to find a beachfront hotel on the northeast coast, at a reasonable rate. However, when we arrived we decided to cancel our reservation after viewing the room, the beach, and the surrounding neighborhood.

The room (ocean front suite with mini-kitchen) was large and had a beach-front view, but it was extremely musty and damp. We walked out to the balcony, and saw abandoned properties along the beach ~ which was littered with trash. We didn't feel we would be comforable walking on the beach in the area. While there was a nice pool on the property, we really wanted to take advantage of being on the beach.

On a positive note, the owners were understanding when we cancelled. We did pay for a single night's stay which had been our deposit. We were able to find accommodations within a couple miles that had a much cleaner beach and updated, (non-musty) rooms ~ so losing the deposit at Yunque Mar was worth it to us.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josunae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luquillo
1.9 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
7.9 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
986 reviews
5.3 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Melia Coco Beach
Melia Coco Beach
#4 of 4 in Rio Grande
6,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yunque Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yunque Mar

Property: Hotel Yunque Mar
Address: 6 Calle 1 | Fortuna Playa, Luquillo 00773, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Luquillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Yunque Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Yunque Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yunque Mar Hotel
Yunque Mar Luquillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing