We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice.”
Review of Ay Bonito! Grill - CLOSED

Ay Bonito! Grill
Price range: $5 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Kiosko #21, Luquillo, Puerto Rico.Open for Dinner: Wed - Sun: 5 pm to 10 pm
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great choice.”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

On our trip to Puerto Rico, we were looking for dinners with more cultural flare than the resort we were staying at. Overall the kiosks don't look that nice, but they are fine, and this one was our best meal in PR. The service was great. The waitress took time to explain some of the local foods. The food was excellent. The kids were happy with pasta and chicken. We would definitely return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drdarcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    45
    13
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“A nice romantic evening with interesting food”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Ay Bonito is one of the better kioskos in Luguillo. based on our one meal there in January. We had the Chicken Platter (grilled chicken breast placed on a bed of amarrillo mash, topped with white wine sauce,Sautéed onions, mushrooms and green peppers - $13 as I recall) and for a lighter meal, the bean and ham soup and Buñuelos de Bacalao (6 Mini cod fish fritter cakes served with tangy guava sauce $7). All were quite good. In the case of the chicken and the fritters, there was a wonderful mx of sweet, salty and oil flavors. As seems typical with Puerto Rican food, flavors were subtle and delicate. Service was quite pleasant, and also a teeny bit slow, as is also the norm in Puerto Rico. The restaurant has a bit of a view of Luquillo beach and a pleasant outdoor seating area - small and not fancy but still nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MetroWest52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our favorite kiosk. Great food, nice atmosphere. Nice staff. The snapper was amazing. The kiosks don't look great, but the food there is better in most cases than the big hotel restaurants and the atmosphere is far more interesting.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidVa999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpena, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 table gem”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We ate dinner here twice during our week long vacation. As a family of five we enjoyed several of their entrees including the salmon, pork chop, churasco, shrimp kabob and all of it was excellent !!! A favorite was the mashed malanga, a root vegetable. The chef came out and chatted with us one night. This is a small kiosk restaurant with a great feel. Waitstaff very friendly. Live music one night with patrons playing percussion instruments!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, NY
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Food very solid, friendly service”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very warm and inviting welcome from the staff the Ay Bonito! Food was very good for our group of 12, even though it rained on us right as the appetizers were coming out. The Carne Fritas were excellent as were the Margarita pizzas. Good burgers too. The live music also provided great atmosphere. HIghly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gudgels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ay Bonito! Grill also viewed

Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing