We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal, Great Service!”
Review of Pasta y Pueblo

Pasta y Pueblo
Ranked #1 of 81 Restaurants in Luquillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Carmel, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Meal, Great Service!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We ate with our two kids at Pasta y Pueblo and really enjoyed the meal. We had to wait one hour, 15 minutes to get a table. They only seat around 15-20 in this small venue. The menu only had a few selections but we all enjoyed them a lot. The entrees are served on pasta with your choice of sauce. I had the carbonara sauce which was excellent. Salads were included and were great as well. The restaurant is pretty much an open-air shack, and the tables sit wobbly on concerte and stone pavement, but the food and service make it worth the wait. Plus, it's right on the beach and you can walk there after dinner.

The waitress moved very efficiently, waiting on all parties at once, but doing it well. She told us they were preparing to relocate so be sure to check to see if there is an updated address before you go.

Also, the didn't serve alcohol and they didn't take credit cards - cash only!

It was an enjoyable evening and memorable meal our family shared at Pasta y Pueblo on our Spring Break trip to Puerto Rico!

Enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TEschmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    91
    23
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An excellent meal and an even better experience”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

As locals to the area, my wife and I have been to Pasta & Pueblo twice and each time just as great. The food here is out of this world. Chef/Owner Alfredo and his wife Jessica are two humble people that are not trying to get millions out of their business, but rather make a humble living, as they will openly say it to you. At first, this place can make you want to run away as it is nothing but a shack that will scare anyone off. But if you get passed that, you will see it is nothing but a concept. A busninees model designed to keep things simple, no mayor decor, no fancy tables and not even a floor. And I mean that, because at the place you will actually step on rocks. The place is exremely small and so is the kitchen. Having said that, you can expect (and must understand) the food preparation WILL take long to get to your table. So if you are thinking this is going to be your normal restaurant experience with a synchronized service like a hostess waiting to meet and grett and take you to the talbe, then a server to immediately take your order and your food be ready at no time, you are better off going to a normal restaurant. YOU MUST understand they are not doing this for the high volumes of cash, but rather to give you a new and different dinning experience. The food will take you to new heights you have not experienced before. I personally recommend the Pesto with Salmon and my wife recommends the Pesto with Mahi Mahi. But I am sure that just about the whole menu is delicious. The owner would come to the table if you happen to be one of the last tables of the night and will share with you their ideas and their purpose of the restaurant. Currently they are in the process to move right accross the a bit bigger place and be able to speed up service and add more items to the menu. Also know the menu is very limited and all they offer for a pasta selection is Penne pasta. This will soon change. To close my review, this place will offer you a new, local experience along with fantastic food but you must keep in mind the things I just warned you about or you can quickly end up a very unhappy customer. Finally, you better bring cash money becuase credit cards ARE NOT ACCEPTED at this time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DzOmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrific meal at Pasta y Pueblo”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My husband, two twenty-something year old kids, and I shared a terrific meal at Pasta y Pueblo in early March I have to admit that I was a little hesitant to eat there - the outside really does looks THAT bad. As expected, we waited a good 45 minutes for a table, but the night was warm and there was a lovely breeze, and we had glasses of wine, so what did we care? Once inside, our experience was similar to other reviewers’, we enjoyed the owner’s beautifully presented, awesomely delicious food. I had the incredibly yummy skirt steak. I chose the coconut rice as a side, which was lighter and tastier than the same we’d had at other restaurants. Son had the mahi-mahi. Hubby had the coconut shrimp which he adored, and daughter fell in love with the scallops and most especially with the penne with pesto. For dessert, the four of us tasted a piece of scrumptious guava cheesecake and then, because we had to have something to compare it to, devoured a piece of the tres lech cake. YUM!

The lovely, almost shy, Jessica was our server, while her husband, Freddie created the meals. As we were the last table to be served, he came out at the end to say hi. He told us that he was working on renovating a close by building to move to and that his new restaurant would have twice the amount of tables. Jessica and Freddie are such a talented, hard-working couple that you can’t help but wish wonderful things for them. I hope to visit Puerto Rico again someday and to visit their new restaurant!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carry-on223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourbonnais, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not good”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We arrived before 6 pm opening time. did get seated till 6:30. then 1/2 to order then 45 min for food. Was not worth what we paid. they lost at least 6 couples or groups due to wait.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve D'Juanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect Pasta y Pueblo!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Excellent food - great prices. Met the owner/chef - Freddie. He's a sweet guy and totally passionate about his food. Make sure you ask what's not on the menu - there are sometimes specials based on what is caught that day. We had Coconut Curry Lobster served over Penne Pesto. Sounds crazy but it was amazing. The lobster was caught that day. We had lobster 3 times during our one week vacation in Puerto Rico - this was by far the best. It's only open a few nights a week, and there's a long wait for a table - the restaurant is so small. For a shorter wait, go early - 5:30 or go late - 8:30. Totally worth it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasta y Pueblo also viewed

Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 
Palmer, Rio Grande
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Pasta y Pueblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing