We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“our favourite place in Jamaica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irie Rest Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Treasure Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Irie Rest Guest House
Save
You added Irie Rest Guest House to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 15 Treasure Beach B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“our favourite place in Jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

In January my husband and I did a road trip all around Jamaica, staying at 6 different resorts all over the island from Negril to Morant Bay--and without a doubt Irie Rest Guest House was absolutely the best experience of all (also the most inexpensive)! The vibe is excellent and relaxed, the accomodation is great value. Our room was more like an apartment with a separate kitchen and a lovely screened-in verandah overlooking the blossom-filled courtyard. Treasure Beach is a beautiful part of Jamaica, while not lush like the north coast, there are so many flowers here basking in the golden sunshine and even the earth refuses to be dull shining a bright Terracotta colour. The town has wonderfull places to eat (Jake's, Jack Spratt and of course Irie Rest itself!) and the people and gracious and helpful--not a hustler in sight! Jamaica was so completely refreshing and unexpectedly easy to travel around. We really recommend renting a car (we did and clocked over 2000 km on the odometer!). Take a trip to Alligator Pond for Little Ochi. If your are there around January 6th, take a trip to Accompong for the annual Maroon Festival.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simone01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for some peace and quiet in Jamaica then Treasure Beach is the place to go. Irie Rest Guesthouse is located near the beach and they can arrange boat trips to visit Pelican Bar or Black River for some crocodile watching if you want. Or you can just sit and chat with the locals, listening to music, order some food from the kitchen (this may take a little while though, but the food is good) or go swimming in the sea. Check out Strikeys just up the street for some exellent food if you are visiting in the winter time :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiberbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Love this place. Love Treasure Beach. Love Lenny (cool brother). Love Pauline (sweet soul). Irie is a very relaxed and comfortable spot, which is also how I would describe the whole of Treasure Beach (or at least what I saw). Warm and friendly place. After my first night, Lenny upgraded me to the upstairs one bedroom from the downstairs studio for the same price. Much appreciated. Upstairs was perfect. One bedroom. Veranda. Nice size kitchen with island. Cool and clean white tile floors. Lovely wooden headboard bed. And a fantastic breeze. Only small annoyance was the low water pressure. I mentioned something to Pauline and the shower head was swapped out. A little better, but not all that strong. Hard to sustain annoyance when you’re in Treasure Beach. Irie is on Billy’s Bay. A pretty patch of beach and scenery. Not for good swimming. Check out the different bays. Each bay has its own spirit. Check out St. Elizabeth’s. Beautiful county. Can’t wait to get back to Treasure Beach and Irie.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Illana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Over multiple stays in 2011, Lenny and Pauline went out of their way to make me, my wife and our guests feel right at home. Great location, a bit off the beaten path (in Billy's Bay, but not too far from the more developed center of Treasure Beach), but peace and tranquility abound. Steps from a lovely, secluded beach where we were the only ones there almost every time we visited. Pauline is a lovely, friendly person and very good cook who will cook your meal to order, and have your coffee or tea ready for you once she knows what you like in the AM. Lenny's family has deep roots in the area, he's a great story-teller & throws a great barbecue!! Ask him Anything about Treasure Beach or Jamaica and he'll guide you right! A fantastic value for a very reasonable price.

Thank You, Irie Rest!!!!

Room Tip: My favorite room is an upstairs suite with an enclosed porch/sitting area. Also has a kitchen area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rugger64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed at the Irie Rest Guest House for two nights in December before deciding to move to another guest house closer to the town of Treasure Beach. I had read nothing but excellent reviews of Irie Rest before going, but our experience didn't live up to what others had written.

The positives:
1) Very large, spacious, clean room for the price. It's a good deal!
2) You DO have you own, beautiful, secluded beach, although the water is a bit rough there for swimming.
3) Very quiet and romantic. If you are looking for a place to get a good rest and just read or chill by the beach, it's not a bad choice.

The negatives:
1) It is a LONG walk (35-45 minutes) to the town, where everything else is. We had no idea it was this far when we booked the place. While it's okay to walk during the day, it's not really safe to walk back during the night (not because of the people, but because of the pitch darkness and cars not seeing you). So it's very difficult to go out anywhere at night and there's absolutely nothing to do at the guest house at night other than sleep or read. There's not much of a communal sitting area either. Lenny gave us a ride to town a few times, but wasn't overly helpful in this regard and didn't give us any names of taxis we could call to get back if we needed.
2) Speaking of Lenny, we found him to be a very strange guy. He's sort of helpful, sort of not. He could be really friendly at times, but he also got really defensive when I decided to book a tour with someone other than him. The main reason we didn't go with him is that when he picked us up from the airport, he was an insane driver. He was going at lightening speed around mountain curves. It was very unsafe and unnecessary.
3) We didn't understand the hype about Pauline's food. We had much better food everywhere else. I highly recommend Smurf's Cafe for breakfast and the little fruit/jerk chicken stand on the left side of the road heading toward Jake's! And make trips to Little Ochi's or Eggy's Bar for the best seafood ever!! Also, the first night we arrived we were starving, and Pauline said she could make us chicken or fish. We ordered fish and then when it came time to eat, she just brought us vegetables, claiming that was all we had ordered! We were so confused and very disappointed. We went to bed very hungry!

So, mixed feelings about the place...it's not bad, but we enjoyed staying in town much more.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank greeklassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiecie
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

we were there in November 2010 more than one week. Absolutely great place, far away from touristic areas, very )quiet. A lot of fisherman, local people. Beach just w few steps from the house, very often we were there alone. Room was clear.
we were there also becuase our wedding in Catholic church in Maggotty, about 2 hours from this place.
Pauline made fantastic food, we tested in other places, but always back to Pauline.
Good music every day - "Irie Rest" radio:)
Lennie - the owner - a long story...very positive guy. He was very often our guide.

I guess we will back there some day

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huissen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at Irie Rest guest house for 5 nights in the beginning of August.
Treasure Beach is a beautiful and calm place to stay. We often had the beach to ourselves.
The locals are friendly and helpful. There's Jake's and Jack Spratt for good food and good vibes. It is practical to go there with a rental car if you intend to do things away from the guest house.
Lenny the owner is very friendly and helpful. He will help you with anything you want to know about the surroundings and you can ask him about things to do and places to go.
The rooms are very clean and the beds are good. The price includes airconditioning in the room, which makes the room very cheap! What also really helps is that Lenny screened all the windows and even your private porch outside, which keeps the room pretty much mosquito free!!!!
Pauline makes lovely breakfasts and keeps everything tidy.
Of the four guest houses we visited during our stay in Jamaica we found Irie Rest to have the the best sleeping possibillities (meaning mosquito free rooms, ac, cleanliness) and the best value for money!!!!
We would certainly recommend this guest house to anyone going to Treasure Beach!
We will be back for sure!
Thank you Lenny and Pauline!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Taino Cove
Taino Cove
#3 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
1.0 mi away
Treasure Beach Hotel
Treasure Beach Hotel
#5 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
#1 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Katamah
Katamah
#2 of 15 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunset Resort & Villas
Sunset Resort & Villas
#4 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kudehya Guesthouse
Kudehya Guesthouse
#1 of 15 in Treasure Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irie Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irie Rest Guest House

Property: Irie Rest Guest House
Address: Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Treasure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Irie Rest Guest House Hotel Treasure Beach
Irie Rest Guest House Jamaica/Treasure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing