We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yunque Mar, on the beach, at the doorstep to the El Yunque Park, Sweet”
Review of Hotel Yunque Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Yunque Mar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Luquillo
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
188 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Yunque Mar, on the beach, at the doorstep to the El Yunque Park, Sweet”
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Clean, quiet place with friendly staff. They let me use the kitchen to heat up some left overs and gave great advice when asked.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertocollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    80
    31
    22
    16
See reviews for
52
95
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Easy to find, Sandra was very good at giving directions. Room we stayed in let you hear the crashing waves. Footsteps away from the beach, although the waves were too rough the day we stayed. There is a pool. Conveniently located close to the Yunque and Luquillo Beach, we payed around $100 (without breakfast). Can't really complain. May go back

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latina3383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2009

wonderful hotel clean and nice people working there they make you feel at home we will be back Sandra and her crew are wonderful thank you for a wonderful experience Chamaco and Liz orlando fla

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floidabeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We were very excited to find a beachfront hotel on the northeast coast, at a reasonable rate. However, when we arrived we decided to cancel our reservation after viewing the room, the beach, and the surrounding neighborhood.

The room (ocean front suite with mini-kitchen) was large and had a beach-front view, but it was extremely musty and damp. We walked out to the balcony, and saw abandoned properties along the beach ~ which was littered with trash. We didn't feel we would be comforable walking on the beach in the area. While there was a nice pool on the property, we really wanted to take advantage of being on the beach.

On a positive note, the owners were understanding when we cancelled. We did pay for a single night's stay which had been our deposit. We were able to find accommodations within a couple miles that had a much cleaner beach and updated, (non-musty) rooms ~ so losing the deposit at Yunque Mar was worth it to us.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josunae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2009

This place has very clean and neat rooms that are well appointed, views to die for, staff that is accomodating and takes time to chat or find you the wine opener you so desperately desire! They are minutes away from restaurants, a warm water ocean, horseback riding, a super market or a fun club where you can dance! Do yourself a favor and book your room there-you will not regret it!!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kargo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Ohio
Level Contributor
263 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

This is not the greatest hotel I've ever stayed at but it was clean, quiet, reasonably priced, close to the rain forest and bio bay tour and it had the added benefit of having an ocean view balcony and air conditioning. The room had a double bed covered with only a sheet--no bedspread, there were was a table but only one chair (strange) and also only one chair on our balcony, so we moved chairs in and out a lot so that we could both sit at the same time. The hotel provided towels but no washcloths. Everything was clean and the room was adequate for a 2-night stay. The staff was very nice and helpful. It is located in a crowded residential area but has it's own parking lot across the small street. Our room overlooked the ocean plus some run-down buildings but in some ways that was a plus because it gave us a glimpse into how average puerto ricans live. It sits right on the beach and has its own pool. I had chosen the "ocean view" room instead of the "ocean & pool view" thinking that I might be getting a more direct view of the ocean. This is not the case. The ocean is on the north side of the hotel. The "ocean view" rooms look toward the west with a view of the ocean and neighboring homes. The "ocean & pool" view rooms look toward the east. You can walk along the beach to the Luquillo kiosks if you want. You can see them from the hotel, and it is probably about a 30 minute walk. I'd heard there is a restaurant here, but if there is, it wasn't in operation when we were here. Breakfast in the morning was nothing spectacular but was an adequate start to the day--a scrambled egg, toast, sausage (any maybe potatoes, I can't quite remember) plus your choice of juice. The one problem I had was with the stairs. While beautifully tiled, they are uneven. By that I mean, one might be 5" high but the next 6". Only a slight difference, but just enough to throw you off so that I tripped twice going up the stairs.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc Mi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2009

The Yunque del Mar is a great little hotel. It is not one of those mega restorts, so do not expect supper luxury. What you do get is a clean and comfortable room with AC. The breakfast was not a cruise line buffet, but enough to get you going and out the door.
I feel the hotel is perfect for the traveler who wants to explore the north and east of PR.
Everyday we would travel to a different location and return in the evening to a friendly and fun hotel. It was like coming back to a friend's place. They have a small bar, usually the owners, their friends, and the guest will hang out there in the evening. It was great place to enjoy their culture. One of the things I was pleasently surprised by was the art work that hangs on the walls. The art reflected the scenes of the area, they are very good.
The small pool leads directly out to the beach. The beach is small, but to the left, about 400 yards is the outlet of the river from the rain forest.
The next time we go to PR, I will stay at Yunque Mar.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omar13888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luquillo
1.9 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
5.3 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
7.9 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yunque Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yunque Mar

Property: Hotel Yunque Mar
Address: 6 Calle 1 | Fortuna Playa, Luquillo 00773, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Luquillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Yunque Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Yunque Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yunque Mar Hotel
Yunque Mar Luquillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing