We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Ital Food”

Gee Wiz Vegetarian Restaurant
Cuisines: Jamaican, Caribbean, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Ital Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

The food was fantastic - we ordered the mixed platter and received Ital Stew, rice and peas, veggie chunks, salad, and more. We also tried one of the many available elixirs, Baba Roots. The server (also an owner?) was an incredibly positive, friendly Rastaman who clearly cooked and served the food with love. This was hands-down one of the best meals we had on the island. We were utterly satiated and pleased at the end, and honestly quite surprised that at 6PM on a Friday there was only one other diner there: if this place were here in California it would be packed constantly!

If you go to Treasure Beach, do not leave without trying Gee Wiz. You'll get the chance to try real Ital food, speak with genuinely kind servers/owners who are happy to chat and answer questions, and enjoy a bright, cheerful restaurant setting.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank greengal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing Ital Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

2 Friendly brothers run this amazing vegetarian restaurant! Their food is fresh and cooked with love.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nneka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Ital food that is actually exciting and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We tried out this little place based on the reviews here and because I'm a vegetarian. I happen to be a vegetarian who values flavour and so often I'm weary to try restaurants that are primarily vegetarians. In addition my husband most definitely an omnivore so we rarely go completely vegetarian. However we saw this little ital restaurant has fish too (little fish are sometimes considered ital). When we arrived a Ras explained the food, a vegetarian platter for me and fish with vegetarian sides for my husband. Seeing how very mellow the cooks were we decided to sit outside the back of the restaurant and get a bit mellow ourselves. Summoned back to our table we were served a huge amount of food on enormous plates. To my delight the vegetarian selection was all so flavourful with about 6 different things on my plate. My husband's fish was great too-he ate his whole meal without stopping once to chat.
If you're in Treasure Beach you should try this place for sure. Don't be afraid of the vegetarian status of the restaurant, the fish is good and the veggies are flavourful!

Helpful?
2 Thank Simone01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent meal!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Great food great atmosphere, the rice and veggies are seasoned to perfection!definitely worth checking out if you will be staying in the Treasure Beach area..!!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Goldrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super great vibes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

i took a short trip to Treasure beach this reach and found "Gee Wiz". to be a treasure of a restaurant. The Rasta's preparing the food are super professional and friendly and prepared a beautiful ITAL lunch for my friends and me. We ended up going back three times because the food and juices they prepared were that delicious!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Waldenwoman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gee Wiz Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

Treasure Beach, Saint Elizabeth Parish
Treasure Beach, Saint Elizabeth Parish
 
Treasure Beach, Saint Elizabeth Parish
Treasure Beach, Saint Elizabeth Parish
 
Treasure Beach, Saint Elizabeth Parish
Treasure Beach, Saint Elizabeth Parish
 

Been to Gee Wiz Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing