We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, great food, great service, but expensive”

Carabali Rainforest Park
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Luquillo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Hacienda Carabali started 1972. As the years have progressed we have expanded to give great service to tourists and locals by our ATV, Horseback Riding, and Mountain Biking Tours, Restaurant and our Go-Karts Track!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food, great service, but expensive”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Liked everything - had very authentic puertorican food, great juices, excellent meat, staff was extremely nice. Premium product for a premium price - felt the 130 including tip was adequate for the experience but still on the expensive side (3 of the "cheaper" main dishes with 2 sides, 1 shared appetizer for 2 and 3 juices - no dessert, no alcohol). Expect to pay at least 50 per person. We would go back.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnesotamom2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,072
    162
    29
    11
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Steak stay away from the fish”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Hacienda Carabali was about 5 -7minutes from our Resort but at night it was hard to find. We had passed it the first night we were going to eat there but the next morning we saw the signs as clear as day. At first, when we arrived we were about to turn around because of the horse smell! But we were tired and said let's see if the smell was inside and if so we would go. Thank goodness it was not inside. All steaks were very good but the fish was not - two people order the fish but neither could eat the fish. The wait staff are not that friendly but they were not rude. The decor was ranch - nothing fancy. If we all had steak the overall rating would be very good.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dona26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Burnt chicken! Nasty.”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The food was terrible. The wait person said it was the way they ate it in PR, but I hardly thnk that was true. They did comp my meal. I hear that the skirt steak there is good, but stay away from the chicken.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DrSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose B, General Manager at Carabali Rainforest Park, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review and we apologize for the less than wonderful experience, thanks to you we can work harder on making our experiences and services better everyday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey.”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I went out to eat with another couple and the bill came up to $250. Other than that the food was good (try the skirt steak and the mofongo in the creole sauce) and service was good also

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traveladdict629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose B, General Manager at Carabali Rainforest Park, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Our food is not the most expensive and is reasonably priced for the great quality meal you are receiving. We wish we could offer it a lesser prices to attract even more costumers but that would mean lowering the quality of the meat and preparation and that is something we are not willing to do.

Thank you for your review and we will keep doing everything possible to offer you "The Ultimate Caribbean Experience"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Horseback riding experience!”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Being a horse owner I am often worried about supporting a business like this if it does not care for the horses well.
In this case I had no worries as the horses were very well cared for, well fed and in great shape. The facilities were clean and well run.
The ride itself was great, I had never ridden a Paso Fino before and I enjoyed both the horse and it's gaits. We had all beginners on our ride and it was no problem as all the horses were well behaved. We even had very small kids and again no problem accommodating them either. We only did the hour ride but if I go back I will definitely do the two hour ride. All and all a great experience for anyone of any age and riding ability.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank tlw529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carabali Rainforest Park also viewed

El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Carabali Rainforest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing