We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil Paradise: Memories To Cherish”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sue's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luquillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sue's Place
New Ulm
1 review
“Tranquil Paradise: Memories To Cherish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

We traveled from Minnesota and made our arrangements with Sue via cell phone after finding her rentals online. She was the most friendly hostess from the beginning. We did not arrive in Luquillo until late in the evening, and Sue and Bob were nice enough to wait for us at a local gas station to navigate the unfamiliar mountain in the dark. We'd been on the road all day and Sue was with us as we grabbed a few groceries before heading to the Loft. This kind of friendlyness was comforting in a strange place. The map Sue and Bob provided us with was extraordinarily helpful, though guiding us that first night was priceless! The Loft is beautiful. We spent time on the hammock listening to the relaxing sounds of the coqui at night and watching the stars. The Loft was perfect for us, this was our first trip ever without our children. We were able to relax completely in the tranquil paradise location Sue's Rental provided. She went out of her way to be a gracious hostess. The Loft was clean and smelled good. Sue placed fresh cut flowers in various vases in the kitchen and on the deck- this touch in itself was magical. It was so peaceful and wonderful. We spent our days at the beautiful Luquillo beaches and ate at the kioskos almost every day {the food was awesome!} We explored El Yunque for the day and came home to the Loft each night to a beautiful, restful place to stay. The kitchen is perfect for leftovers, and if I wanted to cook I would have- I didn't because we enjoyed eating out so much in the local area. we enjoyed this trip so much, and felt so comfortable and relaxed at Sue's Rental that when we are ready to bring our three boys, we will be renting the Chalet from her when we return! Sue's is definitely a repeat vacation stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaMomma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    7
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

My husband & I just returned from a 7 night stay at Sue's Place. We decided to concentrate our vacation in 1 area versus splitting it up. I did some research online, also using Trip Advisor to narrow down choices. Sue doesn't do a lot of advertising so just got snippets of what place was really about. I put a $100 credit card deposit down over phone with Sue. I paid the balance with a cashiers check.
This was our 1st time visiting as tourists vs. just flying through. Sue met us at bottom of 'hill' at Total gas station and had us follow her. I rented a Intermediate car from Thrifty which I had no hassle with. There is parking for 3 small cars up above. The Loft is tucked down hill from house and Sue lives below that. There is a steep decline to bring suitcases down,etc. too. I recommend sturdy footwear on the gravel.

There is a pretty good size deck overlooking the forest with a hammock. We ended up buying a small charcoal grill (which Sue reimbursed us for) and also a wheeled cooler as added amenities. The Loft window's had screens that allows the air to flow through. My husband allergies did flare up from the dust. There are 2 floor but no ceiling fans. The furniture was basic and the bed could be more comfortable. There were clean sheets and plenty of towels to use. Also a clothes line outside to hang bathing suits and wet towels.

It was about 5 minutes to El Yunque rainforest entrance which we spent 2 days hiking amongst waterfalls, birds and beautiful plants and trees. Also 10-15 mins. from Luquillo beach. Bob rents surfboards and gives lessons. He came down one day & introduced himself. Having done some surfing prior in Hawaii, we rented them for the day and had a blast. Located 45 mins. East of San Juan on very good roads throughout country. We did visit Old San Juan, used Pure Adventure for biobay Fajrado trip and East Wind Sail & Snorkel (both highly recommended).

We ate at Kiosko Tapas 13 along Luqillo beach which was excellent and the Parrot Club in San Juan. We did pack our lunch several times and cooked dinner at Loft. It saved us money and allowed us to eat healthier. We stopped at local fruit stands for mango, papaya, banana, avoacados (off season) and coconuts. Sue made me a papaya/banana smoothie 1 day that was good. She also checked in a few times to see how things were going and that was appreciated. Hoover the cat was a constant presence too. The Coqui frogs would sing us to sleep at night. The mosquitos didn't bother us. If you're squeamish about bugs or basic amenities then stay at resort instead. Driving can be unnerving - watch around corners and drivers not yielding or stopping for red lights.

Pros: Beautiful island, Nice location to access rainforest and beach, A certain charm, Being unplugged from work/internet, Map from Sue of El Yunque/area, Coqui frogs

Cons: No hot water to either kitchen/bath faucet , shower had good pressure/hot water though. Oven didn't work, using broiler took very long time, noise from renters of house above everything carried through when they were on deck and in house, needed a Spring cleaning and more comfortable mattress.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

I loved this place. We rented the Chalet for 4 nights in Feb. I was my huband, myself and a friend. The house is super hard to find so Sue will meet you in town and you follow her up the jungle to the house. She also gives you a map so that you are able to find it again on your own.

We did really well and only got lost once getting back to the house. You are about 8KM above the road through town at the house so you can see all of town from the deck on the 2nd floor. It was exactly like the pictures show on her website www.rainforestrental.com

We spent one day deep sea fishing in Fajardo (about 15-20 mins) away, one day in El Yunque hiking, and one day with Eco tours in the Carisite Forest. We did not go to the beach in Luquillo but it looked really nice. There are lots of resturants in the area and we loved most of them.

The house itself is 3 bedrooms, 2 upstairs with queen beds and one of the kitchen area but there are shutters and curtains giving you privacy. There is a deck off the parking area or reachable through the bathroom on the 1st floor, and a deck off the 2nd floor through one of the bedrooms. The kitchen has everything you would need to cook, although we did not. The beds were super comfy, fancy hotel style.

The house does not have AC or internet, it has tv but we never turned it on. We were there the middle of Feb and used blankets to sleep at night with the overhead fan on and the standing fan in the room. Almost all of the windows are just screen and have shades that can be pulled, but why bother no one can see you. There were no bugs while we were there but apparently they had not had much rain. The frogs are pretty loud but it was great.

If you are looking for an experience in the jungle this is your place, if you are looking for the hilton skip it you will hate it. I would love to go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa_michelle26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

Sue and Bob are awsome and helped us find our way. I'm not sure where to even start with this review. The house was incredible with beautiful views of the city, ocean and rain forest. The property has two balconys where you can sit and take it all in. A great place to unwind and just relax. The frogs put us to sleep every night. Are only regret is that we didn't stay longer. As our kids put it "this is the best vacation house we have ever had". We will be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellboell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

I stay at Sue's whenever I am in the area. It's nestled at the edge of the El Yunke Rain Forest, which is one of the gentlest rain forests in the world (no poisonous snakes, dangerous animals or deadly insects) with a spectacular view of Luquillo and the adjacent coastline. The accommodations are clean, cozy, comfortable and a step above what you would expect from a quest house of this nature. It is owned and operated by a wonderful couple who go out of their way to make sure all their guest receive the kind of attention that will make their stay as pleasant as humanly possible. They are long time residents of the area and are more than happy to take the time to make sure that you are made aware of all the option available to you Not only can they direct you to the best restaurants, bars, beaches for surfing (beginner or advanced) , beaches for snorkeling, beach combing or just walking alone, rain forest trails and back roads, events, festivals and just about any activity you can think of, but will also give you tips on how to deal with any cultural differences you might encounter, such as driving (I like to call it creative driving), drinking in public, public beach etiquette, etc.
Unless you are the kind of person who enjoys looking for things to complain about while on vacation, you couldn't ask for a better place to stay, anywhere in Puerto Rico..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderin003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

Sue is great! if you want a rain forest experience this is it. It is a few steps above camping. dead frogs and lizards in the house and some live ones too. While we were there it was very hot and sticky as there is no A/C just some broken fans so it made it hard to sleep. We had to wash any dishes/utensils before we could use them. Definitely needs some repair work and a good spring cleaning. Don't forget to ask for fresh sheets we had to. It certainty is a special place and a neat house to stay in. But ti did remind me of camping. there is a short cut to El Yunque rain forest that makes it just minutes away but don,t get lost.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank confam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

We didn't actually get to stay at Sue's place, though we were looking forward to staying at the Chalet. Last minute changes had us cancel our stay and Sue was helpful and accommodating to our change.

I always find that one of the primary factors of a pleasant stay is sincere service and a sense that you can trust those you are deal with. We found that with Sue.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyguy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luquillo
1.1 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
5.3 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 3 in Fajardo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yunque Mar
Hotel Yunque Mar
#2 of 4 in Luquillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sue's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sue's Place

Property: Sue's Place
Address: El Yunque, Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Luquillo
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Sue`s Place Hotel Luquillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing