We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Ceiba Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ceiba Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ceiba B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Had a great time staying at the Ceiba Country Inn during our recent trip to Puerto Rico. Easy to find from directions on website. Very basic but clean accommodations. Michael was incredibly helpful in telling us how to get to various places and making recommendations for the area. Easy to get to Fajardo to take the ferry to the smaller islands, and close to El Yunque as well. Breakfast is simple and delicious: fruits, juices, homemade baked goods. We would definitely consider staying again on our next trip! Only cons were that beds could be a little more comfortable!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdarr45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 452 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

The setting is wonderful - if you love listening to frogs and birds into late night and from very early in the morning. I enjoyed hearing some roosters in the morning; he started around 5:30 am.
The room is clean. Shower layout was a bit difficult - the entire bathroom became wet unless you're careful with how the shower head is facing.
The location seemed to have enough parking, a great porch to hangout (and a grill that you can rent to cook your own dinner), a continental breakfast (sometimes with egg and cold cuts aside from home baked sweets, fruits, toast/spread/honey, and cereal/oatmeal) and boardgames and books to help you enjoy your stay at this remote location.
The free wi-fi (it worked in my room), refrigerator and the fan, plus complimentary beach towels were also a good value.
Instead of staying at resorts, I chose to, and will choose again to stay in similar accommodations, because there are no hidden fees. If you're traveling off the beaten path anyways, and like to see the back roads, this is a great place to be!
If you're allergic to puppies and kitties, this location has pets. If you've never seen coconuts and bananas growing, you'll see them here too.
To the staff, I also want to send a thank you for answering all of my questions pertaining to traffic, coffee choices, etc.

Room Tip: There are handicap accessible rooms, but the lounge (breakfast area) is up a flight of stairs). The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a fabulous place! Located in the hills outside of the El Yunque Rainforest and Ceiba, this bed and breakfast was amazing. Our room was open and airy - very comfortable. The surrounding view and grounds are beautiful. The main lounge area was quaint and comfortable. We enjoyed chatting with visitors, playing games (provided), and reading (many books provided as well). In the evenings, you will hear the best rainforest singing by the Coqui frogs. The breakfasts were perfect! Fresh fruit, cereal, juice, yogurt, toast, and homebaked breads and scones. Wonderful start to each day. The details made each day special and memorable. Loved this place and experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kolhan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This place was absolutely wonderful; I don't have enough superlatives to describe the Ceiba Country Inn. We only stayed two nights, but it already felt like home, and I was extremely sad to leave. We planned two packed days in the Fajardo area, and I think we all wished that we had planned a day or half day to simply lounge around the Inn.

The good:
--Utterly charming room, with many wonderful little touches that makes the place feel like home: they provided us with a bag of beach towels (separate from our bath towels), and the common room was stocked with board games, fiction books, and there were binders of restaurant menus and activities in the area. There was a lovely patio area and the view is just amazing.
--VERY quiet and peaceful--we barely heard the other guests (I think this place attracts a quiet crowd), and the forest sounds at night sounded like a relaxation tape. The Coqui frogs made just the lovliest sound (though I've seen some complaints about them!).
--The host--Michael was fantastic; he seemed to genuinely want to make our stay pleasant, and offered great advice on restaurants and activities; he clearly knows the area well, and wants his guests to enjoy themselves. He bakes sweet bread or pastries each day for breakfast, to go with fresh fruit, (much of which is grown on the property), cereal, fruit juice, and yoghurt.
--Surprisingly close--you would think this kind of a peaceful place would be hard to get to--but it's only a few minutes off the interstate. Getting to the rainforest took us about 30 minutes (max) and our boat tour left from a dock only about 15 minutes away.

The Bad:
I can't really think of anything "bad"--just a couple things that could bother people. It's not a traditional hotel or resort; there are no TVs in the rooms, and there aren't extensive amenities. It's fairly isolated, so there aren't restaurants or bars that are walkable. It's pretty much in a rain forest--so, while the rooms are spotless, they probably won't stay that way after you've been in and out a few times.

Also:
Definitely check out the website, There are galleries where you can look at photos of each room. We stayed in room #7, and it was definitely more charming in person than in the pictures.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duodora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We spent (sadly) just one night here, the last night of our Puerto Rico vacation. What a great place! The drive in was easy (about 5 minutes off the main highway), and there are signs pointing the way, which helped reduce some of the stress we had experienced finding other accommodations in Puerto Rico. The grounds are stunning. A beautiful view of the ocean on one side and a beautiful view of the valley on the other. The dogs welcomed and adopted us, the breakfast was light and excellent. We all (I, my wife, and my two teenage daughters) loved our stay here. I hope we can stay here again someday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcookvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you have never been in PR, you must stay here. We wanted to stay longer but unfortunately only one night was available. Even for this one night this was a big winner. Situated a few roads off the main highways, this picturesque bed and breakfast is all you ever imagined and wanted for your vacation. Particularly if you want a romantic vacation. From the moment we arrived we were awed by the beauty of the location. Gorgeous property that sits up the hill offers you incredible views of both the rain forest and the sea. We arrived in the late afternoon and were greeted by Marco who charmingly explained all we needed to know and offered great advice on where to have dinner. Rooms are charming, don't expect luxury, but authenticity and beauty. Great bathroom with a nicely done shower. There is no TV in the room, which was a big plus for us. Far more entertaining is the sound of the birds and other wildlife. Breakfast in the morning is plentiful and a perfect way to start your day. We took another stroll around property in the morning and were accompanied by 3 charming dogs who live on the property. They were so much fun to walk with, particularly a white one - Casper. It was sad feeling to leave, but unfortunately no room was available for the reminder of our stay. Next time we will book this gem of b&b well in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here March 1 through March 6, 2013. What a lovely place! Very peaceful and it felt like we were staying at an old friends or family members house. The dogs were a GREAT addition to our vacation (we are dog lovers). They always greeted you when you arrived and they were there to help with breakfast! Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit, homemade banana bread and fresh coffee (one morning we even had fresh eggs and cheese). Michael's coffee bill has probably diminished since we left! :) Eating on the patio in the morning, listening to the neighboring roosters made an excellent start to the day. I had read reviews that it was hard to find but we had no problems finding the Inn using the directions on the website (and we arrived late on the first night; 1:30AM) We stayed in Room #4, which is in front facing the parking lot. I was worried about excessive noise but did not find that to be a problem. The Coquí frog is refreshing at night and just added to the charm of the Inn. I had also read reviews that they were loud and people had difficulty sleeping. I did not find that as an issue. On the contrary, the sounds lulled me to sleep at night. This is NOT a place for someone who wants the pampering that you get with a resort hotel. This is a place for someone who wants peace and tranquility and who does not mind the sounds of nature!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsharer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ceiba Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceiba Country Inn

Address: Carretera 977, Km. 1.2, Ceiba 00735, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ceiba
Price Range: $75 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ceiba Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 12.5 Acres in the foothills of the Luquillo Mountains of northeastern Puerto Rico, perched on a ridge crossing a valley, the Ceiba Country Inn invites you to come experience the quiet beauty of the countryside. Dramatic views to the ocean with Culebra Island on the horizon, and inland to the rolling mountains of El Yunque await you as the tropical breezes and songs of the birds and coquis welcomes you. The quiet and relaxing environment appeals to those who wish to avoid the glitz and commercialism of the tourist resorts. The lush grounds are full of palm trees, coconut, banana, guava, passion fruit , and other tropical flora. Bird watchers will appreciate the chance to see some of our native species and hear the screech owls at night. The Inn offers 9 comfortable well furnished rooms on the ground level with various sleeping accommodations available. There are 2 separate patio areas with picnic table and seating arrangements for your enjoyment. The upper level of the Inn features the breakfast room, lounge and bar, with a large outdoor Spanish patio with lounge chairs, tables for enjoying outdoor breakfast or meals you may prepare on the provided gas grill. The Inn would also be the perfect location to host small groups, family reunions, and weddings. In-house catering can also be arranged.All rooms have private entrance and feature air conditioning, ceiling fans, mini fridge, telephone, and private bath with shower. All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking permitted outside on the grounds only. Housekeeping available every day during your stay until 12 noon.• A full continental breakfast is included in your stay and served each morning 7am-9am in the breakfast area on the upper level. We feature home made baked goods like banana bread and cinnamon nut coffee cake, Puerto Rican Coffee, and fresh sliced fruit (some from our property when in season) • The Bar is open til 9pm with a selection of soft drinks, bottled water, and juices. • Ice • Free Wi-Fi available in the lounge and on the Spanish patio • TV available at the bar • Hair dryers, Iron & Ironing board available on request • Library filled with both fiction and non fiction titles • Board games, cards and puzzles • Beach towels, beach chairs, coolers for trips to the beach • Information on local activities and points of interest • Gas grill provided on the patio • Microwave and electric tea kettles (yes, you may bring them to your room) available in the lounge! The Hosts will be happy to assist you in any questions regarding activities, shopping, directions and dining in the area, and can arrange reservations or transportation. Please let us know of any dietary restrictions or special diets and we will do our best to accommodate you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Ceiba Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceiba Country Hotel Ceiba
Country Inn Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing