We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taino Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Taino Cove
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Taino Cove is a wonderful place filled with very loving people. It was so relaxing and went along perfectly with the beautiful landscape in Treasure Beach, Jamaica. If you can stay and it will be like you never left the comforts of your home.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    16
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
36
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

This was our second trip to treasure beach and first stay at Taino Cove. The hotel is a bit away from some of the action that surrounds frenchman's beach, but is within walking distance. The rooms are super clean, well furnished and very roomy. The staff -- especially Trudy -- is very capable and courteous.

The highlight was the breakfast -- from our last visit, we had gotten used to going to Pardy's Coffee Shop (they have been written up in NYT, and is a great breakfast place). But after having the jamaican breakfast at Taino Cove, we felt it was a notch higher. And we were very sad that we had to checkout early on our last day without enjoying another plate of the same.

Two things they can do better -- real coffe instead of what might have been instant. And if at all possible, work on the water pressure in the showers (this is a common problem across most hotels we've been to in Jamaica).


Overall, very spacious and clean rooms with superb breakfast, short walk from frenchman's beach. 25 minutes walk to jack sprat.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have tall ceilings, and feel very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shyam-h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Just returned last night from 7 nights at Taino Cove; what a great place! Treasure beach really is a treasure -- exactly what we were looking for: safe, quiet, removed from tourists, good food, good people.

Trudy and Keisha took great care of us - we left with a new Jamaican family. Winnie (owner) is super cool as is everyone else around - Henry, Auburn and Winnie's family. The inn is about a mile walk to town (either by beach or road) and everyone in town is nice and friendly. The area is super safe so no need to worry about walking around in the dark.

If you want to escape nonsense high rise hotels, hawkers and annoying tourists all over, then this is the place to be. If you are one of those travelers that wants the typical conveniences of modern day life, then stay away - this is super low key, mellow, you eat what's available (and it's always great) and don't rush anything.

Breakfast (continental) was served every morning and you can add-on more, like eggs or ackee and saltfish. Dinners are also an extra charge, but so worth it. Save time though to eat at some local places like Pardy's or Smurf's for breakfast, dinner at MarBlu (a treat) or the Dutch pot and even better, dinner from one of the several street vendors making jerk chicken or fish.

What an amazing place!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have great light. We had the oceanfront upstairs suite - great views, breeze and cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candaflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

We had the pleasure of spending 5 days at Tiano Cove. It was pure bliss!! The ocean was beautiful and we enjoyed that we could walk down to the beach easily from the hotel.

We enjoyed walking to thru the small towns and visiting the local restaurants.

The "staff" (I hate to say staff because they felt like friends) are AMAZING! Henry showed us around, looked out for us like we were his sisters and drove us to his favorite spots on the island.
Angie and Byron prepared excellent fresh dishes for us.
Trudy tried to help us with all of our needs, big or small....including extra coffee in the morning!

And Winnie (the owner) was amazing. We enjoyed leisurely conversations about politics, womanhood, community...you name it! She was inspiring and I felt like I was meant to meet her and take in her energy!!

If you are looking for a relaxing, spiritual, nourturing vacation...this is the spot for you. No one "bothered us' or "tried to sell us anything" as I had heard from friends who had visited all-inclusive resorts. The Jamacains that we met were loving, proud, and caring. They shared many hours visiting with us and teaching us about their lovely island.

XO Melisa from Michigan

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

The Taino Cove was a great find, and is located on the South Coast of Jamaica. This sunkist colored hotel sits tucked away on one end of Treasure Beach. The owner, Mrs. Winnie Hilton, greeted us upon arrival and quickly made us feel a part of the Jamaican culture. My husband and our thirteen year old son stayed for eight wonderful days.
We took full advantage of the accommodations. We stayed on the pool level, which had French-doors that opened up to the sea views. The room’s décor was simple chic, with the basic amenities and an AC. This is a place of relaxation, a time to catch up on some reading or watch some personal DVD’s, which can be viewed in the common area. Trudy, one of the staffers, made sure we were comfortable at all times. The continental breakfast was included in the room rate. If you want a traditional Jamaican or American breakfast, Angie’s cooking is well worth the added cost, just make sure you have cash for payment. Credit is only accepted for the room’s rate. Unfortunately, we only experienced one night of dinner, only because we did not know any better. Had we known that a personalized menu could be prepared within a day’s notice, we would have had dinner each night. Yes, it was that good!
Whether you feel like dipping into the pool, or the sea, both are refreshing. Don’t let the waves and coral reef fool you. Just around the bend are two very calm coves with enough sand for the kids to play or you. The calm beach coves are accessible from the beach side or a 3 minute walk out of the front doors. The beaches are public in Jamaica and there is some sort of path provided for access.
We look forward to our next trip and plan on bringing our extended family of five. The Taino Cottage would accommodate all of us in one unit. If I knew about Taino Cove in 2009, I would have had my husband’s fiftieth surprise birthday there!
There are many different sites to visit all located on the south coast. Look at Taino Cove’s website for more details. http://www.tainocove.com/amenities.htm

We really had a great time and we highly recommend you stay at Taino Cove when you plan your trip to Jamaica.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamaicasouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winooski, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

A friend and I had a wonderful 4-night stay in Taino Cove in March 2011. We were looking for peace and quiet, and that's EXACTLY what we found. Winnie, Henry, and Angie took amazing care of us! We spent our time eating and reading by the pool, walking on the beach, and swimming in the ocean. Henry arranged for a boat to take us to Pelican Bar -- Ted (and the beautiful Flora) picked us up in their boat right on the water! We ate at Jake’s and Jack Sprat’s, and when we didn’t want to go out, Angie whipped up a delicious dinner of fish and vegetables. Everyone was so friendly and genuine, we really felt that we were among friends. We had a truly fabulous time and definitely weren’t ready to leave.

The room (on the second floor with a balcony and 2 double beds) was very pleasant. We slept every night with the French doors open, and the sound of the waves crashing on the shore was heaven. One piece of advice, however: don’t bring food into your room, or the ants will find it. It wasn’t a big deal, but just be aware that those little bugger are determined.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

We just spent an amazingly relaxing week at the isolated and private Taino Cove Hotel in Treasure Beach Jamaica in St. Elizabeth Parish on the south coast.
You will feel welcomed like family when you are arrive. Miss Winnie and her staff of Trudie, Angie and Henry will shower you with attention, attend to your every need, cook your meals to order, arrange excursions or, just leave you to the quiet if you choose.

The beach upon which Taino Cove sits is in it's own private cove. You can walk the beach in either direction and rarely see another soul. If lots of action, pushy vendors, noisy bars, crowds of tourists are your thing, then Treasure Beach is not for you. But, if you want serenity, beauty and solitude without having anything to worry about, then head to Taino Cove.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcf48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Beach
1.2 mi away
Treasure Beach Hotel
Treasure Beach Hotel
#5 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
48.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
47.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
#1 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Resort & Villas
Sunset Resort & Villas
#3 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marblue Villa Suites
Marblue Villa Suites
#2 of 5 in Treasure Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taino Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taino Cove

Property: Taino Cove
Address: Old Wharf | Treasure Beach, Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Beach Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Taino Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taino Cove is a serene getaway where you can fully enjoy the still-unspoiled side of Jamaica. Whether coordinating an intimate, extended-stay retreat, or you just need a quiet place to rest your head between island adventures, your stay at Taino Cove can be tailored to fit your heart's desire. Relax and enjoy our peaceful balance of comfort and warm, attentive hospitality. At Taino Cove, you can get away from it all by escaping to your own private paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Taino Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taino Cove Treasure Beach
Taino Cove Hotel Treasure Beach
Taino Cove Jamaica/Treasure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing