We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome lunch...hidden gem!”

Erik's Gyros & International Deli
Ranked #9 of 81 Restaurants in Luquillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Description: Great Greek Breakfast deal + cubanos+gyros+pasta+paellas
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome lunch...hidden gem!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We live in San Juan and visited here after a day at El Yunque...would frequent this place regularly if it wasn't for the drive to Luquillo because I've been dying to return for the amazing food. The lamb gyro was excellent and the portions were huge! Excellent coffee and the carrot cake was one of the best I've ever had!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmbdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    50
    13
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“"Great Food ridiculously SLOW Service" ”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting this small Café for years and the food is Awesome but the time it takes them to get the food out to you is incredibly slow. It is evident That this is getting to be a habit for them since our last two visits has been exactly the same and not just for us but for every single person waiting to be served even people who call orders in. I actually felt horrible this last time because there was a much older couple who waited for about 45 mins to get there meal and in the end only received on of two of their plates and just gave ip and left.
Its a real shame since the food is good enough and so tasty we will gladly pay the higher prices and have also meet the owner Eric who seems to be a great person but who is letting this little GEM fall into a bad place. Stranger still Is that he always seems to be there and must be seeing first hand what is happening. Has he gotten used to delivering bad service???
We have shared our story with other couples and have heard the same experience and are tolerating it in hopes it is corrected and that the owner can turn this situation around before its too late.
Would hate to have to stop going there but just cant continue to wait 1hr to be served a sandwich.

Helpful?
Thank Jeannie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, great beer, and friendly service.”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband were in Luquillo on vacation and were tired of paying ridiculous amounts of money at other restaurants for fish that is not even local caught fresh fish (I have never been anywhere else on the ocean except Myrtle Beach,SC that does not sell fish caught in their waters). Anyway in to the good stuff, so we left another such restaurant without ordering and on our way bak to the condo happened upon this gem. The gyros were delicious, the beer selection was good, the service was friendly, and I wanted to take home a bottle of the homemade hot sauce!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraj_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Gyros, sandwiches, coffee... great for brunch or lunch! Sandwiches are huge (almost for two), Variety of beers too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sofiaberm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Gyro ever!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We were impressed with the rave tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed tonight when we went to Erik's (who is not Greek!) for the first time. Shaila was our waitress and she couldn't have been more helpful. I ordered the lamb gyro with hummus and feta and my husband had the regular lamb gyro. Superb! The flavor and texture of the meat was excellent....crispy edges, thin slices and very tender. I happen to love tszaziki (sp.?) and there was plenty in there. Dessert was a pistachio flan and we were treated to an extra dessert....mango cheesecake. The BEST! I love PR's cafe con leche. It's our last night here in Luquillo after 2 weeks. Wish it were our first night and we'd eat there often!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erik's Gyros & International Deli also viewed

Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Erik's Gyros & International Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing