We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Another unforgettable trip with Captain Joseph

We've been out with Joseph several times before while staying in Treasure Beach. 2 years ago he... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
debs020764
,
Seattle, Washington
A Day You'll Remember Forever

My first trip with Captain Joseph was in 1999. I can remember every detail of it still today. Along... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Drvid
,
Portland, Oregon
Read all 127 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Jamaica
from $141.02
More Info
from $120.60
More Info
from $88.00
More Info
from $125.00
More Info
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
122
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
122
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his son pelican bar private beach lobster his lovely wife black river red stripe unlimited drinks boat ride love boat saw dolphins gourmet lunch cooked to perfection spent the afternoon rough seas beautiful experience day trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 127 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I went to Treasure Beach for the first time with some some friends who had been there many times before. Our friends would often talk about Captain Joseph and the incredible day excursions they had with him so our expectations were high. And Joseph delivered and then some. The spot he picked to have the cookout was outstanding. Beautiful beach with no one and nothing in site except sand and water. The food was terrific (lobster, fresh kingfish, Jamaican Chicken and plenty of beer) cooked up by his lovely and super friendly wife. We truly felt like natives as the cookout was all done in a basic fire/campsite like place. He set up tables, umbrellas, chairs, etc. Nothing fancy which made it all the better. From there we went to the Pelican Bar which is a bar in the middle of the sea. Unreal!!! We had so much fun we went back on another trip with Captain Joseph, cruising up the Black River with crocs, birds and other wildlife to enjoy, ending up at Sister Lu's. Sister Lu's is hard to describe but probably the coolest excursion ever ending up eating the best and unique crab ever. Captain Joseph is just a terrific guy, fun to be with and i cant wait to do it again.

Date of experience: April 2014
1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Such an amazing experience with my kids. Taking a private boat to a deserted beach to swim, snorkel, and eat a special fresh lobster lunch. Then off to take the boat up the Black River and finally for a late beer at the Pelican Bar.
Captain Jospeph is friendly, professional and I highly recommend him to anyone staying at Treasure Beach!

Date of experience: December 2013
1  Thank MatFromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I have been coming to treasure beach for six years. We met Captain Joseph Brown the first time we visited and have continued to rely on his incredible skills and performance in his execution of his excursions. We have also used other captains based in Treasure Beach and, in our opinion no one comes close to Joseph Brown.

His beach cookout is exceptional. Not only are his food choices (king fish and lobster) perfect but they are cooked in the most caring and professional way. The spot he chooses to use is flawless and magnificent. He sets up a private lunch complete with tables, chairs and umbrellas.just for his guests. Wine? Of course! An absolute must if you visit Treasure Beach.

In addition to his incredible beach cookout, he runs trips up Black River through an incredible mangrove swap complete with crocks, herons and other flora and fauna of the region. This trip usually ends at Sister Lu's. An indescribable shack/restaurant that serves the most delicious crab we've ever eaten.

The Pelican Bar, Little Ochie and other attractions are on Captain Joseph's list of thing to do.

This guy is the best. We highly recommend him to all.

Date of experience: April 2014
3  Thank njtravelers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I have been coming to Treasure Beach for a number of years, and every year we do an excursion with Captain Joseph. A native of the area, a family man and entrepreneur, we consider an outing with Joseph and his crew a trip with friends. The kingfish/ lobster outing is unparalleled, simply the best, most lavish and unique meal we have our entire trip. Meanwhile, Joseph is looking out for you your entire trip, and can be counted on for advice and guidance on a daily basis. He's a wonderful person to know. We are so looking forward to spring 2015!

Date of experience: February 2014
Thank mjarema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews