We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My stay at Treasure Beach hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treasure Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Treasure Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
London - UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My stay at Treasure Beach hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2008

You can see that the Treasure beach Hotel was once probably a nice hotel but it is now very tired looking and desperately needs to be refurbished.

There are two pools neither of which were that clean but were usable – there is also a hot tub but it was not in use.

The beach on Treasure beach is great, no hustle no bustle, you literally have the beach to yourself which I loved. Real pity they have no loungers though. I would not recommend for young children as the sea is very choppy – probably good for surfers. The water is crystal clear with no seaweed ( i hate standing on the stuff).

Our rooms had a garden view and most days there was a lack of water for a period.

Food here was very expensive so we eat out most nights – Jakes and Jack Sprats just up the road are really food – also we eat at Winsome’s on the beach, her place is not as posh as Jakes or Jack Sprat but her food is good and she is a really nice lady.

You really need a car when staying here but be careful driving around as the roads are very bad (lots of pot holes) and most of the local drivers who are more familiar with the road drive fast – the limit is 50km per hour. People blow their horns a lots out here which I really did not understand, however it was explained to me that they blow to warn people that they are approaching especially where there are blind corners

I have been coming to Jamaica now on a regular basis for over 10 years mainly staying in Negril, Ochi or Montego and would highly recommend this area. It’s peaceful, the people are lovely and you feel very safe. During my entire stay I was not approached by anyone trying to sell me anything or ask me for anything. I definitely would come back to Treasure beach.

I really enjoyed my time a Treasure beach – the staff at the hotel went out of their way to look after us and try and resolve any problems. I think however the management need to spend some money on the hotel which really could be a lovely place. I visited Jakes just up the road (they were full) and i would say that Treasure Beach has the potential to be a far better hotel but it lacks good management and desperately need to be refurbished. There only saving grace right now really is that they have good and loyal staff.

I would like to thank all the staff at Treasure beach for making our stay a pleasant one.

  • Liked — i felt very safe in the area - people were friendly
  • Disliked — the hotel could have been a lot nicer - lack of beach loungers - lack of water
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sandraatpropertywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    29
    8
    10
    12
See reviews for
16
44
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

I stayed here for 4 days on a business retreat and loved every minute of it. Staff were friendly, rooms were clean, the grounds were well-kept and I had a great stay. The water pressure was a little low, particularly in the mornings but aside from that I had no complaints. We ate at the hotel restaurant as part of our package and the food was decent and reasonably priced. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Service, room and beach/sun.
  • Disliked — There are many stairs to the rooms we stayed in, might be hard for eldery/ people with disabilites.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Rubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

i stayed at the treasure beach hotel for a couple nights the first week of june 2008.

i was here 18 years ago. it has lost some of it's luster. it's a little faded these days. needs some paint. all of the staff working there were very kind, smiling, and helpful.

it's on a wonderful piece of land. with great views, two swimming pools, sitting on a hillside above the caribbean. one of the few places in jamaica with nice waves. the grounds have many beautiful trees, plants and flowers. there is very little to do here. if you want a place that's way out of the way to relax and do absolutely nothing, then this is the place.

the rooms are very basic. there were only 3 cable channels on tv, but i didn't go to watch tv so that wasn't a big problem. if you want to see tv the choices were pretty bad (i wished i had a news channel).

the water pressure in the shower was very low. but that's st. elizabeth for you. it's always very dry here.

there are many things to see in the area if you have your own car. and you can always hire someone to take you around if you don't.

i was traveling alone and enjoyed the solitude there. i'm not sure how many rooms it has, but i'm assuming there must be around 30 or so. i and one other couple were the only ones staying there in the beginning of june. so it was very quiet. except for the sounds of the waves. no luxury here. very basic. but not bad at all!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — a little negleted
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamdownron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

We just returned from a 6 day, 5 night trip to Treasure Beach, Jamaica. We stayed in the Treasure Beach Hotel, which was priced very reasonable and had modest, but clean and comfortable accomodations. The hotel rooms had satelite TV and air conditioning, which seem to be missing in a lot of the other hotels and guest houses. The food was passable, but we found the food at Jake's Restaurant, down the street, more to our liking because of the professional chef on staff there.

The beach, beautiful flowers (complete with butterflies), and tropical plants were amazing! Although it was December, the Carribean water was warm and we swam every day. The only draw back was the 2 1/2 hour trip from the Montego Bay airport on narrow roads that were in very bad condition. Thank goodness we didn't rent a car and try to find the way ourselves. A shuttle van is available for $120 US dollars (one way) and is the only way to go!

Treasure Beach is in a very isolated, undeveloped area, so don't go looking for a lot of things to do. However, if you want to take a vacation where you just eat, sleep, swim, read, take long walks, and enjoy the tropical beauty and majestic sunsets, then this place is for you! It is totally unspoiled and rustic - the "real Jamaica". The local people are extremely friendly and will probably invite you into their homes to visit and get to know you. You will see (and hear the crack) of dominos being energetically put on the table during domino games. We even attended a church service there and was welcomed with open arms, especially by the children who crowded around us. The Jamaicans are truly beautiful, happy people, despite their economic situation in this area.

Don't miss going to the bakery which is down the road from the Treasure Beach Hotel. There is not a sign saying "Bakery" because Hurricane Dean blew it away and they haven't bothered to replace it. However, delicious banana, coconut, and orange breads can be purchased there as well as cinnamon rolls and bagettes. The best Pina Colatas can be purchased at Dougie's Bar at Jakes, to be enjoyed while you are watching a glorious sunset in the comfortable chairs. Be sure to bring an ample supply of insect repellent for the mosquitos. If you are eating at the outdoor restaurant at Jakes, ask for a "coil" which burns and releases a bug repellant into the air. It works great!

We felt safe walking after dark through the area. There are street lights and other people out walking also. I would recommend this place to anyone who would like a "quieter" type of vacation - your own little unspoiled paradise.

Helpful?
3 Thank KyJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhenke
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2008

Didn't actually stay at the hotel, but wanted to eat lunch there and then use their beach. Would you know that they have the gall to ask you US$25 for access to their beach (which is a public and publicly accessible beach anyhow!)? Of course, we were in nno mood to pay 100 bucks just to get to their beach and so they lost our lunch and anything else we might have consumed while using the beach. (N.B.: we only saw one guest).

This hotel must be a rip-off.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
Helpful?
1 Thank hhenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2007

It sounds like this used to be a much better hotel than it is now. The photos on various websites for this hotel do not reflect the current state of the hotel and the grounds. Not only was I and my family disappointed (we only stayed one night and left), but a couple other visitors we met there also did not have a good experience. Nobody I talked with had water pressure to take a decent shower. Only one pool was in service, and it was not very clean. The hot tub alongside the functioning pool was empty/not functioning. The nice white lounge chairs are no longer there - replaced by old wooden ones with chair pads that were dirty/falling apart. I had 2 rooms for my family. One room did not have doors in the bathroom. I never got the remote control for my TV - the one they originally brought did not work. I can add more detail...but you get the picture.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank TravelFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2006

Opening page: Couple on beach relaxing in beach chairs. Not there. It would have been nice to find recliners on the beach.
Enter website: Two fresh water swimming pools...pools were not clean. Bugs/debris cluttered pools. After 'pool man' cleaned them only 1 worth letting the kids get into.
And a jacuzzi...Jacuzzi was empty.
Poolside bar...Poolside bar hasnt been open in quiet a while it seemed.
Succulent fresh fish and lobster...No lobster. Pages were left from the menu furnised to the room hence sending us elsewhere for lunch & dinner as there were not many choices on menus in the rooms.
Discover bountiful seashells...must not have been shell season.
2 rooms were reserved, Ocean view, as after returning the day before from a 12 hour flight I was looking forward to sitting on the veranda, relaxing with the sound of the ocean.
And a Garden view for other family members who are local and
did not want the Ocean view. After walking our family to the Garden view and seeing that they were able to see the ocean, I felt surely our room would be a much better view.
After paying more for the Ocean view room, no ocean was to be seen.

Helpful?
9 Thank tammybaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Beach
1.2 mi away
Taino Cove
Taino Cove
#4 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
11.8 mi away
Idlers' Rest Beach Hotel
Idlers' Rest Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Black River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
#1 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunset Resort & Villas
Sunset Resort & Villas
#3 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Katamah
Katamah
#2 of 14 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marblue Villa Suites
Marblue Villa Suites
#2 of 5 in Treasure Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Beach Hotel

Property: Treasure Beach Hotel
Address: Frenchman | South Coast, Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Treasure Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, eco-friendly thirty-two room beachfront resort, with lush vegetation and dotted with Sabal palm trees. A bird watching paradise. Situated on an elevation overlooking the Blue Caribbean sea. Wedding, honeymoon and small meeting packages available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Treasure Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Beach St Elizabeth
Treasure Beach Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing