We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with ocean view”
Review of Hotel Yunque Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Yunque Mar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Luquillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2009

This is not the greatest hotel I've ever stayed at but it was clean, quiet, reasonably priced, close to the rain forest and bio bay tour and it had the added benefit of having an ocean view balcony and air conditioning. The room had a double bed covered with only a sheet--no bedspread, there were was a table but only one chair (strange) and also only one chair on our balcony, so we moved chairs in and out a lot so that we could both sit at the same time. The hotel provided towels but no washcloths. Everything was clean and the room was adequate for a 2-night stay. The staff was very nice and helpful. It is located in a crowded residential area but has it's own parking lot across the small street. Our room overlooked the ocean plus some run-down buildings but in some ways that was a plus because it gave us a glimpse into how average puerto ricans live. It sits right on the beach and has its own pool. I had chosen the "ocean view" room instead of the "ocean & pool view" thinking that I might be getting a more direct view of the ocean. This is not the case. The ocean is on the north side of the hotel. The "ocean view" rooms look toward the west with a view of the ocean and neighboring homes. The "ocean & pool" view rooms look toward the east. You can walk along the beach to the Luquillo kiosks if you want. You can see them from the hotel, and it is probably about a 30 minute walk. I'd heard there is a restaurant here, but if there is, it wasn't in operation when we were here. Breakfast in the morning was nothing spectacular but was an adequate start to the day--a scrambled egg, toast, sausage (any maybe potatoes, I can't quite remember) plus your choice of juice. The one problem I had was with the stairs. While beautifully tiled, they are uneven. By that I mean, one might be 5" high but the next 6". Only a slight difference, but just enough to throw you off so that I tripped twice going up the stairs.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 221 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2009

The Yunque del Mar is a great little hotel. It is not one of those mega restorts, so do not expect supper luxury. What you do get is a clean and comfortable room with AC. The breakfast was not a cruise line buffet, but enough to get you going and out the door.
I feel the hotel is perfect for the traveler who wants to explore the north and east of PR.
Everyday we would travel to a different location and return in the evening to a friendly and fun hotel. It was like coming back to a friend's place. They have a small bar, usually the owners, their friends, and the guest will hang out there in the evening. It was great place to enjoy their culture. One of the things I was pleasently surprised by was the art work that hangs on the walls. The art reflected the scenes of the area, they are very good.
The small pool leads directly out to the beach. The beach is small, but to the left, about 400 yards is the outlet of the river from the rain forest.
The next time we go to PR, I will stay at Yunque Mar.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omar13888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

I was hoping for a charming boutique on a quiet beach. We got a quiet motel on a dirty beach, at a price point that was out of synch with the room quality.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestportRedPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

I chose this place because of the positive reviews. However, even though it was on the beach and close to everything I was surprised to find the beds with no coverlets, dingy and very much used towels and the breakfast which was touted as being" a la carte" was actually a choice between a ham,egg and cheese sandwich or scrambled eggs with a hot dog. The staff is very helpful and friendly but for the price I expected a little more.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

I think Tarhealer's review sums it up pretty well. My only other advice: try to guarantee a room either looking out onto the ocean or facing the pool. We faced the buildings next door, which was pretty grim. In fact I would have rated this place two stars if it didn't look like those poolside rooms were nicer. Unfortunately this seems to be the only hotel in the area that is moderately priced and takes one-night reservations. If anyone knows any others, let us know!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

First of all, this hotel is not on Luquillo beach - it is in a neighborhood called Fortuna, where the beach is almost nonexistent. The water comes right up to the front of the hotel, even at low tide, so it is impossible to even get onto the beach directly from the hotel without jumping into the ocean. This being said, I've never slept that close to the waves - quite romantic at night with the balcony door open. The rooms are clean, but simple, maybe overly so for the price. Breakfast is provided, made to order, otherwise dining options are within driving distance. It is close the el yunque rain forest, which would be the main reason to stay here.
Just fyi - the owner uses the hotel to throw personal parties and does not inform the guests. One does not know when the party is happening until it happens, and there is no good estimate of when the party may end.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarhealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

I just came back from my vacation in Puerto Rico and stayed at a great, small Hotel. It was close to all of the turist attractions in the area and the best surprise was it is right on the beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable. They even had a pool but the water was too cold to enjoy it. Maybe it would be in their interest to have a heated pool. The breakfast was included and I was surprised to find it was a full breakfast, homemade and delicious. The staff are very friendly and are very helpful in giving suggestions and directions to evrything from where to shop, eat, and enjoy the local entertainment. Cant wait to return anfd if you ever catch yourself there make sure to ask for Sandra, she's great!!

Hasta Luego,
Michelle

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connecticutmom57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luquillo
7.9 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,001 reviews
5.3 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
26.4 mi away
Parador Palmas De Lucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Ocean Pearl
Ocean Pearl
#3 of 3 in Luquillo
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yunque Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yunque Mar

Address: 6 Calle 1 | Fortuna Playa, Luquillo 00773, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Luquillo
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Yunque Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Yunque Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yunque Mar Hotel
Yunque Mar Luquillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing