We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Private Seaside Villa”
other travelers have booked this property
We face west for the best sunsets- as view from the veranda.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
We face west for the best sunsets- as view from the veranda.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
We face west for the best sunsets- as view from the veranda.
Our local beach 200 feet from the villa
On the sea offering breathtaking views of the Western Caribbean's pristine sparkling turquoise sea
Direct access to the beach, with private entrance and veranda.
Fully equipped galley kitchen opening onto your own private veranda overlooking the sea.
Hear only the sounds of birds, wind and surf.
Enjoying a romantic sunset.
Collect shells
Enjoy the view from your private area.
Dolphins pods - shark free waters
Our very private beach 200 from the pool area
Fort Charles Beach - a 4 mile beach 1 mile from the property
Snorkel, fish, swim  in the warm crystal clear  waters of the Western Caribbean Sea
Bike or walk
Enjoy you meals and views
Our private beach.
Billy's Bay Beach 1 mile from the property - one of many local beaches in the area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Treasure Beach, Saint Elizabeth Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sarahjose...
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Private Seaside Villa”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Avita Villa is an incredibly special place. The hosts, Fred and Bredda, were phenomenal - communicative, helpful, and just generally lovely. The property itself is stunning and secluded - a private oasis with your own beach (!!), lush yard, covered patio, etc. The pictures don't do it justice, really. The house has a big comfortable bed, A/C and fan, a good-size bathroom and fully functional kitchen. It's everything you would need and could want in a private vacation rental. 110% recommended! Wish I was there right now!

Date of stay: December 2016
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2017
We thank you for the wonderful review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander...
Juneau, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gracious host, quiet beach, simple house.”
Reviewed November 4, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Great.
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Our group of three friends stayed at the cottage for two weeks in October. Prior to our arrival, caretaker Bredda coordinated an airport pick-up in Montego Bay and provided real-time updates on the status of Hurricane Matthew. We were to arrive hours after mainstream US news predicted Matthew would hit Jamaica...but it never did. Bredda kept us in the loop via text, and was at the airport to meet us.
The property is just as the listing describes. A simple kitchen with all the implements, AC in the bedroom, toilet and indoor/outdoor showers. Bedroom includes a king bed, and a twin bed. In the living area, there are two day beds and a two-seat bar area for breakfast. The porch was a perfect spot with a picnic table and adirondack chair. Sunsets were best viewed from hammocks in either of two tikis. The beach is dark sand, lots of big rocks, and plenty of easy paths into the sea. We spent a lot of time snorkling up and down the coast - lots of small fish, a few schools of bait, and lots of other creatures.
Our host, Bredda, was a perfect part of the experience. We did not rent a car, so relied on hired cars or walking to keep supplied. Over the course of two weeks, we ventured out on a couple of boats, and checked out YS Falls. Bredda had our best interests in mind, and connected us with warm and real tour guides. He was graciously available to hook us up with last-minute things, as well. We enjoyed a few meals together.
In summary, Avita Villa is ideal for a simple retreat with loved ones or friends to take in the amazing landscape of Jamaica's southern coast and connect with a few good local folks. Stock up on your way from Montego bay, find the women selling fish in Black River, and hit up the market for produce.

Couple of recommendations:
- Boat from Billy's Bay, up the Black River crabs at the bridge, and to the Pelican Bar is worth the money on a sunny day. Do it.
- Islands off of Alligator Pond. Took a boat out to snorkel for a few hours, and then went to Little Ochie's for a great meal. Expect to pay 25 US for a big meal and a few beers. Great day! Do it.
-YS Falls. We set out for YS in search of another waterfall that we found out had been closed for a year or so. YS was a last-minute decision. This is a huge destination for bigger hotels and tourists...The falls are beautiful, but it's an attraction that has been built up with stairs and decks, rope swings, restaurants. A solid plan B.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2016
Thank for your wonderful review. I will pass it on to Bredda.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PearDr0ps...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in a lovely part of Jamaica”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Want to get away from it all and enjoy life's simple pleasures? Then I'd recommend the Treasure Beach area of Jamaica. We spent four days here and it just wasn't enough. What initially drew us to the area was the Calabash literary festival, a fantastic event held every two years. Though the location of this property was a 15-minute drive away, my partner and I definitely did not regret it. In fact, we liked coming home to our little island oasis - Avita Villa - which we booked through Air B&B.

The property itself is really lovely; very charming. The views are superb. Our cottage - one bedroom with a bathroom and a porch (protected by mosquito netting) - was clean, pretty modern, with wifi and AC - bonus! - and a really good ceiling fan. The sea breeze was so delicious we barely needed it. The room is simply but tastefully furnished with nice artwork on the walls. It's not luxurious, but it's certainly comfortable. On the side of the room is a kitchen we didn't get to use, but I really hope to go back to enjoy it all properly.

There's a little nook with loungers and a hammock that overlooks the ocean below and it was just total bliss. The beach, accessible by proper stairs, is a black sand beach and the sea is a little wild, but I found it interesting and enjoyed paddling.

It was so much better than staying at a resort. Treasure Beach, in St Elizabeth, is a lovely and relaxed part of Jamaica. From Pelican Bar (a bar on a sand bank in the ocean), to a tour of the Black River (see crocodiles!), you can create so many beautiful and original memories. One of the highlights for me was the simple but tasty breakfasts at Smurf's Cafe that serves amazing freshly roasted coffee and delicious smoothies. So cheap! Rent a scooter and get into island life.

The owner connected us with someone to act as a driver, Rambo, who was brilliant as was the on-site caretaker, Bredda. Really great guys, who were a big support to us out of towners.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the grounds
Liked least: A few creepy crawlies, but that's to be expected in the countryside
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard P
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstandig”
Reviewed May 27, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We spent a few wonderful days at Seaview, Treaure Beach.
So good, we stayed an extra day, a real bonus and a special time for us.
We were made very welcome and felt blessed to be sharing this special place with Fred and Alison the owners. New Friends whom we would love to see again.
Looking out to sea, drinking tea and watching the horizon for Dolphins was heaven.
The sunsets were amazing.
If you are looking for a place that is peaceful comfortable and clean then look no further.
There are some good eating places, accessible by car.
We recommend stocking up with a few supplies.
Local people are friendly, helpful and will arrange trips.
A trip to The Pelican is great fun.
Its a long way from England but we would love to go back and stay for longer.

Date of stay: March 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2016
We enjoyed Val & Bernie's visit and hope to see them again. They were the most perfect guest: quiet, considerate, kind and fun to be around.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesbJ17...
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed December 11, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First of all, since the place is a little difficult to get to, Josh met us in Black River and let us follow him back to the Villa. That was a special touch!

From there it only got better. The cottage was gorgeous. It was quiet and secluded. The cottage had excellent WiFi and an amazing view of the sea. There was only a short walk to an amazing beach. Not so great for swimming, but perfect for strolling and dipping. There were plenty of other beaches for swimming that were very close.

Josh and his lovely wife had dinner with us, offered plenty of suggestions on things to do and places to go, and arranged a boat tour for us. We were introduced to locals, treated like friends, and we loved it so very much.

If you want to see authentic Jamaica, feel like a local, be treated like a friend, and still experience an amazing place to stay, GO TO THIS VILLA!

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Josh, the views, and the solitude
Liked least: The WiFi had a tendency to go out every night around 11pm
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2016
We welcome this back and highly recommend them to be your next guest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry D
Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fred has made a beach refuge with Avita Villa. Having stayed twice over the past year it has been really amazing to see the place transform into not only a beautiful getaway, but a place you begin to call home. The groundskeeper Mooney was there to greet us at the gate, accompained by Josh ( who helps manage the property when Fred is in the states). They had just got finished with the screened in patio for the 1 bedroom suite that we stayed in that weekend. Even though he had spent a hard day workling he came and sat down with us to enjoy a red stripe as the sun was going down.

The Bedroom and Suite was the perfect amount of seculsion from the rest of the house. Although it was attached to the house itself the addition of the screened in veranda was a great addition for some relaxing space seperate from the house or other guests on the property. You wont be spending much time in the room itself and the size was perfect for a place to sleep at night, and with the screened in veranda allowed you to open up the doors and let the sea breeze and sound come in to the room.

The Property has the Main house which Fred stays in with his wife when they are in country, the suite that I have previously mentioned, and the cottage where I was able to stay the first time I was at Avita Villa. There are plenty of outdoor spaces to read rand relax on the property with access to what is essentially a private beach with great snorkeling during the clear seasons.

The house is a drive from the treasure beach area (about 10-15 minutes from Jacks Spratt/Jakes) but is still very accessable if you want to head out to dinner or drinks in Great bay or Treasure beach. You have to go to Smurfs for Breakfast, it is well worth the walk or drive. Even if you do not have a rental car Fred and Josh Josh, both are some of the most welcoming people and do everything they can to make sure you get a chance to experience all that treasure beach has to offer.

I would not hesitate to stay again, and hope that I get another chance to stay again soon. Avita Villa continues to be my home away from home and I hope that you get a chance to experience its peace.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Sunset's and Stars
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2016
Another great guest who we welcome back and we recommend as a visitor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carkine62
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Highly recommend this property for a serene laid back holiday.”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed in the one-bedroom suite with its own kitchen and it was extremely comfortable. A relaxing and enjoyable time. Great place to getaway form it all. Will definitely be going back there for another visit. Loved our time there.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location,location and serenity of the place.
Liked least: Had no real dislikes.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2015
C&A were the most perfect guest: quiet, considerate and super neat. They most enjoyed relaxing on the veranda, taking in the sunset and just enjoying the peacefulness of Avita offers. We do welcome them back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing