We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to cool down and rest after a day at the beach”
Review of Sue's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luquillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sue's Place
Central Michigan, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A place to cool down and rest after a day at the beach”
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Our family (two adults and two kids, 1.5 and 2.5 years) rented a loft in late April 2009 for 2 weeks. We also rented an extra bedroom for our babysitter. The place was exactly what we needed. Our goal was to find a location where we can enjoy sunshine and beaches with warm water and safe waves; hike a bit with our small children; cook on our own if we wanted to; be able to cool down after a day at the beach; and get some exposure to a different culture. Luquillo turned out to be a perfect location and Sue’s place was a perfect place to stay. Here are its main highlights,
1. It’s within a 15-minute drive from nearby beaches, up the mountain, which means that it is about 5-8 degrees cooler than at the ocean level. At Sue’s place, we fell asleep in a loft with screened windows, in a summer cabin atmosphere, listening to an unforgettable serenade by about a million of coqui frogs. Compare that to falling asleep while listening to an air conditioner humming in a typical hotel room. Luquillo is about the same latitude as Honolulu, so it is warm (or hot) year-round. You’ll see fruit-bearing banana and avocado trees outside of your window, as well as ginger flowers, giant ferns and coconut palms.
2. When we stayed in B&B in a Volcano Village on the Big Island of Hawaii, which is also located in the rainforest, all windows were closed and a dehumidifier was running 24/7. Sue’s Place is dryer (because of its rainfall and lower altitude) than Hawaii’s Volcano Village and the main parts of El Yunque rainforest where it’s foggy and rainy nearly all the time. You will have occasional rain showers at Sue’s place (be sure to get a video!) but it will not be too damp.
3. You have a choice of 2 roads to drive when you go to the nearby beaches. One is nearly empty of cars; it goes through a rainforest, by roadside waterfalls, across a mountain river, and descends into a small town with the best gift store (we also visited stores in old San Juan and el Yunque) and a bakery/eatery with some truly local and delicious foods. An alternative road is much busier but it curves around houses and churches. Here you’ll see the friendly locals, peacocks, horses, hens, roosters, and other domestic animals. If you smile and greet people, entire families will wave their hands and smile at you. We stopped by a church to listen to people sing and were invited to come in. Sue will give you a detailed map of both roads but take your GPS system (if you have one) with you because it will remember the exact location of Sue’s house.
4. You have a choice of at least three different types of beaches. The main paid beach is kid-friendly due to its calm waters. It has easy parking, clean sand, trimmed coconut palms, showers, bathrooms, and cafes located directly on the beach. Other Luquillo beaches have bigger waves, so you can decide what you want to do – one day you may want to swim and on another day you may want to jump in the waves. Finally, there are other beaches where you can snorkel and collect shells. Finally, there is also an option to bathe in the mountain streams. Just ask Sue.
5. Sue’s helpfulness, knowledge of local conditions, and genuine interest in her guests are outstanding. She knows places to shop, eat, swim, find a doctor, connect to the internet, etc. and she can also tell you what other guests liked or disliked. We went on “a scenic view” drive one day without consulting with Sue first and, oh boy, we wished we asked her before we ventured out.
Here are some more tips for your trip
1. The towns of Luquillo and nearby Fajardo have major stores – Walgreens, Amigo food store, Walmart, etc. Pack no sun lotions or other heavy toiletry, they are cheap at Luquillo Walgreen’s. Get your grocery shopping done on your way from the airport. Food is cheap in PR. Be sure to buy meats in a local marinade of garlic, cilantro and red spice (not spicy at all), the fry on a pan in about 15 minutes. And get a taste of local sweet bread (look for a special counter in a food store where freshly baked loafs are kept under warm lights).
2. The loft has a hammock that is a vacationer’s dream. There could be occasional mosquitoes, so get some repellent to enjoy an evening in a hammock.
3. The chalet has an excellent grill that you may be able to use. Both rentals have large fans.
4. In case you wonder about security - Sue’s place has a locked gate and locks for each rental place, including an extra side bedroom. Sue lives in her own house a few feet down the hill.
5. Do your laundry in town. It will be washed, dried and folded for 90 cents/pound while you are eating breakfast or dinner. Sue will provide you with more clean towels than you need.
6. At Sue’s place you’ll have an option of completely disconnecting from the outside world – forget about the TV (Sue has cable), cell phones and the internet.
Tomorrow, we will purchase out tickets to return to Sue’s place in 6 months.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MI_family_of_four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    7
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
29
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belchertown
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Sue's place was the best place that we stayed on the island. We enjoyed every place that we stayed but this was the one that our 13 yr old kept as the gold standard. When we got there, she asked why we hadn't come earlier. And when we left and went to a resort, she asked why we had left?
It is so relaxing and Bob and Sue are laid back and hospitable. The location is beautiful and the views!!!!!!
We took advantage of Bob's surfing lessons and had a great time.
Thank you, we will be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandandwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI, USA
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2009

As promised, the Loft @ Sue's Place in Luquillo/Sabana was at once a tranquil and beautiful locale providing funky, cool rustic luxury. we -- my 11-year-old twins and i -- had the best vacation experience. Sue was a way cool woman who was all about ensuring we had everything we needed and a tour guide excellente! Que bueno! The loft was exactly as I expected; a lovely chalet tucked away -- literally -- deep inside El Yunque. The entrance to the awe-inspiring, indeed otherworldly, rain forest was a 2-minute drive away on the thrilling, winding and occassionally terrifying mountain road. Aviso! while it was a blast (and scenic beyond my expectations) traveling around El Yunque's roadways, the lanes are wide enuf only for one vehicle though locals don't seem to know that -- freewheelers that they are w/the occasional rooster or peacock, horse or ATV around each bend. white knuckle driving, we stayed in most nights. (chicken that i am!) @ night the coqui's sang and sang; the music actually put us all to sleep! make sure to shop @ amigo's (grocery store) and cook breakfast and dinner -- eat lunch out is my suggestion. We had the most tasty mofongo in town and since we were there from Holy Thursday through Easter Sunday seafood -- camorones especially -- was available everywhere. i cannot say enuf about the hospitality Sue shared with us -- from meeting us @ the Esso in Luquillo to bring us up the mountain to very wise and practical advice, she was a treasure. gracias!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elenas1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2009

We left for Luquillo, Puerto Rico, all of us having done our research, but none knowing exactly what to expect. We arrived at Sue's place, which was just a thirty minute ride from where we rented our car near the airport in San Juan. We drove up and into some very windy roads into the rain forest, and pulled into Sue's place that seemed massive. The first night we stayed in a little room off of the main house, which was very clean and tidy, but the best part was when we opened the door, we were looking down into the rain forest, and just beyond we could see the beautiful beaches of Luquillo. The next through last nights, we moved into the main house, which was extremely roomy, with two floors, two bedrooms on the second and one on the first, with the large bathroom and eat-in kitchen. Sue was a great hostess, and came to check on us daily, making sure that we had everything we needed and giving us advice on where to eat that's "local" and not "touristy". We found ourselves taking her advice and also taking the advice of our own research, but hers was definitely our favorite. Sue also had a very entertaining dog, named Lou, who we enjoyed playing fetch with coconuts. I could go on and on, but to sum it up, I would say that Sue's place is definitely off the beaten path and worth going back to, which we are already planning.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We absolutely loved Sue's Place in the rain forest. It is located on a winding narrow road high in the mountains. We stayed in the loft apartment the first night and then moved to the chalet for the next 3 nights. The wrap around decks provide wonderful views of the rain forest and also of the town of Luquillo and the beach. We enjoyed relaxing with drinks on the decks each night. It is very close to El Yunque Rain Forest as well as the most beautiful beaches in all of PR--Luquillo Beach just a ten minute or so ride to either. Sue is so helpful providing perfect ideas for dinner (El Jefe's on the beach) and other suggestions as well as. She is a perfect hostess. We loved playing with Lou, the dog, and throwing coconuts for her to fetch! A great relaxing place!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2009

I can't say enough about how much I loved Sue's Place. I had no idea what to expect, and was blown away by its size, location, cleanliness, and overall aura. The Chalet/Loft are located in up in the rainforest, offering amazing views in a peaceful location. I realize this review may seem so glowing you'd think Sue wrote it herself. She did not. For $150/night for the Chalet, you can't beat that price (and it even has a large grill)
Luquillo is an AMAZING town and to myself and my friends, Sue's Place was the ideal lodging for our trip

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bosoxmenash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J81ulia
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2009

This was my third time to Puerto Rico, and my best! Sue's place is the perfect place for a nature lover. Set in a mountain town with close proximity to the Rainforest entrance and Luquillo beach. You are surrounded by tropical vegetation and nightly coqui serenades.

My boyfriend and I stayed in the loft apartment for a full week. The kitchen and bathroom were very clean with an ample supply of clean towels. The apartment was well equipped with pots, pans, and cooking utensils. We spent mornings cooking breakfast and relaxing on the porch which had a table and chairs and a hammock.

Again this is the perfect place for people who enjoy the beauty of nature, as an occasional lizard and small bug made their way into the apartment. It rained a lot while we were there, as should be expected in a Rainforest, but we were able to drive along the east shore of PR to find a sunny beach.

The weekly rental rate was a good deal, and we were able to save money by cooking in the apartment instead of going out to eat every night. Much more fun, beautiful, private, and affordable than a big hotel.

This definitely was my best vacation and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J81ulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luquillo
1.1 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
5.3 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
992 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yunque Mar
Hotel Yunque Mar
#2 of 3 in Luquillo
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
5.6 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.6 mi away
El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sue's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sue's Place

Property: Sue's Place
Address: El Yunque, Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Luquillo
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Sue`s Place Hotel Luquillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing