We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome private bungalow in the rainforest”
Review of Sue's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luquillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sue's Place
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome private bungalow in the rainforest”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 days on vacation from Florida. Sue, while sometimes a little slow to return phone calls, was very easy to work with, and even nicer in person. We lost the house key on day 1, but Sue was totally cool about it and got us a spare to use until we could find the original (which we did, thank goodness). One afternoon the power went out and she brought us matches, a lantern and a flashlight, and then recommended some places to go in town for dinner to wait out the storm (if you have time, check out Boardriders down by the beach-funky surf shack place with great fish tacos). We also set up a surf session with Sue's husband Bob-again, a tad hard to get hold of sometimes, but super nice and easy going. All in all, a great cozy place with easy access to the rainforest and the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    7
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
29
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We found this place via trip advisor reviews and found it to be as good as the reviews said. It is 10-15 minutes from the heart of Luquillo, PR and the beaches but when you are there it feels much farther away. You are 5 minutes from the northern entrance to EL Yunque National Forest, and 15-20 minutes from the forest visitors center. Sue was extremely helpful and friendly prior to our arrival and during our stay. She met us in town and we followed her to her place which is literally "in the forest". It is rustic yet very quaint. We stayed in the loft unit which has a queen bed in the loft. Below is a small living room with a futon and closet and a TV. There is a bathroom with a shower only. The water in the shower was warm/hot with adequate pressure. We had a small kitchen with a table, refrigerator, stove and sink. Most utensils are provided (missing a can opener). There are pots/pans, dishes, cups, etc. We had our own small porch with a table with fresh flowers and chairs where we ate breakfast most mornings. There is also a hammock on the porch which was fun to swing in. The first couple of nights we were there we were the only ones there which was really nice and quiet and we felt like we were in our own little paradise. There is only one other unit there and when the other family arrived it changed the atmosphere somewhat as windows are always open for airflow (no air conditioning) and when they were out on their porch you could hear them. It wasn't a big deal for us as we were up and getting going in the mornings but if you wanted to sleep in that wouldn't have been easy.
The sound of the coqui frogs at night was really cool however, they are pretty loud so for some people it could interfere with your sleep. We used some earplugs but one night even the frogs sounded like they were right next to our window. It didn't bother my husband. Waking up in the morning to the sun and the jungle like view from our porch was the best part.
Some helpful tips: If you want to be making meals there, go to the grocery store either in Luquillo (small and expensive) or farther down the road in Fajardo (bigger and better prices) and get what you need before going up to the place as it's a good 15-25 minutes to get down the mountain from her place into town. We bought bottled water but they say the water is okay to drink. There is a small coffee maker there but need to bring your own coffee, etc.
Sue's Place was very convenient to get to the beach, the forest and to Fajardo for sailing, snorkeling and kayaking. Visit the Kioskos by the beach, for reasonably priced food. There are 60 kioskos of various types but most serving local fare. Most are open daily.
Overall, we had a wonderful experience at Sue's and would recommend it to anyone who wants a unique experience in the forest and who is not looking to stay at a hotel. Although she told us she did have wifi we never got it and there was no explanation as to why not. So, if you need that you have to go to town and find somewhere with it, although that can be a hassle. If we go back to PR we will definitely stay there again!! Sue's Place is a unique experience well worth the drive up the mountain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RitaL427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I heard about Sue's through internet/trip advisor research. My experience with Sue started with booking our room over the phone. She was so friendly and helpful during the booking process. Sue gave us the rundown on the area, emailed directions to her place, and even offered to meet us in a nearby town (Luquillo) when we arrived. Sue's Place is a restful retreat tucked on the outskirts of the El Yunque rainforest. Sue met us down in Luquillo late at night and was kind enough to lead us up the winding roads to her hideaway. The property was close enough to Luquillo to offer convenience yet far enough into the mountains to offer privacy and a connection with nature. We stayed in the chalet which had a full kitchen as well as 3 decks. Sue showed us around the property and it was evident that she takes great pride in her former residence. The night view from the upper deck was stunning. It showcased the lights of Luquillo on one side and the mountains on the other. On this trip it was just me and my hubby but the chalet easily could have slept 6. Sue's Place is by no means a luxury hotel but she keeps her place clean and well stocked. We really appreciated the little touches such as a personalized map to the best waterfalls (5-10 min drive from her place) and the beautiful rainforest landscaping surrounding the property. We spent our daylight hours checking out the food kiosks just on the outskirts of Luquillo, taking a quick walk on the beach, and hiking through the rainforest to check out the waterfalls. A rental car is a necessity to stay in this location, but it is well worth it to stay in this little piece of paradise. We were only able to stay two nights on this trip, but definitely plan to head back next year for a longer stay. A side note on food: On Hwy 991 on the way from Luquillo to Sue's you will see a parking lot and tented area that houses a giant grill. Stop by and get some pinchos (kebabs of bbq meat and shrimp). Simple, inexpensive, and one of my favorite meals in Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: The chalet has a great deck and a ton of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alebroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our stay at Sue's Place came at the early part of of a two week visit to Puerto Rico, after five days spent in San Juan enjoying the urban life with friends. I'd been to the El Yunque National Rainforest previously, and was aware that it was possible to stay nearby. Well, Sue's is as near as you can get without being inside the gate! In fact, there is a 'back door' or sorts to the park less than 5 minutes away.

Sue's Place is not luxurious by any standard definition. The accommodations are appropriately rustic but comfortable, and the units (there is a studio, a 3 bedroom house, and a 'loft' unit) all have kitchen facilities (refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, sink), making them ideal for longer stays. My girlfriend and I stayed in the loft, which means the bedroom was actually up a flight of stairs and overlooking the living room and kitchen. There was a lovely private covered terrace with a hammock, rocking chair and a little cafe table, plus a patio. It's all immersed in the incredibly lush & beautiful tropical ambiance of the rainforest. The real thing, not some hotel landscaper's version. Nights mean being serenaded by the island's native Coqui tree frogs. It's loud, but somehow soothing. Neither of us had any trouble sleeping. Think, then, of a non-standard definition of luxury, where incredible beauty that you can reach out and touch is right there for you 24/7.

The location is pretty remote, and Puerto Rico's idiosyncratic road numbering system can be confusing. Fortunately, the friendly and engaging Sue herself comes down the hill to meet you on PR3, the main road, to lead the way, then give you a hand drawn map for further reference. She lets you know where the grocery stores and good restaurants are.

Our only regret is that we didn't book a longer stay. We were so busy visiting El Yunque, lovely Luquillo Beach, and the nearby food kioskos that we were not able to spend much time just hanging out at Sue's, and I wish we were able to. So, book at least a three night stay to give yourself time to just relax in the hammock and enjoy this peaceful retreat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonQ_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My fiancée and I had decided puerto rico would be our next destination, Luckily we came across Sues place.
Meeting us in town to show us the rest of the way to our home away from home for a week, Sue was a lovely person with a wonderful personality and an eagerness to answer any questions we had. After a short drive up some winding roads and past some interesting sites and sounds we arrived.
We stayed in the loft, which couldn't be more perfect for two people on a romantic trip. Secluded, quiet and beautiful beyond description! In the heart of el yunque our backyard was lush rainforest. With hibiscus flowers at every turn, palm trees, avocado trees and plants too numerous to name. Sue kindly kept us in fresh supply of everything we could have needed for the week, including small white fragrant flowers from her own garden.
We enjoyed a week of trips to el yunque, loquillo beach, and fajardo, all within 5-20 minutes away. At night we laid in the hammock on the porch and listened to the coqui frogs, indigenous only to that area of puerto rico.
It was a trip we'll not soon forget and we look forward to returning to Sue's as soon as we possibly can to enjoy the beauty and relaxation we experienced on our trip.
Thanks Sue and Bob for everything, we'll see you soon!
Danielle and Joe from NY

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Unique and Relaxing Stay!!! Feb 2012

Let me first start out by saying that Sue is great… she is one of the most genuine, down to earth and friendly hosts I have ever met. Not only did she meet us in town so we could follow her back up to the place, she was very helpful in assisting us with directions, local places to go and made the overall experience worthwhile.

As for our trip, my girlfriend and I were looking to explore the rainforest and also spend some time out in Fajardo to take part in the BIO bay and other excursions in the area, with Luquillo and Sue’s place being a great resting point for this portion of our trip. We spent 4 days at Sue’s place and it is was fantastic. The scenery, wildlife and remoteness of Sue’s Place were both unique and worth every penny. If you are looking for a place to lay your head, be somewhat disconnected from the world and just get away to relax for a few days, I highly recommend Sue’s Place. We were able to drive minutes to the rainforest, then back to the house (to pick up beach chairs and stuff .. which Sue has) and then down to town/beach all within a day.

Here is how I would recommend you decide if you want to stay at Sue’s place. If you are looking to get away, relax, be away from the hustle and bustle of normal life, and willing to drive a little bit to town and the beach….. then Sue’s Place is great. We stayed in the Loft portion of the property which offered plenty of room for the two of us (and bigger than the pictures make it seem) and had all we needed. If you are planning to stay with a larger group I would recommend staying in the other section of the property, but for the two of us the Loft was great. Also the roads as you get up into the rainforest area are a bit narrow and the driveway is basically a dirt road. We had a Ford Focus as a rental car and had not issues but it’s defiantly not a main road….. and you may encounter a horse or group of chickens walking across the road from time to time.

If you are the type of person who needs to have all the amenities of a hotel, wants to party on the town, doesn’t want to drive around and be a walk from the beach, Sue’s is not your place. We realized once we got there how great it was but also realized that it is not for everybody…. Especially if you can’t sleep with ambient noise….. I.E. Coqui frogs all over the place, which for me and my girlfriend were awesome and put us right to sleep.

All in All Sue’s place is great!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave03060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sue's place for the first leg of my annual birthday retreat (aka: escape from NYC winter). The location is great, albeit a bit off the beaten path. Thank god for my designated driver boyfiend! The house is great; it's like staying in your best friend's lake house, but with Coqui frogs and a view of the ocean. Sue is the best. Totally warm and responsive and knowledgeable and seriously just a GREAT lady. Overall, a very serene place to chill for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matildalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luquillo
1.1 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
5.3 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
992 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yunque Mar
Hotel Yunque Mar
#2 of 3 in Luquillo
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
5.6 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.6 mi away
El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sue's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sue's Place

Property: Sue's Place
Address: El Yunque, Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Luquillo
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Sue`s Place Hotel Luquillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing