We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this the same restaurant where the other Reviewers dined?”
Review of Heidelberg Haus - CLOSED

Heidelberg Haus
Cuisines: German
Restaurant details
Henrico, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Is this the same restaurant where the other Reviewers dined?”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Did we eat at the same restaurant as the other Reviewers? Hmmmm…I wonder? Just kidding! Yes, we did; however, our experience was entirely different. We had made reservations in advance, but they could not ‘find’ them when we arrived. Oops #1. Was this an omen of things to come? This did not pose a problem as there was plenty of seating available, but they chose to seat us near the bar at a ‘high’ bar table and chairs…not the most comfortable for enjoying a meal. Oops #2. Mea culpa…we could have asked to be moved. Next I noticed the bud vase on our table was filled with DEAD flowers. Oops #3. I looked around and noticed that ALL the flowers on all the tables were dead. The waitress, as customary, removed the extra silverware; however, she chose to leave the dead flowers on our table…for us to enjoy? As we started to order, two of us were looking forward to the wiener schnitzel; however, the waitress informed us that they did not have any more. Oops #4. The meals were OK, but nothing to rave about. Could the chef/cook that prepared the meals for the other Reviewers’ meals have been on vacation? Hmmm? Then came our dessert order. I had decided to go with flan. Can you guess the waitress’s response? They did not have any more. Oops #5. So we decided to go with the streusel, someone in our party ordered the cherry strudel and I ordered the apple. At least, I can say that my portion was definitely larger than my dining companion’s cherry strudel. Oops #6. Maybe they were running out of the cherry streusel and had made the portion small in order to save some for the next customer. As you can see, our dining experience was far from the raves of the previous Reviewers. Maybe this was a onetime fluke….but we are not going back to find out.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnH301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caguas, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not very German”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stop by to get a couple german beers but there beer selection is very limited. I thought the a place call Heidelberg Haus might look a little more German but the only German is the Flags at the front. The place in front looks better.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chinchoreando77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and good homemade food”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This restaurant is located in a beautiful convenient setting on Rd 191 on the way up/down of the rain forest. It is recently opened and remodeled and the dining areas are clean, and very nicely decorated (I just wish they would have extended the remodeling and attention to the bathrooms as well). There is also out door seating with views of the forest which is lovely for an evening meal or a few drinks and appetizers.
Staff wear traditional German attire adding to the ambiance and the evening we were there they provided excellent service and were very attentive throughout our meal.
They have a good list of appetizers including soup and salad while the main meals include schnitzel prepared several ways (veal, pork, chicken, sauces etc...) and several types of sausage, meatloaf, along with a few Puerto Rican options. Other then sauerkraut and red cabbage (cooked) all other side dishes are starches such as potatoes or noodles. It would have been nice to have some actual vegetable or green salad options available as sides, but the sauerkraut, German Potato salad, fries, and spaetzle we had were very good . The schnitzel and sausages were cooked well and tasted good. The entrees however are served on very small plates so it looked crowded on presentation and it was a bit difficult to cut your meat without things falling off the plate. The entrees would have been better presented and utilized on larger plates.
They have a very nice list of imported beers, local, domestic and even Old Harbor Brew on tap as well as bar service for mixed drinks and sodas. We had the tap beer which was ice cold and served in a large 1/2 liter glass.
We tried the apple strudel for desert and this was a bit of a disappointment. The filling tasted like it was canned pie filling vs freshly sliced and prepared apple filling. Next time we'll give the cherry cheese strudel a try.
Two entrees, one beer, one soda, and one dessert came to $42 before tax and tip.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VillaSevilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“German Restaurant by the Rainforest”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We saw this place during our spring break vacation staying at the Wyndham Grand Rios when driving to El Yunque. Only 5 minutes from the hotel! We certainly did not expect to find a German restaurant here and were delighted! While we love typical puertorican food, this was a very welcome change. Their tap beer was just delicious. The El Yunque salad was outstanding, crisp and green, and what you would find in a good restaurant in Germany. Sausages, Schnitzel, Potato salad and Sauerkraut were very authentic and very good, very well prepared. The cherry cheese strudel for dessert was wonderful, recommend it over the apple strudel and the chocolate cake. Prices were low compared to the other restaurants in the area (Luquillo kiosks). Servings were not very big - I guess German size :) The restaurant is only a month old and feels clean and new. Loved their patio. I am sure this place will become the local favorite! Overall a wonderful experience, nice casual atmosphere with view of the palm trees and very good food and beer. As they gain clientele, hopefully they expand the menu to include such items as Spaetzle, Gulasch, Rahmschnitzel, Sauerbraten, Rouladen, and other German favorites. Too bad we only discovered this place on our last day in Puerto Rico!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Minnesotamom2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heidelberg Haus also viewed

Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing