We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Heavenly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Resort & Villas
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Having visited Jamaica over 30 times since 1975 I was looking for a great spot for my 25th Wedding Anniversary in April 2012. My wife and I had honeymooned in Negril in 1997 but since that time Negril has grown too big and busy for us. After much searching for the right spot I came across Cory South at Sunset Resort & Villas. Having visited Treasure Beach back in 1981 I remembered it as a quiet fishing village. After corresponding with Cory we decided to stay with him during our visit to TB. We stayed in Sunset Dream 1 cottage which was exactly what we were looking for. It includes a huge bedroom, a full kitchen, modest bathroom and a beautiful porch / veranda overlooking the Caribbean Sea. From the minute we arrived until we left we were treated with the kindness and respect that we were hoping for. On the 25th, our Anniversary Cory's wife Janette set up a special dinner table by the pool by the main building and we enjoyed an unbelievably beautiful sunset while we dined on a superb fresh caught fish dinner. The food at the Sunset Resort was exceptional with an included breakfast consisting of either fresh Jamaican fruit or French Toast. The Jamaican Coffee was a delight in itself. The pool was always clean and very refreshing and it was great to take a dip in the morning or after a long walk on the lengthy beach only a few steps from the Resort. The entire staff at Sunset Resort & Villas treated us as family and we always felt safe and secure there. Sunset Dream 1 is located a few yards from the main hotel area and is a stone's throw from the sea. At night the waves splashing on the beach was soothing and peaceful and ensured a great night sleep. One day I went deep sea fishing with Talla, a local fishing guide. We caught a total of 19 fish including Kingfish, Tuna, Barracuda, and Dolphin (the fish not the mammal). Having been fishing in other parts of Jamaica and Florida and coming up empty handed this was a blast. The best part being that we enjoyed the Dolphin that night prepared by Joyce and Lola in the Sunset Resort kitchen. I also visited the Appleton Estate Rum Factory only a short ride from Treasure Beach, where I was lucky enough to meet with Joy Spence the Master Blender at Appleton Estate. There are many fun things to do at TB and the surrounding areas. Needless to say it was difficult saying goodbye after our 7 day stay but as they say all good things must come to an end. A year later (today) I look back on our trip and only wish we were spending our 26th Anniversary (tomorrow) with Cory & Family. If Jamaica is where you are going then Sunset Resort should be your destination. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have great views but we loved Sunset Dream 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    20
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
THarbor, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Having visited the Island of Jamaica 6 times we decided to look around for a different window to look out of so to speak! We explored Treasure Beach.net and it sold us on visiting their beautiful area. TB is all the web site said it was and more. We spent 4 night's at the Sunset Resort and had a fantastic visit. ALL of the staff were terrific as was our Host & Hostess Kory & Janet. We were sad to leave on our last day there, if we knew how much we were going to love it there we would have booked more time there but had to move on to our final destination in Negril. My husband had a great day of fishing with Kory and Talla. Thank's guy's he was in heaven. He will surely want to come back soon!!!! And to John from Ca. you must have missed Eggy's!!! Sorry for you, great little place. Thank-you everyone at the Sunset Resort, soon come mon!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I arrived in Treasure beach started looking around at the four major hotels in the area. Jakes was nice but no TV. I settled for Sunset Resort Villa after looking at all the rooms in each resort this was without a doubt the best choice. The suites were larger and good views of the ocean. Staff we friendly. Just be advised that there is no night life near by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0hn_fr0m_Calif0rnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

To Whom It May Concern:

it is my pleasure to enter comments regarding your establishment. My family and I came to the Sunset Resort Villa at Treasure Beach to attend a birthday party. Our host scheduled several activities for the family to do. As soon as i arrived this facility I immediately cancelled a few of the activities. The pleasing sunrise and the captivating sounds of the ocean were so breath taking and beautiful I decided to just relax and enjoy the view.

The staff greeted me and my family with a warm smile and a kind hello. We ordered food which we found quite tasty and nice. During our week stay my family and I discussed how satisfied were were with the accommodations selected for us.

We are making a point to express our appreciation for the professional service provided to us in an attempt to ensure their efforts do not go unnoticed. We often hear it said that bad news travels fast and good news travels slow. This comment is our attempt to ensure the good news about The Sunset Resort Villa here at Treasure beach spreads.

If a person wants to experience the elegance of a calm pleasant atmosphere this is the place to stay. The staff is warm and proficient. The food is delightful and the suites are well worth the price. The ocean view is heaven sent.

the names of those who provided this excellent service were as follows:

1. Mr. Cory South
2. Ms. Janette South

3. Jodiann
4. Shamara
5. Joyce - What a cook.
6. Melony
7. Velma
8. Lola - Also a good cook
9. CC
10. Sherine

Room Tip: There was no Spa or Fitness Center at this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank laureenej j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, On
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We just spent another 9 days at the Sunset and it just keeps getting better. Four of us stayed in Sunset 1 and 2 and it was like having our own private villa with the best staff in the world. Anything you need you got, just ask. If you want to get away from the hustle in places like Nigril and Mobay this is the place. Treasure Beach is what you dream of when you think Jamaica, laid back, freindly people, great food and pure RELAX. Kory and his crew know how to make it happen! Our last night there we watched as Janet set-up a private table for a couple enjoying their 25th wedding anniversary with the sun going down into the most beautiful sunset and I am sure it made the feel very special. Way2Go Janet and staff, you are the best. If you want the true Jamaica its "here" and we have travelled all over the island. So if you do come nd find out what we know,DON'T TELL ANYONE. Thanks Kory see you soon. Irie. PS, the fishing is great, Thanks Talla.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RobandPamKingston_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

From the moment you arrive in Treasure Beach you feel like you are home. The people are very friendly, the fishing village is very safe and the food is excellent. And best of all it is a very relaxing place to be. Sunset Resort offers a very reasonable rate, the staff are very friendly and the owners Kory and Janet are always there to help you. Relax by the pool or take a morning trip out fishing with Kory or one of the many local fisherman to catch a tuna or King fish, even Barracuda. You can also make a day trip by boat to Black River with Captain Ted and check out the crocodiles and fascinating eco system of the river and on your way back stop at Floyd's Pelican Bar right out in the ocean to enjoy a nice cold Red Stripe. The suites at Sunset Villa are very comfortable with hot and cold water, air conditioning if you need it and cable TV in case you run into a rainy day. My room overlooked the ocean and always had a beautiful ocean breeze. Another thing to do while in Treasure Beach is to make sure you find Captain Dennis. He provides a beautiful 2 hour trip on the Shallow Bar in calm waters which takes you to Great Bay where you can swim in the warm clear waters or just stay on board and enjoy the music and cold beer with your friends, he also does the Black River tour as well. After your cruise make sure you stop in at Eggy's Beach Bar which is a fun place to gather and watch the fabulous sunsets with friends. Eggy has a very delicious seafood menu and ice cold Red Stripe always on hand. Here you can hang out with the locals or other vacationers and meet new friends. After sunset head back up the road to Kory's Sunset Villa and enjoy a beautiful US grade "A" steak and all the trimmings. It truly is well worth the 2 1/2 hour drive from Montego Bay . Call ahead and Kory can arrange for someone to pick you up at the airport.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very spacious with comfortable king size beds and a single bed in each room. So w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We were actually staying in Runaway Bay but booked a 3 night mini trip to Treasure Beach.
I had thought about booking Jakes but found this small, intimate hotel and it looked so "nice" I booked it.
Oh wow, did I make the right choice, we had an absolute ball here. It is so much more than nice, it's wonderful.

The view is stunning and the sunsets are just incredible.

We stayed in Black Beauty, one of the rooms right off the pool, brilliant for a dip in the pool before breakfast.
As previously reviewed, the rooms are a good size and have all the facilites you need. I'm sure any room would be perfect, just pick one from the website and book it.

The staff are superb, they cannot do enough for you, including booking trips.

The absolute highlight was the evening of our wedding anniversary. As we approached the restaurant area, romantic music started playing, drinks arrived and both continued throughout our pre-booked meal.

A massive thankyou to Melanie, Janet and Nola. Irie Mon!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank soolooSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Beach
0.7 mi away
Treasure Beach Hotel
Treasure Beach Hotel
#5 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taino Cove
Taino Cove
#3 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
47.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
#1 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marblue Villa Suites
Marblue Villa Suites
#2 of 5 in Treasure Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Katamah
Katamah
#2 of 14 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resort & Villas

Property: Sunset Resort & Villas
Address: Calabash Bay P.A. | St. Elizabeth, Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Resort & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Resort & Villas is "a little piece of Heaven", located on the boarder of Calabash Bay and Frenchman Bay; in Treasure Beach, ST. Elizabeth. This beautiful Resort & Villa is equipped with 14 bedrooms, a/c, cable TV, Wi-Fi, a swimming pool, and, a bar & restaurant. Sunset Resort is a step off the golden sand beach of Calabash Bay. To plan the holiday of your dreams, a wedding, or a fishing excursion please feel free to contact the warm and welcoming staff at Sunset Resort and Villas for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sunset Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Resort Villa Hotel Treasure Beach
Sunset Hotel Jamaica
Sunset Resort Jamaica
Sunset Resort & Villas Jamaica/Treasure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing