We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe, Quiet, Nice Beach - Great Base for our 1st visit to PR”
Review of Playa Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luquillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Safe, Quiet, Nice Beach - Great Base for our 1st visit to PR”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I do a ton of research when we go on vacation and my research paid off again when we chose Luquillo & the Playa Azul complex as our base. I wanted our family to see Old San Juan and the forts, El Yunque, and the Bio Bay at Fajardo. I knew from past vacations that my boys (ages 11 & 13) love to boogie board and the beach would be our main attraction. From my research, it sounded like Luquillo had a nicer beach than those beaches around San Juan and we wanted a beach stay more than a "city" stay. Playa Azul was perfect - great location for the activities that we wanted to do, nice clean beach backed by palm trees, great waves for the boys, walking distance to a few restaurants (we were advised not to walk on the beach at night) and easy driving distance to plenty of others, Definitely go to Pasta y Pueblo & we walked to Boardrunners Rum Shack a couple of days for lunch. An Amiga grocery store is conveniently located right across the street. We never used the pool but it looked nice. Another big hit for us was the basketball court at the complex. It was lighted at night and we went there every evening for the boys to play - they loved it! We rented a 3 BR penthouse unit in Building 1(listed on HomeAway.com) and it was really nice. Building 1 is closest to the beach and has the nicest views. I looked at a lot of units listed on HomeAway and VRBO and the quality definitely varies from unit to unit so do your research to be sure you are getting one of the better units. The area around the complex is a little run down but that is probably true of a lot of places around Puerto Rico (unless you are in a secluded resort which would also come with a much higher price tag for less.) We felt totally safe during our stay at Playa Azul - the complex is gated and there is security staff at the parking entrance and within each of the three buildings. I would love to bring our family here again.

Room Tip: Building 1 is closest to the beach. Higher floors have better views. Check for nicer, updated units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank LUVSML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    23
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elm Grove, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We just returned from 8 days at Playa Azul, staying in Building 3, 11th floor. This was a perfect base for our family for exploring the island and enjoying the beach. We rented this unit http://www.vrbo.com/361767, which was spacious and well equipped. The complex is safe, you need keys to get in and out of the parking lot, pool and beach, but after sunset the beach area is very dark (the gate from the complex to the beach is padlocked after 7 pm) and the security guard at our building did not recommend walking into Luquillo at night. We walked 2 blocks to a restaurant just west of the condos at night, and felt safe going in that direction.

The main attraction was the beautiful beach: palm trees, soft golden sand, waves perfect for boogie boards. We visited a few other beaches based on information in our guide book but nothing compared to Playa Azul. We kept meaning to walk around the corner to the main Luquillo beach but we never made it, everyone was having to much fun at Playa Azul.

The location of the complex is very convenient for San Juan, El Yunque, Fajardo, shopping and restaurants. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank momof4Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corpus christi texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Somewhat mixed reviews. Loved the views, and the beach. Staff was great, condo a little upsetting by maintenance issues. It was annoying with the locked gates surrounding property for our kids not having a key themselves. There was a mugging on the beach last night in front of condo, so we were not comfortable going at night,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matt e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are looking for a very peaceful and tranquil location to relax...this is the beach for you!! Very clean, and the landscape is nice to look at as well. The service and the friendly locals made our time on the beach that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navyguy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I am the type of person that worries about everything, so when my husband suggested that we rent a condo while in Puerto Rico instead of booking a hotel, I disregarded the idea. In my work, I hear about the horrible ways people are scammed every day, and yes, some of them are through online internet condo postings. I was skeptical. So, I read the guarantees on Homeaway and as long as you don’t do something like respond to an obvious scam (like send money via wire transfer), you are protected. Plus, this listing accepts credit cards, so if we showed up and the property wasn’t there, we knew we could file a chargeback request with the credit card company. With these added protections, we booked it for a week.

As first time condo renters, we were nervous. It just so happened that our arrival was scheduled just days after Irene, a level 3 hurricane, had touched down in Puerto Rico. Several beaches, the Rainforest, and several Kioskos were closed. With this news, we were concerned of the possible condition of the condo and had even pondered cancelling our trip. But then, the condo owner emailed us. She told us that she had checked on the condo and assured us that everything was fine.

We went on our trip as scheduled, and she was right! We are so glad that of all the condos for rent at Playa Azul, we chose this one (Unit is on HomeAway #170555). The condo had so many great amenities that we didn’t need to get anything while we were there! The condo was set up perfectly with so much available. Though there is air conditioning in the bed rooms, the fans also provided so much cool air and circulation that we hardly needed to use the air. There were boogie boards, beach towels, a washer/dryer, dishwasher, basically everything you would want and need. Oh, and nothing beats that view and hearing the ocean from your room while sleeping! From now on, when we rent a condo we will accept nothing less. This was a GREAT first time renting experience.

Room Tip: There are a lot of different condos for rent at Playa Azul by different owners. This owner used the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TourLocalLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We have been spending the winter in Luquillo for 30 years during February and March
Playa Azul is the premier condo on the beach. Luquillo has a select group of retired persons who spend the winter months every year. Everyone is very friendly. The beach is amazing. Buiding #3 in Playa Azul is the best hgi and low numbers are the best. ie 2001 2201 1801 etc. The view is spectacular and there is no need for AC as the wind blows constantly. This is the best value for winter vacations in the Carib! All conveniences are at your doorstep. Can't beat it

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickTomsRiverNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Like others wrote, Playa Azul offers a secure, well maintained facility just in front of a beautiful beach, and at a reasonable cost. We noticed that the quality of the individual units seems to vary a lot, and we saw a number of them being renovated. We rented the unit 1910 at Playa Azul 1, which we found spacious, clean, tastefully decorated, and with many comforts (including wireless internet). Only the bathrooms seemed to still need updating, but overall the quality of the apartment was good. The view from the balcony was great.

We had a mixed experience, however, because, soon after our arrival, there was a short-circuit in the water heater, which left us without hot water. The management was reasonably responsive at first, but soon we realized that very little was actually being done to fix the problem, which remained for the rest of our stay (five days out of a week). At check-out, we asked for a partial refund as compensation, and the manager promised to transmit our request to the owner of the unit. After about a month, we received a $50 refund, which we felt was somewhat insulting and disproportionate to our inconvenience. To be fair, I have to add that we stayed at Playa Azul through Christmas, and this might have played a role in the delays in fixing the problem.

Christmas is not the best time to go to Luquillo and to Puerto Rico in general. Around that time many businesses close , including places and activities of interest for tourists (we went to San Juan only to find that all the museums were closed). In general, Luquillo seemed a small, simple town, with very little touristic services. It is a great place to enjoy the beach and disconnect from the hustle and bustle of city life. The proximity to the El Yunque forest is a big plus. We expected an easy drive to San Juan, but found out that the trip is complicated by the bad road and high traffic. So, for those planning a trip that mixes beach with art and culture, I would recommend a location closer to San Juan.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank planetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luquillo
0.4 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
1.7 mi away
Hotel Yunque Mar
Hotel Yunque Mar
#2 of 4 in Luquillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
6.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 3 in Fajardo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul

Property: Playa Azul
Address: Luquillo Beach, Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Luquillo
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Hotel Luquillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing