We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chilling place, nice pool and super friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I didn't stay here but only used the outdoor area to chill and use the amenities for three days.

Food was great, service was excellent, they do a great BBQ in the evening.
Jakes didn't mind us at all as day guests.

The tables are so well spaced out without any intrusion.
You can swim in the sea by descending down some steps but care needed due to rocks where the sea is not too deep. It's within a protected area and the waters can be choppy .
well worth a consideration if you want to chill somewhere that really nice with good service.
Beautiful sunsets quaranteed from Jakes pool area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NearlyThere63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
There are newer reviews for Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 699 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

I was born and raised in Jamaica until age 16. When I go back home on vacation, I am not interested in "cookie cutter" resorts. Thank God for Jakes! Since the early 2000's, I have stayed at Jakes over half a dozen times. Never disappointed. The staff treat you like family. You get the sense that they truely enjoy working there. The rooms are unique and the the ocean views breathtaking. The food never disappoints and Dougie remembers you from your first visit.
Yes, there are things to do on day trips such as YS Falls and the Pelican Bar, but you can just sit back, relax and enjoy the ambiance right there at Jakes. I plan to keep going back!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nene43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was the second trip to Jamaica for me and my fiancee, having spent a week in Negril in 2009 for a friend's wedding. We loved our time there, and were seeking a place where we could enjoy all Jamaica has to offer, while trying to avoid the "generic resort" experience of many places. After some research by my wiser half, we chose Jake's and it turned out to be the perfect choice. Here's our evaluation:
- Location. Jake's Hotel is located on the South Coast, in Treasure Beach. This part of the island makes Negril feel like 'the big city', so for those who want to 'get away from it all', this is the place for you! It's approximately a 2.5 hour drive from the MBJ airport. For those expecting pristine beaches, be aware - Hurricane Ivan destroyed much of the beach area on the South Coast. There are still plenty of places to 'catch rays' and what makes Jake's SO great is its private location. Unlike other parts of Jamaica, you will not be interrupted by strangers trying to sell you anything. If an intimate setting with beautiful scenery is what you desire, Jake's is the place for you.
- Rooms. Jake's offers the most unique accommodations we've experienced. The property has a combination of rooms, cottages, and villas. We stayed in "Abalone #1", which is the downstairs room of a building the size of small house. Each accommodation is creatively decorated, with names like "Seahorse," "Cockles," and "Seapuss" serving as themes. The term "rustic" is applicable. Our room was not fancy by any means, but large enough for a queen-sized bed, sofa with a small lounge area, standup shower in a separate room with toilet and sink, as well as a kitchen area with a small fridge. The best part, though, is the covered deck area outside our door- We spent every morning and enjoyed every sunset from the comfort of our own front porch in our lounge chairs.
- Food - there are two restaurants on the property. Jack Sprat's is a famous local spot, offering a diverse menu of local seafood (more on this below), pizza, even hand-scooped ice cream. But there's also a restaurant adjacent to the registration/check-in area and we were VERY impressed with it. The menu changes daily; i enjoyed delicious callaloo omelettes and fresh fruit for breakfast, fresh salads and sandwiches for lunch, and fancier entrees including the 'catch of the day' for dinner, and i'd be remiss if i forgot to mention Tia Maria chocolate cake for dessert! **Vegetarian friendly** - every meal (breakfast, lunch, dinner) included multiple non-meat options, and the wait staff and chefs were VERY accommodating to our special requests. For example, my fiancee ordered a calamari appetizer but preferred a dill dipping sauce to the one offered on the menu. The waitress merely asked for an explanation of what it would consist of and the chefs prepared it for her! i used the term "fresh" multiple times to emphasize this point: Jake's motto is "Grown Locally" and they live that motto. Everything we ate and drank came from St Bess or surrounding parishes. You won't feel guilty enjoying adult beverages when the mango daiquiri and pineapple punch are made on the spot with fresh fruit!
- Hospitality - THIS IS WHERE JAKE'S IS UNPARALLELED. When i say that everyone we interacted with was friendly and extremely helpful, i mean EVERYONE. It's not an exaggeration to say we were treated like family. From the moment we were picked up at MBJ by Andre; to our check-in by Trudy and Chris, to our meals served by Julia, Shauna, and Grace; to our wonderful experiences at Dougie's Bar being served by Nicola and the world famous Mr. Dougie himself; to being checked out by Saudia - everyone was smiling, genuinely friendly, and just amazing with how nice they treated us. To be honest, while there is a lot to do nearby (we toured the Black River with Capt Bernard - shout out to BeBe's Place! - and hung out with Floyd at the Pelican Bar), we found ourselves spending more and more time on the property itself, just hanging out and talking with the staff at Jake's. The day we were leaving, we were already planning our return.

If you want a taste of "real, authentic Jamaica," you need to visit Jake's. The beauty of the scenery is surpassed only by the beauty of the people themselves. It's truly a "community" - their focus on sustainability and reliance on locally grown ingredients allows one to 'leave only footprints, take only memories'. December at Jake's will now be a tradition for us. You'll want to put it on your calendar too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MDHester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Jake's is not for everyone--it's slightly funky, slightly rustic, and definitely off the beaten path (3 hours from Kingston, 2.5 from Montego Bay). That said, I've been twice, because the other guests tend to be fun and cool, the setting is beautiful and it's the opposite of the typical Jamaican all-inclusive experience. Jake's is integrated with the surrounding community--you're not cut off from the folks who live in Treasure Beach, and can wander freely, meet the locals and have terrific $5 to $10 meals at local beach shacks--often fish caught minutes before. Expect some media types, a different style in every room, terrific food and drinks and some fun excursions (Black River wetlands tour and Pelican bar, among them). If you're looking for authenticity and a distinctly un-touristy experience, Jakes is for you.

Room Tip: Most rooms have fabulous views but Cockle's Up is especially nice (amazing balcony)
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank romewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

“I have been traveling to Jamaica for 25 years and have visited 10 of the 14 parishes and never have I encountered as special a place as Jake’s. This hotel stands alone. Jake’s delivers a quality of experience that sets it apart from other hotels in Jamaica. Jason Henzell and his team have developed a community and ambiance at Jake’s that make you feel as if you are a guest at someone’s estate on the south coast. Yet the feel is down to earth and progressive. The clientele represents a wonderful mix of US, Europeans and Jamaicans seeking unspoiled tranquility. Sustainability is a mantra at Jakes - clean energy, recycling and protecting the environment are paramount.

Treasure beach is a collective of little fishing villages and coves that you can walk to or ride the mountain bikes available to the guests. The folks who live in this lovely community are the most friendly and warmest folks you will ever meet and they are fiercely proud of being from St. Elizabeth, affectionately known as St. Bess. The accents you hear have a Scottish brogue because of the history of Scots settling the area during the late 18th century. St. Elizabeth provides the best testimony of the Jamaican motto – “Out of many, one people”.

The rooms at Jake’s are outstanding. Each room is unique and is designed to offer complete privacy while maximizing views of the Caribbean Sea – and yes the sun sets directly in front of Jake’s every day of the year. The staff in one word: the best. Everyone at the hotel was friendly, warm and helpful around anything that was needed. Their smiles and positive energy were infectious and through osmosis you feel an immediate uplift.

Jake’s has a related café called Jack Sprats which is connected to the grounds of the hotel. Jack Sprats is a salute to the many rum bars and so called “spots” around the island where you can have a good meal, sip some rum and hear some nice vibes music. On Thursday nights they show outdoor films at Jack Sprats.

The Henzells have a long history in Jamaica and in Jamaican music and cinema - Perry Henzell wrote, produced and directed “The Harder They Come” the Jimmy Cliff story, perhaps the finest film ever made in Jamaica and still studied in film classes today at NYU. So there is a wonderful connection to Jamaican music and art throughout the property and there are many little art galleries and craft displays to explore within walking distance of the hotel.

In short, If you like to be surrounded by a magically beautiful environment that is integrated into a special community like Treasure Beach then Jake’s will meet and exceed your expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We arrived in the dark and the welcome was warm and put us at ease. The rooms are delightfully quirky and yet equipped with everything you need and to wake up in the morning with the sea right in front of your door and breakfast tables nearby is a joy. Fresh fruit and great coffee top a special breakfast menu. Lunch and dinner menus change daily and are delicious. There is a pool but the sea is preferable especially with masks available to see the magic in the reef.
This is not a 'ghetto' resort; you can walk around the locality, see the farms which supply Jakes, shop in the little stores and take a boat trip from Calabash Bay. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed at the HOPE HOUSE and had a great time! I had brought along a few friends for the first time and they were blown away. I would like to thank everyone at Jakes. Everone you encounter is very friendly. I'll be back for sure. The sooner the better. Monica and Shirlon are the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duckdodgers850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Beach
48.0 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
58.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,305 reviews
47.3 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.3 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,014 reviews
43.8 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#22 of 64 in Montego Bay
571 reviews
44.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa

Address: Calabash Bay, Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Price Range: $102 - $754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Chicest shack in the Caribbean" – Vogue Magazine. --- "Welcome to one of Caribbean's funkiest resorts, where reggae and rock stars, doctors and lawyers, writers and artists come to taste the real Jamaica." - Island Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jake`s Hotel, Villa And Spa
Jake`s Hotel, Villa Hotel Treasure Beach
Jakes St Elizabeth
Jakes Hotel St Elizabeth
Jakes Jamaica
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa Jamaica/Treasure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing