We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay!”
Review of Hotel Yunque Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Yunque Mar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Luquillo
Certificate of Excellence
Baden, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay!”
Reviewed April 1, 2011

we wanted to spend a couple of days before and after the cruise in Puerto Rico but away from San Juan. This Hotel turned out to be the perfect place to relax and spend time on the beach(es) nearby. It's a 40 Minute drive from San Juan airport, we rented a car a Thrifty which was really cheap and great for visiting the natural forest which is only a few miles away from the Hotel.

The Hotel is very nice and offers a breathtaking ocean view as it is located directly on the beach. It was so great to fall asleep with the sound of waves lapping, and the rooms were clean and spacious with a/c and an ocean-view balcony. If you're in for something fancy, this would be the wrong place, but the staff are very friendly and professional and willing to help with whatever issue should occur.

The pool was a bit disappointing, it looks far better on the pictures and the poolside showers did not work, but hey, with the ocean less than 20ft away why care for the pool?!

Room Tip: We booked online. Ask for a room on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_VTRESORT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    80
    31
    22
    16
See reviews for
52
95
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

If you're more interested in seeing the rainforest, sampling the Playa Luquillo kiosks, and not high maintenance, this place is more than adequate. We had a rental car; the Rainforest is about 10 min drive from the hotel. The kiosks are 2 traffic lights away, you {could} walk. BTW, #2,12, 21 are my favs.The hotel is right on the beach, they have a pool, free breakfast which is decent. Our room had a king size bed, balcony overlooking beach/pool, cable TV, and an A/C that would freeze you out! Shower had hot water with good pressure and the place was relatively clean. William, at the front desk, spoke perfect English, very pleasant, and very accommodating. If you want luxury, and wanna pay $250/night, go to El Conquistador; otherwise, Hotel Yunque Mar is nice find.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjbird13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We walked down the road through some vacant lots filled with trash to the only part of the useable beach, only to find the water had quite a bit of trash in it too. I did not feel safe with my wife nor my buddy who was travelling with us. I would not suggest this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chacev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2011

This is not the place to stay if you are looking for "fancy" accommodations. But if you value location, comfort and cleanliness you can't go wrong here. Reasonably near to San Juan (old town and great restaurants) and Fajardo (great food and ferry access to Culebra and Vieques). Adjacent to El Junque rain forest (a must see). We enjoyed the island by day and slept well at night. The next day, after breakfast provided by the hotel, we repeated the pattern for a very enjoyable week.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roostertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We needed a place to stay our last night in PR before heading to the San Juan airport and dropped by the Yunque Mar. The welcome was warm, friendly and all of the staff was ready to help. The hotel has a very basic look and could be hard for some to locate in a beach neighborhood. It is clean and everything exceeded our expectations. We were directed to a great restaurant for dinner; breakfast was filling. We especially enjoyed the original art in our room and hallways and being lulled to sleep by the sounds of the ocean waves lapping on the beach in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suze66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

My husband and I planned a last minute getaway to Puerto Rico for Christmas. We noticed Luquillo with one of the best-rated beaches in PR, and near El Yunque rainforest. We were worried about price and availability, but Hotel Yunque Mar offered a great price per night. We were impressed with the website and the friendly staff, so we took a chance and booked two nights.

The room was very basic with a simple bed and pillows, a table, lamp, and television. We weren't feeling picky or going for luxury, and the room was clean and quiet, so we were satisfied. The only annoyance was the water pressure in the toilet kept giving us problems. We asked to use the toilet plunger multiple times, which didn't really help since it wasn't clogged, just took forever to drain. The water pressure in the shower was adequate, so we may have just been unlucky with our toilet in that specific room.

Otherwise, the terrace for breakfast was beautiful, literally directly on the beach. Being winter, the waves were very strong and high, so there was no beach access directly from the hotel. The pool was refreshing, and again, the staff were friendly.

I would recommend Hotel Yunque Mar to travelers who aren't going for luxury, but just need the basics. The location was perfect for our beach and rainforest adventures, and we were happy to have a safe and clean place to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeiBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

The owners Sandy and Edgar made sure our stay was everything we wanted it to be. They were exceptional with helping us with tour information and directions. The room was very comfortable and everything we needed for a great hotel stay, and to top it all off, we were right on the beach! My daughters and I had so much fun downstairs in the evenings where we experienced great music (some live) and free billiards. We also had cocktails and snacks and couldn't be happier with the friendly people there at Yunque Mar Hotel. The manager Willy was so friendly that we felt right at home. It was so nice eating the hot breakfast (made to order) right in front of the beautiful beach. My girls found some really cool sea shells around on the beach as well. So what if there are some damaged properties around the Yunque Mar, that doesn't take anything away from this excellent place to stay! It's quiet and convenient to various locations of interest. The only thing that I didn't care for was that the pool closed so early (at 6pm). But that was very minor and wouldn't stop me from going here to stay again. Thank you good friends at the Yunque Mar! We had such a great time thanks to you!!! Sincerely, Jeanne Breu and family.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyblue10_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luquillo
1.9 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
7.9 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
987 reviews
5.3 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Melia Coco Beach
Melia Coco Beach
#4 of 4 in Rio Grande
6,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yunque Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yunque Mar

Property: Hotel Yunque Mar
Address: 6 Calle 1 | Fortuna Playa, Luquillo 00773, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Luquillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Yunque Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Yunque Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yunque Mar Hotel
Yunque Mar Luquillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing