We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Mandeville Hotel(Mandeville)
$85
$67
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golf View Hotel(Mandeville)
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Heal Jamaica(Petersfield)
$40
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Room Service
Marblue Villa Suites(Treasure Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Resort & Villas(Treasure Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Treasure Beach Hotel(Treasure Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taino Cove(Treasure Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (736)
Filter reviews
736 results
Traveler rating
516
147
32
20
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
516
147
32
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjack spratabalonecocklespelican barpizzathe salt water poolys fallslaid backoutdoor showeryoga retreatseafoodoctopushope housefarm to tableblack rivercaptain josephhour drive
Filter
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 736 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

lets start by saying thank you to all Jakes staff from pool staff on up. There is no lack of smiles/hellos and service here. I've seen some reviews, trust me if you treat others like people and not staff(anywhere) you'll never have a problem. we spent 11 days of peace/quiet/great food/people and location. tired of all inclusives? this is the place to go. ya so what, the drive is not great, but whatever, keeps the tourists out! If you're looking for 5 star amenities, then this is not for you. All rooms/cottages are unique, from simple to deluxe. I cant emphasize more that you're going for rest and not party. This is a mostly residential area where EVERYONE says hello as you walk down the street(i've tried doing this at home and it just doesnt work) The chef at Jakes is amazing and although a bit more pricey, worth having dinner here for sure. Jack Spratts next door is good fun as well as many other locals. it was nice to patronize all in the immediate area as they are all just making a living. We didnt have a bad meal or experience anywhere. If you are looking for something different, dont hesitate to come to Jakes. again if you are looking for a big splashy hotel then this isnt for you. Jakes caters to the more seasoned traveller who is sick and tired of the same old, tons of food/booze and acres of land with bells and whistles everywhere. Just go and enjoy the ocean/hospitality of the Henzell family and forget about home. And if you have a group of friends, dont rule out the 3 villas, they are AMAZING and well worth it. Jakes also boasts 2 and 3 bedroom cottages that are beautiful. E mail me any time for more comments.

Room Tip: going with friends? again consider the villas or 2/3 bedroom cottages.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Jake's sits on a gorgeous stretch of rocky beach. it's beautiful, it's quaint, it's lush and the staff is always friendly. And with a seaside cabin, you'll never wake up to a more beautiful view. Hands down, the scenery, the location - it's stunning and when you wake up you can't wait to throw open the wooden shutters. And don't they know it. The staff was always wonderful (and our driver made our trip - where to go, where to eat) - but the management seemed indifferent at best to downright grumpy. And i'm not overly picky - but after five days and five days of saying the toilet was broken and five days of "if it's yellow be mellow" it'd have been nice for management to say - hey, sorry about that, we'll get it fixed. Or even "good morning". Or a smile. Gorgeous location but i don't know if i'd recommend it.

Room Tip: get a seaside room - the view is worth every penny.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynx74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

One of the best weekends of our lives! My wife and I just returned from another weekend at Jakes. It was our second year in a row making our way to this small slice of paradise in Treasure Beach with another couple that introduced us to the spot. We participated in Jakes Offroad Triathlon on Saturday and were treated to an incredible evening under the stars. Turns out Jakes owner, Jason Henzell, had coordinated the first ever boxing event in Treasure Beach between some of the best amateur boxers from Canada and Jamaica. What an experience. You really can't say enough about Jason and the entire Jakes staff. You are treated like family from the moment you arrive. If you are looking for a truly authentic Jamaican experience, this is the place for you. I can't say enough about the food, the hospitality, the vibe, the community, the history and most importantly the people. Can't wait to go back again. A truly incredible experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyThum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Quite beaches without the beach vendors, wonderful Calabash Bay Villa with beautiful rooms with ensuite bathrooms, full kitchen. Perfect for four couples. Excellent food at Jake's and Jack Sprat restaurants with many local watering holes in a friendly and safe community. A memorable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrorizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent the past weekend at Jakes and had one of the best weekends of our lives! My wife and another couple went down to Jakes for the triathlon this year. It was very well organized and it's more social than competitive. Everyone encouraging each other.

Then in the evening they had a amateur boxing match Canada vs. Jamaica. Great atmosphere with 1000 people attending including former Heavyweight Champ Lennox Lewis. It was a truly unique vibe and a great experience.

Jason Henzell is one of the best hotel operators in the Caribbean. He and his staff really take care of their guests and share their community vibe with everyone.

Hotel is very friendly with the best customer service I have experienced in the Caribbean. Lots of things to do. We played tennis, swam, biked and explored the community. Great people live in this area and are very friendly with guests.

Rooms are great and very unique. Food was fantastic. Dougies Bar is the best and Jack Sprat is a great beach restaurant.

Just a loving fabolous place. Really makes you feel at home and I long to go back (actually going back in June!).

You'll love this place!

Sincerely,

Karl

Room Tip: Cowrie down is the largest one bedroom unit.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews