We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Yunque Mar
Nearby Hotels
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn(Luquillo)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$104
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$175
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$920
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Pearl(Luquillo)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveler rating
72
80
31
22
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
80
31
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel yunquepuerto ricosound of the wavescooked breakfastshort drivenice swimming poolbudget hotelnice stayocean viewcoffee makerbioluminescent baymini fridgerainforestkioskosprbalneariobeaches
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 221 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2008

We loved our stay at the Yunque Mar. The hotel is a welcome change from the typical chain hotel stay. It is located on the beach in Luquillo, where we enjoyed a great view of New Year's Eve fireworks. Our hosts were very warm and considerate, sharing a traditional holiday meal with us when we arrived late on New Year's eve. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The pool was terrific and our 9-year old had a hard time deciding which was more fun, the pool or the beach. Wonderful views and very peaceful on the terrace. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank circlemtnlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

My husband and I stayed 5 days and we had the best time ever it felt like a family Hotel we enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and then after hours live music in the day time it was beautiful right on the beach and then in the evenings the beach would rise and it look like paradise we are planning another trip and this is were we would be staying because it is family oriented and the attention was very attentive.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mery123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2007

We were robbed of $100 from our locked room (an employee apparently) and the best the owner Edgar could offer us was to call the police. Further, this hotel is not actually in Luquillo (you have to get on a busy highway to get to the town center or the beach) and in the winter, at least, there is no beach in front of the hotel, just crashing surf and a small pool. Too bad, because we had high hopes for a pleasant and relaxing stay.

2  Thank MaliaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Yunque Mar in Luquillo after reading several positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Overall, I must be honest and say I am little dissappointed in the overall experience. We must have arrived there shortly after a storm bc it seemed that they were understaffed and in need of repairs. Both bedrooms' AC did not work and we had ask the front desk to come and fix them. The pool and hot tube was empty. The hotel was mostly vacant and the bar never opened. The tv did not have cable or satelite, not that we wanted to watch much tv, but it was another thing that we had paid for that wasn't available. We had rented a suite with a kitchenette, but there wasn't any silverware nor plates that could work with the microwave.
The hotel had an amazing location and was fairly clean although my fiance complained that the beds had a lot of sand/dirt in them. I am in the hospitality business myself, so I always try to support smaller, family run guesthouses as opposed to bigger chain hotels. Although I know PR is really expensive as a whole, it did not seem like the best value. The front desk was appologetic about the problems, but only gave a 10% discount after we complained. It would have been different if we had been forwarned about the issues and given more of discount. I am sure the place is nicer than what we experienced and I hope this review helps them remmody some of these issues so other guests can have a better stay then we did. Almost $200/night doesn't seem like a great value for what we got.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2007

We loved the Yunquemar as an authentic experience of the best of Puerto Rico. It is a small, family-owned hotel in a small town right outside of the larger town of Luquiilo, and is RIGHT on the beach with a restaurant/bar on site.
The hotel is clean and comfortable, but very simple.
It is right on the ocean (so close the water laps the steps at high tide). The beach is calm and perfect (unlike that by some of the larger hotels). One morning, we were the only people on the beach; it felt like our own private paradise.
The owner is very connected to local musicians and artists and the hotel is a gallery for local artists and a venue for musicians.
The restaurant serves 3 meals and is a bar at night; it is right on the beach; a beautiful and fresh location right on the ocean.
If you are looking for a simple, restful vacation that will give you a feeling for the island hospitality and culture, Yunquemar is perfect. We were recommended by friends to stay here and pass along the favor.
It is not for anyone looking for a luxury resort.

  • Stayed: August 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank city-hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews