We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Vejigante - CLOSED

Vejigante
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: ITS on pr 3 we where traveling east to fajardo and found this place
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Ate her twice once for lunch and dinner. Appetizers were excellent, entrees were superb. Had the stuffed pork chop. The juciest pork chop I've ever had and the stuffing compliment the chop.
My wife had the fried red snapper. It was so good I thought she was going to suck on the bones.
Flor, our waitress was extremely helpful and friendly. The chef came out and thank us for coming.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rongoose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    59
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
2 reviews
“Delicious Puerto Rican food and fresh Seafood”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We recently returned from a weeks trip to Puerto Rico. We discovered the kiosks near our hotel in Rio Grande and fell in love with the food at Vejigante. The chef is top-notch and Freddy our waiter was the best. We dined there several times and the food was delicious. The paella was a real treat and the fresh pulpa (octopus) was wonderful. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone and look forward to returning to Puerto Rico to dine at Vejigante again soon. Thanks for a great dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eh not what I expected”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I'm from PR and I've seen way better. The food does taste good but the price is out of hand. Unless the owner is your server, service will be slow and bad. Long time to even get a drink of water if the waitress even remembers

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrod1581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Vejigante delivers on all fronts”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great food and great customer service awaits you at Vejigante. Jose the chef is outstanding, he cooks delicious meals using fresh ingredients. He made accommodations for my mother who has special dietary needs, never making her feel as if her requirements were a burden.

Jason our server was polite and friendly, answering all our questions with a smile.

Try the seafood paella or mofongo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JmGBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best meal in Puerto Rico”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stopped into Vejigante after a morning at the beach. This was an incredible find. We were greeted by Freddy as we walked by and he offered a menu and explained the specials. He is very knowledgeable about the menu and was very helpful in assisting with modifications for our party’s food allergies.

We ordered drinks and they were fabulous – mojitos, sangria and a hand mixed fruit punch for our child. We ordered mofongo, ribs and paella. The food was incredibly flavorful and beautifully presented.

Chef Jose came out to say hello and we appreciated talking with him. This restaurant is a gem and ruined us for all the other restaurants we visited. This was by far the best meal we had anywhere on the island in the 10 days we were there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jennstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vejigante also viewed

Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing