We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of EL FOGON DE JUANITA - CLOSED

EL FOGON DE JUANITA
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: THEY ARE VERY NEAR PASTA PUBLE IN LUQUILLO, THEY ARE OPEN 7 DAYS A WEEK AND HAVE A VEGITAIN MENU AS WELL AS REGUALR MENU. THE BEST FOOD YET !! PRICE $10-$18.00 REALLY GREAT!
2 reviews
“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

I had the vegetarian paella ...the best vegetarian local food. It was way better than expected for such a small quiet place. Very clean, nice waitress and good pricing. Finding parking was not easy but worth the hassle. I highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aiki200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food - quiet little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stopped in here after wandering into the town square for dinner. We were the only ones in there but the service was good and the food was great! We had the chirasco steak and mofongo - was very good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sixela331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“scrumptious snapper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is a small but charming restaurant located in the heart of Luquillo's plaza. My husband and I chose outdoor seating to view the everyday activities going on in the plaza. We selected the "chillo" for two or red snapper. Along with it came "mofongo con camarones" or mashed fried plantains and jumbo shrimp in a red sauce served in the middle of two giant, moist fried snapper. We also ordered a side if rice and beans. Beautiful presentation. The waitress spoke fluent english/spanish and was extremely attentive to our needs. Just so happened that her family owned the restaurant and her father was the chef. We had a chance to meet him and had the pleasure to express to him how much we enjoyed such a simple but incredibly prepared dinner. Apparently "Juanita" is the grandmother who has shared how to cook these typical Puerto Rican dishes with members of her family. Bravo Juanita! This was by far the best meal I had during my last routine visit to PR. Remember this is a no frills type of establishment but it is clean, quaint with courteous employees that serve delicious food. We'll make sure to trek back to Luquillo just to dine again at "El Fogon De Juanita" on our visit next year.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnlyOneGatica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCrosse, WI
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, one block from beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

The family who own this establishment obviously take great pride in their meals and service! Excellent food-we had chicken, sirloin steaks(well seasoned-best either of the men ever had), chicken breast salad. Large portions and good side choices. Prices very reasonable. Menu in English and Spanish and our waitress spoke English well enough to answer all of our questions. Dessert-a rich decadent chocolate cake is not to be missed! (Can be shared by several people). Tip of 15% is added on but our bill with drinks for four with tax was $75 max. Highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wiscgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Real PR meal served with pride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

This restaurant is a family business. Our waitress spoke English well. The food was very good -paella and mofongo dishes. It is upscale- $25 pp with a drink. A 15% gratuity was added to the check. It is right on the square in Luquillo. It was not busy-no reservations needed.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobenkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EL FOGON DE JUANITA also viewed

Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing