We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This beautiful house provided an excellent...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
5 reviews
1st floor bathroom.
Sample Dominoes Night from previous Guest Authorization.
Light pools.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Luquillo, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ellen2017
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly adequate accommodations in convenient location to rainforest, beach and kiosks”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful rainforest views from the balcony. No beach view per the title that I could see, but that's not why we chose it. The patio area on the first floor is spacious with numerous tables and a kitchen. The upstairs living space is fine. The kitchen is small, not much counter space for cooking, no oven, dim lighting. Normally I don't use an oven on vacation but we did want to heat frozen pizzas one night. The master bedroom is small, with a small bathroom (accordion style door, so lacking in privacy), shower stall (good water pressure), very little counter space. The second bedroom is smaller, and the third bedroom is basically just the beds and a very small floor space. There is a second full size, more spacious bathroom with tub. We were six people so the two bunk beds and master bedroom queen bed accommodated us. The beds were comfortable. There appears to be a sleep sofa as well. I'm not sure how they can advertise sleeping more than 8 so keep that in mind if your group is larger. There were several other details that made this less than perfect, such as table for 4 on the balcony and in the kitchen, so the six of us couldn't all sit at the same table to eat, insufficient instructions for all the "quirks" of the grill, the security gate, the multiple remotes, etc. The owner/manager(?) was responsive to text requests for additional pillows and grill instructions. As this is rainforest-adjacent, there are lots of animal sounds at night and the walls are thin so if you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs.

There's a small pool, pool table, and many tables to seat large groups downstairs, but we weren't going to walk downstairs to eat, especially since the balcony offers such a nice view. (Steep stairs, by the way, in case anyone has difficulty with stairs. And you have to go outside to go downstairs, so not ideal when it's raining.) Ten minute drive to a very nice beach and to the "kiosks" which is a strip of restaurants where we ate lunch and dinner several times. Grocery stores nearby.

I hadn't planned to write a review because I do not like to say negative things in reviews when the owner/manager attempts to rectify things, as Hector and Carmen did. Everyone has their own requirements and expectations so this review shouldn't necessarily prevent people from booking it, it just depends on what makes accommodations satisfying for you. However I would've appreciated reading my review prior to booking, so when I got the email from trip advisor requesting a review, I decided to do it. Overall, I would say this is highly adequate, not luxurious, but will do the job.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doreen118
Oregon
1 review
“This beautiful house provided an excellent retreat for our family stay.”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Private pool perfect for late evening fun for 8 year old, and relaxation for the rest of us.
Fixed a meal of fresh fish in the outdoor kitchen. Lots of comfy chairs. Enjoyed watching the iguana eat the blossoms on the acacia trees. Perfect view of rainforest mountain during morning coffee. Many birds and lizards and coque frogs to watch. Very comfortable, pretty and clean.
Internet access slow.
When we first arrived, no sign on the Hacienda Carabeli gate, and the passcode did not work so we drove around lost for awhile. Finally asked the manager at onsite restaurant how to find the place, and she provided us a passcode to enter-a little frustrating.
The day we left there was a "walkathon" of some kind on the main road-they literally took up the entire main road for 5 miles and we missed our plane because of it!! There were no side roads, and traffic was backed up for miles. It took us 3 and a half hours to go to San Juan airport-usually a half hour drive. This was not the fault of the rental place, but Puerto Rico needs to reevaluate such an activity. It is flabbergasting that a main thoroughfare would be blocked in such a way, affecting the travel plans of so many people! Very thoughtless and certainly not considerate of locals or tourists who have lives to lead. We arrive home a day late, and had to reschedule our work plans!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: See notes above.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
googz53
Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Time !”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

There were 8 of us traveling to Puerto Rico and wanted something different. This gated community and gated home was perfect. It is 30 minutes from the airport and easy to find. We had so much fun at the house. The home is very well kept up and clean. The pool is great for families with children. The pool table and basketball hoop was an added bonus. We enjoyed listening to the sounds of the rainforest at night. The views of the rainforest were breathtaking. It is close to the beach, not a great beach view depending on the trees, but is only 5 minutes away. Go to La Pareda beach in luquillo. The bunk beds were a little noisy with movement but otherwise very comfortable. It is all the comforts of home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and location
Liked least: The only downfall was the housekeeper was late cleaning on arrival day.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2014
Thank you for all the comments and recommendations! HG
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South jersey
Reviewed August 22, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PR
Reviewed July 4, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing